Charli XCX Brat
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
AmericanFlagAsh
June 11th 2024


13398 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Y'all are mad that she wants her album to do well and knows her fans love branding?

The gays have been posting everything green with Brat on it the entire weekend

SmurkinGherkin
June 11th 2024


2215 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's certainly generated a lot of discourse and attention which is ofc what good marketing does



I think people on both sides are probably over thinking it lol

Odal
Staff Reviewer
June 11th 2024


2226 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Branding (and not just in a corporate sense) is part of the fun with pop music. Creating visuals and eras and whatnot adds to the fun. It took me a bit to get used to and appreciate those aspects since I was formally a metalhead and metal bands are notoriously bad at that process lol



It would be like watching sports but not having a team affinity

Demon of the Fall
June 11th 2024


34386 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

"kinda thing that makes you give it a lol nice grin the first time and then move on"



well yeah... maybe I wouldn't have even checked this otherwise, as it certainly got my attention to the point of being at least curious. So it works



outside of that I don't view the idea positively or negatively, it just is

tectactoe
June 11th 2024


7452 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

>her aesthetic just makes my skin crawl and I can never pinpoint exactly why.

'do you have have to make this so easy'




Her sonic aesthetic, not her physical one. It was an unintuitive descriptor, to be sure.

AmericanFlagAsh
June 11th 2024


13398 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

What's her "aesthetic" exactly? Making fun pop music that's well produced and interesting?

zakalwe
June 11th 2024


39193 Comments


Seedy, Sleazy, Playful like a 5 Bob whore on the Romford Rd.

AmericanFlagAsh
June 11th 2024


13398 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

That's hot

Demon of the Fall
June 11th 2024


34386 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

not sure the sports analogy works Odal, but okay, lol



and I'm forcing myself to think about this due to a) boredom and b) didn't realise ppl cared about these things



either way, this is doing very little for me. I'm not a fan of her vocal delivery which renders most of this dead on arrival. A couple of the beats threaten to engage before grinding to a halt. I don't find it particularly catchy. I seem unable to get on-board with this side of pop

zakalwe
June 11th 2024


39193 Comments


Robyn - Honey

One of the best of the 21st Century

Demon of the Fall
June 11th 2024


34386 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

"Her sonic aesthetic, not her physical one. It was an unintuitive descriptor, to be sure." (2)



and yeah, I assumed you meant this tect. Agreed. It's instinctively off-putting.



AmericanFlagAsh
June 11th 2024


13398 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I mean it's electro clash/house influenced pop music for clubs, if that's not your thing, I get it, but this is absolutely fantastic



Sympathy is a knife reminds me of early CHVRCHES

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
June 11th 2024


27674 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this is a really solid album. I agree that there's something instinctively offputting about Charli's "aesthetic", but the proof is in the pudding: "next level charli" is someone yelling at you for three minutes and it's one of the best songs of the past whatever years

FowlKrietzsche
June 11th 2024


1187 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yes to the early CHVRCHES comparison but with thiccer production

Odal
Staff Reviewer
June 11th 2024


2226 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

oooh that's a good call with the early chvrches comp. It's definitely a bit more brash and punk than that, but the actual electronic elements are similarly vibrant and adventurous

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
June 11th 2024


27674 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I have to listen again, but the transition from verse to chorus in "sympathy" is cool, adds intensity in a subtle way

SteakByrnes
June 11th 2024


30003 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

halfway through but this is really fun, sympathy is up there for one of her best songs along with forever

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
June 11th 2024


27674 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

forever starts out like it's gonna be a great song end of story, but doesn't get there for me in the end

AmericanFlagAsh
June 11th 2024


13398 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Forever is so fucking good

Odal
Staff Reviewer
June 11th 2024


2226 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah, Forever is one of her very best. That was the soundtrack to the first month of lockdown for me



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy