American Football American Football
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
JohnnyoftheWell
Contributing Reviewer
November 21st 2019


20162 Comments


was this album from before ghosting was a mainstream thing?

Digging: Spangle call Lilli line - nanae

Relinquished
November 21st 2019


42993 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

1999



landline phones



ghosting was throwing pebbles at her 2nd floor window at 11pm on a school night and her closing the curtains on you cuz it.. it's 11pm dude go home and to sleep

bloc
November 21st 2019


59304 Comments


I thought that was only done in movies

Digging: Tim Dog - Penicillin on Wax

Relinquished
November 21st 2019


42993 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I took cues early when I was 10

GhandhiLion
November 21st 2019


6818 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Who said that?

Digging: Alice Coltrane - Universal Consciousness

Relinquished
November 21st 2019


42993 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

sorry man you joined the convo too late to answer that

tectactoe
November 21st 2019


2085 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"This had an innovative sound at the time but it's been played out since. I'm not surprised the younger crowd aren't blown away by this record."

I suppose that's true; I heard this for the first time somewhere around freshman year of high school and there really wasn't anything like it at the time. If only historical context could remain palpably with an album as it ages... *sigh*

Digging: Hop Along - Painted Shut

GhandhiLion
November 21st 2019


6818 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

dam it

tectactoe
November 21st 2019


2085 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Though, and I realize I may biased because of the nostalgia factor and all that, I still think this is head and shoulders above 99% of the twinkly, pseduo-math / emo stuff that's been released in the two decades since. Including AF's two follow ups (which are fine, but nowhere near this imo).

GhandhiLion
November 21st 2019


6818 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I guess this suffered because of its copycats in the emo revival. People should criticise the copycats instead.

JohnnyoftheWell
Contributing Reviewer
November 21st 2019


20162 Comments


"Including AF's two follow ups (which are fine, but nowhere near this imo)."

Correct Arcade Fire take

tectactoe
November 21st 2019


2085 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

These must be the same type of people who accuse Carpenter's 'Halloween' for falling victim to numerous "horror movie tropes."

Larkinhill
November 21st 2019


5868 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah tectactoe, I really expected to love it, but a lot just fell flat for me. I prefer their third album, which is a solid 4 for me.



The first three songs here are really good though, Never Meant especially so (and yes, arguably the best emo song ever, though I’d personally go with Mineral on both If I Could and Parking Lot). How to Make Love Stay from empire also really blew me away.

McP3000
December 14th 2019


4093 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is a good example of how there needs to be new reviews done to replace and be featured. There are a lot of legacy reviews that have not aged well and show from when Sputnik was in its infancy.

GhandhiLion
December 14th 2019


6818 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

What would you say is wrong with this review?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy