Vampire Weekend Only God Was Above Us
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
AmericanFlagAsh
April 7th 2024


13416 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

If you actually liked this album (Johnny) I think the world would explode



Anyway after playing this 10+ times, might be a 5, just keeps getting better

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
April 7th 2024


60955 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

my belly is going to explode I just ate a fat curry

Slex
April 7th 2024


16690 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Fuck yeah what kind, curry is my fave

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
April 7th 2024


60955 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

uhhh karahi, which tbqh was not a peak choice but I hit up the restaurant an hr before closing time and my gf and I were the only people there so I pointed at the first halfway appetising thing on the menu

still good though!!!

gryndstone
April 7th 2024


2776 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Pravda, Gen-X Cops, Classical are my stand outs. I enjoy the lyrics and thematic deas they're presenting here and it does sound good, but idk if this is best thing this year material. I think people were ready for anything cohesive after father of the bride

Squiggly
April 7th 2024


1274 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Is this a good place to start with these guys?

DocSportello
April 7th 2024


3388 Comments


Gaius Sabinus says a fond hello to Statius. Traveler, you eat bread in Pompeii but you go to Nuceria to drink. At Nuceria, the drinking is better

Sowing
Moderator
April 7th 2024


44008 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

@Squiggly: I started with Modern Vampires after only having heard parts of VW and Contra, and there are some little references to appreciate here, but nothing major enough that I'd say you shouldn't start here. If you have the interest in hearing this album right now, I'd just follow it. That's all I ever do when I'm new to artists anyway -- don't have the patience for discog dives when there's something new and exciting in front of me, lol.

Sunnyvale
Staff Reviewer
April 8th 2024


5987 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

Looking at Sowing's track ratings on the last page, oddly enough most of my favorites are among his least favorites - Capricorn, The Surfer, and Hope would probably be my top three at this point. Mary Boone is close to that trio as well though.

Sowing
Moderator
April 8th 2024


44008 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Interesting haha. And it's not like I don't like those tracks - they're great - I just like the others slightly more. Very consistent album.

AmericanFlagAsh
April 8th 2024


13416 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Sunny always with the best takes, those are my top 3 right now too, tho Hope and Mary Boon are interchangeable

Sunnyvale
Staff Reviewer
April 8th 2024


5987 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

Always fun to have an album everyone disagrees on the best tracks for.



My rough ranking:



1) Hope

2) Capricorn

3) The Surfer

4) Mary Boone

5) Pravda

6) Connect

7) Ice Cream Piano

8) Gen-X Cops

9) Classical

10) Prep School Gangsters



I like every song, bottom three are pretty interchangeable quality in my book.

qwenta
April 8th 2024


784 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Mary boone is so Eels, but bad lol The album has its moments but it's hateful most of the time.

Demon of the Fall
April 8th 2024


34490 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

This sure does sound like it was surgically engineered to produce a Sow 5 review, lol

It's not completely terrible. A few nice bells & whistles raising it from the mundane, but without anything substantial to sink my teeth into.

qwenta
April 8th 2024


784 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Well said, Demon!

Poxy
April 8th 2024


164 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Not really given these guys much time since self titled aside from some songs here and there, but a few songs deep in this and already thinking it's sounding pretty decent. Will rate after a few spins

tectactoe
April 8th 2024


7460 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

A solid "return to form" (hate that turn of phrase but whatever) but not quite as impeccable as the underrated/overlooked CONTRA. After a week(ish), though, I do think I prefer this to MVOTC, which puts this solidly as VW #2 for me. Ultimately, I think CONTRA has higher highs (and more of 'em), but I can also see this growing on me a bit and perhaps one day sneaking up to a 4.0.



For the hell of it, a tier list of songs from this album and CONTRA:



S Tier: White Sky; I Think Ur a Contra

A+ Tier: Mary Boone; Giving Up the Gun; Diplomat's Son; Horchata; Capricorn

A Tier: Run; Taxi Cab; Ice Cream Piano; Holiday; Prep-School Gangsters; Hope

B Tier: California English; Classical; Gen-X Cops; Pravda

C Tier: Cousins; The Surfer; Connect

brandaao
April 8th 2024


252 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

The Surfer is the highlight for me here.

dedex
Staff Reviewer
April 8th 2024


12788 Comments

Album Rating: 2.7 | Sound Off

never got into this band and this one won't be the one that changes that

Nikkolae
April 8th 2024


6706 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Mini soundoff: Overhyped indie darlings finally capitalize on the wealth of resources thrown at em.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy