King Crimson Starless and Bible Black
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
November 28th 2017


19409 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I believe I have it on my computer, and it's included as a curios on the Starless live box set, which detailed the 1973/74 European concerts.

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
December 1st 2017


19024 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I wonder why Guts on my Side wasn’t included on this or Red, it’s an excellent song.

Digging: Gorillaz - Song Machine, Season One: Strange Timez

Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
December 1st 2017


19409 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

better songs most likely came along

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
December 1st 2017


19024 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Still it could’ve been recorded in the studio and put someplace

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
December 2nd 2017


19024 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That or Trio is best on here

Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
December 2nd 2017


19409 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fracture proves otherwise

TheArtofTheGanja
July 4th 2018


253 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

found the vinyl for $12 today hell yeah



conesmoke
July 4th 2018


6407 Comments


Nice one. Coincidentally I checked this out at work today.. after driving into work with a soundtrack of 'in the wake of poseidon'. The youtube tracklist was all fucked up so i only heard night watch or whatever the fk its called

sizeofanocean
August 28th 2018


1935 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This album provides few actual songs and a lot of jamming. Liked Larks Tongues and Red much more, this is by far their weakest out of the trio

Zig
February 4th 2019


2265 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Not the best lyric output by Palmer-James, but musically still is a great album.

Digging: Alexander Zemlinsky - String Quartet No. 1, Op. 4

sizeofanocean
February 7th 2019


1935 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Still not digging this. Improv does not make for a great studio album for me

On the other hand, i find a lesser liked album such as Islands much more likable, it has some great atmosphere and beautiful, mellow jazz songs.

DDDeftoneDDD
January 9th 2020


14069 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I also take Islands over this.

Digging: Martyr - Feeding the Abscess

tectactoe
January 9th 2020


3534 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thirded, I also prefer Islands (and Lizard) to this. But this is still pretty great.

Digging: Horse Jumper of Love - Horse Jumper of Love

DDDeftoneDDD
January 9th 2020


14069 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

It's not that this and Lark are taking the magic of Red for me, but I can definitely see the same features perfected there (Lark's closer f.e.) and glued to a more interestingly challenging songwriting and emotional delivery...I guess that's why I fived Red...

tectactoe
January 10th 2020


3534 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, I feel you. Red is a pretty nice amalgamation of everything they'd kind of dabbled in up to that point, honed to absolute perfection and emotional turmoil (Fallen Angel is a very sad tune, as is Starless).

parksungjoon
January 10th 2020


22426 Comments


but like seriously though

over/under on the hentai being a kc reference?

Digging: Have Mercy (MD) - Armageddon Descends

OmairSh
May 27th 2020


17003 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fracture is beast

Digging: Sade - Promise

beefshoes
September 22nd 2020


7833 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Red doesn't have awesome violin though.

Digging: Touche Amore - Lament



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy