Ulver
Kveldssanger


4.0
excellent

Review

by Angmar USER (24 Reviews)
January 15th, 2007 | 25 replies


Release Date: 1996 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A beutiful Norse folk album from the dudes in Ulver.

Ulver is a band that has never really released the same album. When you compare their most recent release to something earlier like Nattens Madrigal it is hard to believe the same artists made it. Even in the “Black Metal Trilogy” of Ulver all three of those records had very different qualities. In The middle of the “Black Metal Trilogy” is an album that strangely isn’t black metal at all. This album is known to us as Kveldssanger, and it is a Norse folk album.

Taking another look back at Ulver’s releases you will see that their debut Bergtatt had a lot of soft folk structured sections. Imagine all of those sections off Bergtatt put into a whole album without any of the black metal parts and you get Kveldssanger. This album is consists of mainly acoustic guitar and is also blended with many other different types of instruments. Some of the additions include a cello and similar stringed instruments. Also there is not percussion whatsoever on this album. It is a very simple piece of art but it is very beautiful.

Throughout Kveldssanger we have the one and only Garm providing vocals. Although a good amount of the songs on here are instrumental when Garm does sing it is a huge standout. Like I mentioned earlier there are no unclean vocals, throughout the whole album Garm sings and chants majestically giving a very interesting feel to Kveldssanger.

Although Kveldssanger proves to be a beautiful Norse folk album like many fine things in life it is not perfect. Unfortunately the entire album is clocks in at a mere 35 minutes. In addition the album doesn’t have very many upbeat songs excluding a few of the instrumental tracks. In Addition there are 13 songs on this album, a high track count for only 35 minutes on the album. The Track lengths range from 19 seconds to the finishing track “Ulvsblakk” which has length of about 7 minutes. In the long run though this album hits you with much more than the average 35 minute long album.

Another Unique feature of this album is the addition of flutes. The Flutes sort of add a medieval type feel to the album. For the most part the guitar playing in this album is brilliant. The acoustic guitars provide a simple yet beautiful and majestic sound that truly is wondrous. Aside from the shear quality of Kveldssanger, there is not much in the way of repetition. Each track although soft is different, a task which can be difficult in folk.

Really there isn’t much to say about Kveldssanger. It is a simple album, yet great on so many levels. Kveldssanger proves to be extremely beautiful and soft without repeating itself or getting dull. It is sad that Kveldssanger is only a mere 35 minutes long because it has so much to offer. If you are a fan of folk, soft music or just would like to try more out this is for you. On the other hand if you only like the brutal side of Ulver and don’t want to branch out I suggest you avoid this.

The Good
Amazing Vocals
Beautiful in every sense of the word
The addition of instruments like the flute
Not very repetitive
The Bad
Only 35 Minutes long
A lot of short tracks
Not for those who only like Ulver’s Black metal side

4/5



Recent reviews by this author
Current 93 All the Pretty Little HorsesStrid Strid [7'']
Inquisition Into the Infernal Regions of the AncientDrudkh Estrangement
Xasthur Subliminal GenocideEmperor IX Equilibrium
user ratings (975)
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
Brandon Scott EMERITUS (5)
...

Benjamin Kuettel EMERITUS (4)
A beautiful, revolutionary dark folk record that embodies the first major display of the more contem...

Per Ardua Ad Astra (4)
...



Comments:Add a Comment 
Angmar
January 16th 2007


2688 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah I know its short and all but really there isnt much to discuss. Its Pretty straightforward.

Tyler
Emeritus
January 16th 2007


7927 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Some awkward phrasing here and there but you covered the music fairly well. Good job. You're definitely improving, you just have to work at making your reviews flow a little smoother.



I'll vote for this.This Message Edited On 01.15.07

Angmar
January 16th 2007


2688 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks and yeah i need to work on my sentence structure, doesnt come so natural to me

FatalEnergy
January 16th 2007


40 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great album, but the one that preceded it was a bit better

JumpTheF**kUp
January 16th 2007


2722 Comments


So this is to Ulver what Damnation was to Opeth?

Some awkward phrasing here and there but you covered the music fairly well. Good job. You're definitely improving, you just have to work at making your reviews flow a little smoother.

I'll vote for this.

123 on that one, batman.

Tyler
Emeritus
January 16th 2007


7927 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

So this is to Ulver what Damnation was to Opeth




Sort of, but not really. Damnation was a laid-back prog-rock album whereas this is a really, really laid back folk album.

jrowa001
January 16th 2007


8752 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i think what Jump meant was that how Opeth made an album completely of their softer song styles that were mixed into their other albums, and Ulver did something similar with this album. i really like this album. im not a huge fan of their other black metal stuff but perdition city and their new one are breathtakingly beautiful

JumpTheF**kUp
January 16th 2007


2722 Comments


Sort of, but not really. Damnation was a laid-back prog-rock album whereas this is a really, really laid back folk album.

Oh right.
i think what Jump meant was that how Opeth made an album completely of their softer song styles that were mixed into their other albums, and Ulver did something similar with this album.

That's 'zactly what I meant.

Nostalgia
January 16th 2007


64 Comments


Nice review.

This is for sure my favorite Ulver album.This Message Edited On 01.16.07This Message Edited On 01.16.07

Angmar
January 16th 2007


2688 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks for the votes n stuff everyone.

Wizard
January 16th 2007


20497 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I dont really know to much about these guys but you made me want to check them out. It sounds very experimental. Not too shabby of a review. Im sure your next one will be better!

Tyler
Emeritus
January 16th 2007


7927 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This album isn't experimental at all. It's the group as a whole that's experimental.

Neoteric
January 16th 2007


3243 Comments


This is actually an alright review and that means a lot since it's stevo2112!

Are you actually a night owl?

Nostradamus
January 31st 2007


80 Comments


yes, that's why he listens to black metal

Eakflanderyof
February 2nd 2007


5256 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've really been meaning to check this out. I've heard two songs and they were just great folk music.

Angmar
February 2nd 2007


2688 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

[quote=neo]This is actually an alright review and that means a lot since it's stevo2112!







Are you actually a night owl?[/quote] Dude wtf my other reviews are just as good as this one like after my 5th or 6th. And I often stay up real late. Im talking 4 or 5 on weekends and like midnight on weekdays. So if you want to call that being a night owl then yes.

Angmar
February 3rd 2007


2688 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I was going off the feedback ive gotten from them. I know i dont have the authority to say whether or not my reviews are good. And do you have anything better to do with your time then try and correct me after every comment i leave.

MrKite
May 29th 2007


5020 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Pretty good review stevo. There are some things though;

This album is consists


Also there is not percussion whatsoever


I'd say either change not to no or get rid of whatsoever. It sounds weird.

In addition the album doesn’t have very many upbeat songs excluding a few of the instrumental tracks. In Addition


That sounds kind of weird.

You've gotten me very interested in this.





711
May 29th 2007


1340 Comments


Incredible album.

Angmar
June 8th 2007


2688 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Seriously, this is growing on me even more, 2nd favorite Ulver album.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy