DragonForce
Inhuman Rampage


1.0
awful

Review

by northerncomfort USER (26 Reviews)
December 10th, 2006 | 126 replies


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A terrible collection of 8 versions of the same song. Arrogant, self indulgent and mind numbingly dull and repetive.

Right, Herman Lee, Sam Totman et al. Lesson Number One: Just because you make Eddie Van Halen look like Steve Jones does not mean you wreck a song by putting so many wankfest solos into a song that you basically butcher it and leave it for the dogs. To see how to do this, please refer to Alexi Laiho of Children of Bodom. Lesson Number Two: just because your singer makes can hit notes higher than Aled Jones does not mean you regurgitate the same melody again and again and again. Final Lesson: Playing fast doesn't mean you must always do so. Lets hear some variation.

Inhuman Rampage is one of the worst albums I have ever heard. I have heard albums of worse musical quality, but at least there was some attept to make each song different. And while the first two minutes of Through the Fire and Flames may be pretty cool, that these same two minutes are indistinguishable from the rest of the album is criminal. The music is at the same speed (very fast), the vocals are at the same pitch (very high) and the music is at the same volume (very loud). Hell, listening to this again shows just how little use of dynamics their are in this album.

The songs themselves, even on their own aren't that great. i got bored of Revolution Deathsquad not long after I realised it was a different track to the first. Listening to it on their own, for something so flamboyant it seems so laking in spark or originality. The guitarists may be able to do things no one else can to their guitars, but they can't seem to transcend the songwriting cliches of power metal.

I could comment on all the songs, but to be honest, the comments would all be the same. Too long, to self impressed, to god damn boring and they all sound the same. Alright, trail of Broken Hearts may at least make an attempt to break the mould, but it fails to be anything more than the obligitory power ballad.

I suppose the real problem with Dragon Force can be summed up with one video. I saw one of their music videos on TV, don't know what it was because I couldn't distinguish it from from any other song they've done. And it was just so bland. The worst moment was when the solos came into sight though. It just cut to the two guitarists and had a small split screen so we could see their fingers blur the screen. The arrogance of this shows just how self interested the band are. Sure, they can melt a fretboard, but what the *** is the point if the only reason you're doing it is to show off? Realise that playing ability does not alone a great band make, and look at what might actually make the songs better.



Recent reviews by this author
Hexes White Noise/Black SoundBloc Party A Weekend in the City
Muse Black Holes & RevelationsIron Maiden Powerslave
Stone Sour Come What(ever) MayIron Maiden Fear of the Dark
user ratings (1539)
3
good
other reviews of this album
1 of


Comments:Add a Comment 
Jom
Staff Reviewer
December 10th 2006


3211 Comments


The music is at the same speed (very fast), the vocals are at the same pitch (very high) and the music is at the same volume (very loud). Hell, listening to this again shows just how little use of dynamics [there] are in this album


What I learned from this review: power metal is not your thing.

Arucard
December 10th 2006


581 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

hahahaha



man that was classic and true. this album was a pointless, more self indulgent extension of Sonic Firestorm.



:lol:



im still laughing



classic stuff

Jimmy
December 10th 2006


729 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

This is pretty much how I feel about this album also.

northerncomfort
December 10th 2006


106 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

I quite like sonata antartica. Not my favourite band by a long shot, but The End of This Chapter seems a pretty good song. I don't know if its fashionable to hate the album, it's just terrible. Thanks for the comments.

Steerpike
December 10th 2006


1861 Comments


So does this make it officially fashionable to hate this album or was that like a month ago and I missed it?


If it wasn't before, it is now.

Hatshepsut
December 10th 2006


1997 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This isn't that bad. Yeah you just don't like power metal. Sonic Firestorm is better than this.

northerncomfort
December 10th 2006


106 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Ha, you're proabably right. Oh well. Still, if music stays safely within it's genre to this extent, surely there's something going wrong?

Steerpike
December 10th 2006


1861 Comments


Still, if music stays safely within it's genre to this extent, surely there's something going wrong?


Not necessarily. DragonForce do one thing and they do it very well: they play light speed power metal meant to get their target audience (nerds like me) to jump around and headbang.

Yes, there are multiple facets they could improve upon. But you can't say that they aren't progressing, even if it is baby steps.

Intransit
December 10th 2006


2797 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yeah, actually DF admits to doing this all in good fun, so its kind of retarded to say they do this all in narcissism.



Granted, this album is repetitive and the vocals are eye socket rape, but honestly, for musical talent alone, this merits more than a 1. Give They're Only Chasing Safety by Underoath a listen. Seriously, if you think this sucks, you are in for all sorts of surprises on that album. It will redefine what a 1 is for you.

Steerpike
December 10th 2006


1861 Comments


Or just listen to Trivium's new album. If you can get through that without strangling yourself with your mouse cord, you will learn anew what it means to truly suck.

ohcleverhansyou
December 10th 2006


885 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

There is a lot of repetition on this album, but it doesn't bother me. You explain why you gave the rating you did pretty clearly though.

Hatshepsut
December 10th 2006


1997 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Sonata Antarctica..

Eye socket rape.

Bfhurricane
December 10th 2006


6247 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sonata Arctica = pwnage



this album is my only Dragonforce album and I love it. However, I don't listen to more than 3 songs in a row. 4's pushing it.

Thor
December 10th 2006


10285 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Sonic Firestorm > Inhuman Rampage



But this album is most definitely NOT a 1/5.

metallicaman8
December 10th 2006


4677 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This was a pretty bad review.

Wizard
December 10th 2006


20313 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ok, you went from the Come Clarity review to this. What happened dude? Your writing style just went down a notch because you let your opinion stand in the way of what this album really is about. I can understand someone not liking this album because of its 'repeditiveness', but I can guarantee you talking from a guitarists standpoint, none of the songs are the same. The drums on the other hand, well you have me on that one. This Message Edited On 12.10.06

Bfhurricane
December 10th 2006


6247 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Using phrases like "god damn boring" is very immature. Flagrant use of profanity or words won't make your points any more convincing (a lesson well learned from my english teacher).

MrKite
December 10th 2006


5020 Comments


Cheese anyone?
These guys are ok. Not my cup o tea, though.

Angmar
December 11th 2006


2688 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Eh this review was ok. I totally disagree with your statements and the only thing you show in this review is that you dislike power metal. So yeah not bad enough to get a no rating and not good enough to get a yes. This is an excellent album although Sonic Firestorm is just a classic.

omgwtfboogie
December 11th 2006


211 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

I like how because this review isn't of the same opinion as all the Dragonforce fans' opinions, it's automatically a bad review. Dumbasses.



I agree with this review 100%. The fact that they're only known for their speed tells you all you need to know: they can't write a song for shit.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy