The Warriors
War Is Hell


3.5
great

Review

by bitethebullet USER (2 Reviews)
January 7th, 2007 | 15 replies


Release Date: 2004 | Tracklist

Review Summary: an above average album in the hardcore genre

Band members: Javier- guitar
Matt- drums
Marshall-vocals
Mike- bass
Charlie- guitar

This is the warriors first full length album and it is an above average hardcore album. if you haven’t heard this band has recently signed to victory records. This is probably because of their last album beyond the noise which sounded a little more mainstream. Well enough about the band let’s get to the album.

I feel like every song on this album is either very good or very boring. The thing that will turn people away from this band and album more than anything are the vocals. They are decent, but people get very annoyed with the way he sounds. He does a lot of high pitched screams on this album and a few deep vocals. His vocals do get repetitive quickly though.

The drumming on this album is great. Matt keeps a very good beat throughout the album. Matt and the guitarists really do put together some good breakdowns. I think that Matt really stands out in slings and arrows and the cure.

The guitar work is pretty good, nothing spectacular though. I felt like in some songs they were trying their best and then in other songs they just didn’t do too well. The bass is pretty audible throughout the album. The guitarists and Matt work very well together when they write breakdowns. They aren’t the normal chug chug chug breakdowns.


Pros:
- good breakdowns
- above average drumming
- some very good guitar work at times
- sounds different than most hardcore

Cons:
- very repetitive and sometimes annoying vocals
- to many filler tracks
- some songs seem like they run a little longer than they should


Overall this is a good album and worth picking up if you have heard any songs that you found good from this band. Like I said when this band writes a good song then it really is a great song, but if it is a boring track then it is really boring. The production is very crisp and if you are into hardcore that doesn’t sound like every other band than definitely pick this album up. If you haven’t seen this band live than make sure to try and do so because they put on an amazing show.

Recommended tracks:
- slings and arrows
- the cure
- transistor
- scene celebrity


user ratings (52)
3.7
great
related reviews

See How You Are


Comments:Add a Comment 
bitethebullet
January 7th 2007


21 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this is my first review ever so i am ready for some mean cooments. just tell me what you guys feel because i want to get better at this.

Kaleid
January 7th 2007


760 Comments


It's good you didn't automatically give this a 5 rating, but it's a very short review.
If it's as repetitive as you say, then you can't do much about that, but at least give us a clue as to what to look out for (eg. specific tracks that are the high/lowpoints of the album).
Good pros/cons

jrowa001
January 7th 2007


8752 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

they have a re-issue of this album that has a couple more racks. i used to like this album until the vocals started to annoy me. their new album is a lot better. good review and i hope to read more from you

bitethebullet
January 7th 2007


21 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i actually thought that beyond the noise was a very poor album. it sounded watered down. his vocals did improve though in that album.

tom79
January 7th 2007


3935 Comments


The band name is named after the gang from the movie of the same name, right?

bitethebullet
January 7th 2007


21 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i think so, but i'm not too sure. i'll looks into it.

Yimmypalooza
January 7th 2007


81 Comments


How anyone can withstand these vocals is beyond me. Even if you could there is nothing else redeeming about them. Guitaring isn't above average. Neither is anything else.

santi3hg
January 7th 2007


440 Comments


You ain't into hardcore then.

The Warriors I've always enjoyed a listen to hear and there. They are good but not a complete stand out.

south_of_heaven 11
January 7th 2007


5611 Comments


For a first review, this isn't all that bad. It's decent, at best. But here's a few tips to "meaten" it up next time. For starters, you should probably provide examples for what you say stood out to you. For instance "Equally impressive is the guitarwork. On (insert song name), the guitarists show a balance of power and technicality in their playing".

slep
January 7th 2007


1604 Comments


^^ Yeah they are a good listen sometimes but nothing amazing


slep
January 7th 2007


1604 Comments


^^ Yeah they are a good listen sometimes but nothing amazing


ColdDamnation
December 28th 2007


159 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

warriors are fucking fantastic

Electric City
July 6th 2009


15756 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

the beginning of set the stage is one of the funniest things ive heard

kevbogz
May 22nd 2018


6086 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the stage the ambush begEENNNNS

through the WIndOW, the dOORS were all Brekaing INNNNNN

Did YOu THINk we would LET YOU inNNNN

IN FEAR YOU FROZE AND SLOW GOES YOUR GRIIIIIN



kevbogz
February 3rd 2023


6086 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

warriors walked so knocked loose could run



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy