Meat Loaf
Bat Out of Hell II: Back Into Hell


1.5
very poor

Review

by metallicaman8 USER (65 Reviews)
January 21st, 2007 | 28 replies


Release Date: 1993 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Never before have I encountered such a lackluster, tedious and generic album. Avoid this like you would a plague.

Meat Loaf
Bat Out Of Hell II- Back Into Hell


When I stop and think about it, Meat Loaf‘s music and meatloaf (the meat) are strikingly similar. They both have questionable content, are generally bad and I can only tolerate either of them in extremely small doses. Overall, I’d have to say that Meat Loaf pales in comparison to meatloaf because meatloaf can be enhanced by various toppings. Regrettably, no manner of toppings can make this album listenable (trust me, I’ve tried). It’s horrendously boring from beginning to end. This is due to many things. Meat Loaf’s lack luster vocals are part of the problem. The overuse of synthesizers played it’s part too. In fact, the instrumentals in general were bland. There were few stand out tracks and the ones that did stand out still weren’t very good. Furthermore, the most obvious flaw was song length. Six tracks are over seven minutes in length and two surpassed the ten minute mark. This isn’t necessarily a negative aspect, but these songs would have been tiresome at five minutes in length. Seven minutes and above was just too much.

I wish I could tell you that despite being unbearably tedious this album does have some brilliant lyrical work. Alas, I can do no such thing. The vast majority of the lyrics were horribly cliché and completely unoriginal. Sometimes they were even vague. The track I Would Do Anything For Love (But I Won’t Do That) is a good example. The title of track is used as lyrics during the song, but he never actually defines what “that” is. However, that looks like sheer genius compared to my next example. The track Wasted Youth. What could loosely be called this song is two minutes and forty-one seconds of talking, with some cheesy sound effects thrown in the background. I’m not going to get into the whole plot of the song, but just give you two lines; A voice like a horny angel and Daddy, you know I love you, but you’ve got a hell of a lot to learn about rock and roll. Those two lines alone should sufficiently illustrate how incredibly stupid and pointless that track was. Actual lyrics aside, I do have to give Meat Loaf this; his song titles were clever at times. Take for example Life Is A Lemon And I Want My Money Back. A few other tracks also had nice little splashes of witticism in their titles, if only that same witticism could have been carried on into the lyrics.

Instrumentally, I must admit this album did have it’s moments. But that’s the thing, they were only moments. That was another thing this album had a big problem with: consistency. Parts of it were really good. The guitar solo in Life Is A Lemon I Want My Money Back was splendid. There was a totally spontaneous bag pipe outro in Everything Louder Than Everything Else that I absolutely loved. There were parts in I Would Do Anything For Love (But I Won’t Do That) were the piano built upon into this sort of climatic state, that was great too. However, these were select instances in four and a half to twelve minute songs. And while these were great moments, thirty seconds of enjoyment simply can’t account for minutes of boredom. For the most part, the instrumentals failed to catch my interest. They weren’t particularly complex, or powerful, just generic combinations of chords.

There was a solid attempt to mask to generic instrumental work by having a wide variety instruments playing on the album and it almost worked. The first few times I listened to this I was captivated by the range of instruments and paid little attention to what they were actually playing. After a while, however, I realized a piano, saxophone, guitar, bass, synthesizer and organ all playing a boring riff doesn’t make the riff any more interesting. I do have to give this album props for the diverse selection of instruments, but all it did was make this album slightly less terrible.

Meat Loaf’s vocals weren’t quite as awful as the rest of the album, I’ll say that for him. That being said, it wasn’t above average. My biggest quarrel with them would have to be the lack of distinction. They weren’t particularly raspy, or particularly clean. They weren’t over the top with passion, but they weren’t entirely emotionless either. This lukewarm effect only furthered the tediousness of the album. Frankly, the back up vocalists were much better than him. Unluckily, even the best of back up vocalists wouldn’t be enough to make this album listenable.

As far as filler goes this album definitely has it’s share. Of course, there’s Wasted Youth, which I told you about earlier. Back Into Hell is another good example of filler. The whole track is really dull. Nothing really stood out. It was a lot like what you would hear in the background of a horror movie. Lots of violin, eerie sounds created by keyboard FX, some piano. Nothing particularly unbearable, I suppose, but it contributed nothing to the album. Usually filler isn’t too big a deal for me, unless there’s a lot of it. But when the album is of such poor quality having material that doesn’t measure up to the rest is entirely unacceptable.

I strongly recommend avoiding this album. It shows potential in places, but as a whole was dreadful. Perhaps if all the songs were about forty percent shorter it would be easier, but as it stands it’s a very difficult task. I myself, couldn’t even manage. I had to listen to three tracks, take a break and then listen to three more. Rocking hard, or hardly rocking? Unfortunately for Meat Loaf, it’s the latter.

Pros Instrumentals were good for brief instances
Back up vocalists were good

Cons Indescribably tedious
No tracks really stood out
Lead vocals were average
Some Filler

Overall Rating 1.5/5



Recent reviews by this author
Soundtrack (Film) Jesus Christ Superstar (Film Soundtrack)Brand New Deja Entendu
Opeth DeliveranceDe La Soul Stakes Is High
Coheed and Cambria From Fear Through the Eyes of MadnessThe Mars Volta Frances the Mute
user ratings (172)
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
Nosferatwo (5)
A mostly forgotten gem from an unlikely source....

El_Goodo (5)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
metallicaman8
January 21st 2007


4677 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I had to listen to this four times. Someone hold me

Two-Headed Boy
January 21st 2007


4527 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Nice one, this album is trash.



Liked the closing sentance and the meatloaf comparison.

FlawedPerfection
Emeritus
January 21st 2007


2806 Comments


I think you use the first person POV too much and it sounds a lot less formal, but if that's your style then that's your style. I hate Meat Loaf.

Good review, all in all.

I'm going to go eat meat loaf now. No seriously.This Message Edited On 01.21.07

metallicaman8
January 21st 2007


4677 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I think you use the first person POV too much and it sounds a lot less formal, but if that's your style then that's your style. I hate Meat Loaf.







Good review, all in all.




Yeah, I usually don't do it as much. I just find it hard to be formal with negative reviews for some reason. Anywho, thanks.

metallicaman8
January 21st 2007


4677 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I think when you listen to music you go about it the wrong way. It seems to me that instead of actually taking it all in and looking at it in the most objective manner possible, you overanalyze, especially with the instruments, and as a result you don't really get the full effect of the music. The first time you listen to an album, you shouldn't have your review in mind. I think you should listen to everything else like you listen to Metallica. When you listen to Metallica, you probably immerse yourself in the songs and take everything in. Try to do that with other music too.




I could see how you would think that, but the first time I listen to albums I don't think about the review. I listen to it as a whole, with no analyzing. Then after that I start to do the whole analyzing.



Now of course maybe you do, but from the reviews it seems like you don't. When you review something like Metallica, something you really love, it shows because your writing is so much better and full of passion, for lack of a better word. In comparison, this review seems lifeless. Yeah sure the writing is good, but it just seems like you're just writing, and not writing, if that makes sense.




You've got a point there. It's just difficult to write with passion when you really don't like the album. I suppose it can be done, but when I try and put passion into it my emotions get the better of me and it turns into more of a rant than anything else. Anyways, thanks for the solid advice, Chan. I'll try and improve on that in the future.

metallicaman8
January 21st 2007


4677 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Many thanks, Chan. You give really good advice :thumb:

Mikesn
Emeritus
January 21st 2007


3708 Comments


My friend loves Meat Loaf. Or at least I think he does. I might be thinking of another band or another person. Or something. I don't think I'm going to check this out.

Good review, love the intro.

I think it's interesting when people say "well this is my 100th and I want to make it big!" so they do a spectacular job that makes all their other reviews pale in comparison. They should be putting that much into every review
This.
I suppose it can be done, but when I try and put passion into it my emotions get the better of me and it turns into more of a rant than anything else.
This has happened to me a number of times, where I've thought it was more of a rant than critical analysis, but things end up turning out all right. In most cases, I've found that there's nothing really wrong with it, or at least for me anyways. :pThis Message Edited On 01.21.07

Neoteric
January 21st 2007


3243 Comments


i told him to change it

i'll read it in a minute or so

okay i read it and you have nice writing going on there but Chan said exactly what was wrong with the review so it'd be wise to take in what he's saying to youThis Message Edited On 01.21.07

The Jungler
January 21st 2007


4826 Comments


Meat Loaf is only good when he has bitch tits and is starring alongside Edward Norton, Brad Pitt etc.
And Paradise By the Dashboard Light, that song rules.

Eliminator
January 21st 2007


2067 Comments


that song does rule

The Jungler
January 21st 2007


4826 Comments


were gonna go all the way 2nite

metallicaman8
January 22nd 2007


4677 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

And Paradise By the Dashboard Light, that song rules.




Haven't heard it, but I doubt anything by Meat Loaf rules.

metallicaman8
January 22nd 2007


4677 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I might check it out. Probably not anytime soon, though. My plate's all full up right now of things I need to hear/review.



EDIT: I already posted this in the forums, but did you get my e-mail?This Message Edited On 01.21.07

Tyler
Emeritus
January 22nd 2007


7925 Comments


The new one is alright, actually.

Oddsen
January 22nd 2007


1127 Comments


Nice work :thumb: I don't believe I've heard any meat loaf

Jim
January 23rd 2007


5110 Comments


[quote=Spat Out Plath]I urge you to listen to the first album though. It has Jim Steinman and Meat is on top form.[/quote]Agreed. The first is pretty classy, I find. Particularly the title track and - of course - Paradise By the Dashboard Light.

Dethtrasher
February 2nd 2007


2211 Comments


How did Meatloaf end up in the black-metal section?

metallicaman8
February 2nd 2007


4677 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

It's probably Med's fault.

axemexa
April 21st 2007


22 Comments


The premise of the track is not that we don't find out what "that" is. The premise is that he is in love and always will be.
He very plainly states what "that" is.
Here are those "that"s which he will never do:

"I'll never forget the way you feel right now ..."
"I'll never forgive myself if we don't go all the way tonight ..."
"I'll never do it better than I do it with you ..."
"I'll never stop dreaming of you every night of my life ..."

Near the end, the female identifies 2 more things that he says he won't do.
"You'll see that it's time to move on" and "You'll be screwing around."

It's confusing to me when people say that he never identifies "that" and he does. And a bit annoying that the question of what "that" is seems to overshadow what a great song it is. He's not ambiguous about what "that" is at all.

Can someone explain?This Message Edited On 04.21.07

Titan50
July 1st 2009


4588 Comments


I'D DO ANYTHING FOR LOVE



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy