Everything Everything Mountainhead
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Gyromania
March 10th 2024


37188 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Glad I’m not alone on Mirror and Dagger. I find the former incredibly smooth and atmospheric and the latter just has a great chorus highlighted by pretty strings

Sunnyvale
Staff Reviewer
March 10th 2024


5976 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

Yep, agreed. The only songs I'm inclined to say don't quite hold up are TV Dog and Don't Ask Me To Beg, although I don't hate either.

Gyromania
March 10th 2024


37188 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Def agreed on the former and the latter to sooooome extent. Literally just finishing listening to it now (on my 3rd spin atm) and I think it’s a fun groovy song but it fs is missing something. Wish they kept it in the oven a bit longer, I think it had potential to be a big highlight.

Gyromania
March 10th 2024


37188 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Your Money, My summer has settled as my second favourite on this. It’s funny because the first time it just breezed on by and I was like “that was nice I guess”. But damn that chorus melody is so fucking good. It’s like the “Jennifer” moment of the album, for me.

anat
Contributing Reviewer
March 10th 2024


5775 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

still think it’s bizarre for someone who clearly likes this band to hate GTH with venom lol

Gyromania
March 10th 2024


37188 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don’t hate it per se I just think it’s their weakest. The bad songs are egregiously shit. I do like some stuff tho. I think Regret and The Wheel are two of their best songs. I’m due for a relisten. Might rehear Arc and RE-ANIMATOR while I’m at it since it’s been a while

DoofDoof
March 10th 2024


15264 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Too many clunky lyrics on 'Dagger's Edge' that just sound 'off' for me (probably a personal thing)



'Those dino children making you hysterical'



'We've all become tomorrow's bacon

The customer is always right'



The semi-rap 'beep beep, I don't wanna beep' verses remind me of GtH so much, but for me it just seems sort of typical EE filler level.



Tl;dr - I find Dagger's Edge has too many issues to completely enjoy

MyMentality
March 11th 2024


1514 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Dagger's Edge is probably the weakest, for me. Either that, TV Dog or The Witness (it hasn't entirely grew on me yet, it's just a bit flat compared to the rest of the album) are my personal low points. R U Happy, Canary and Enter The Mirror are sneaking up to be amongst my favourites on here though, they're great!

MyMentality
March 11th 2024


1514 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Re-Animator is a weird album, some fantastic highs (love the opener, In Birdsong and The Audince). But some terrible lows (Big Climb is ugh, Planets is pretty annoying so is Arch Enemy, can be really grating). Definitely an album with peaks and troughs.

Arc on the other hand is great, and stacked with bangers. Genuinely has some of my favourite singles by these guys (I could say that about most of their albums, but Cough Cough and Don't Try are easily in my top 10 EE tunes)

pourradass
March 11th 2024


620 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Gave it another go and still not entirely clicking for me.

Hopped onto Fever Dream since it got some praises around here and GtH hasn't (yet?) gelled with me. And one third in I'm far more invested into AFD than I am with this.

O_o

Gyromania
March 11th 2024


37188 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I also rly like Arc but Radiant is disproportionately better than anything else. Also think that The Peaks should have been the closer, despite thinking Don’t Try is great.

Gyromania
March 11th 2024


37188 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Also The Witness on here is a pretty solid song but the children’s laughs they add at the end absolutely fucking kills the song for me. Terrible decision from them, I think

Scoot
March 11th 2024


22231 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

r u happy is such a banger

Gyromania
March 11th 2024


37188 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

S: Your Money My Summer, Cold Reactor

A: Enter The Mirror, City Song, Dagger’s Edge

B: Buddy Come Over, Don’t Ask Me To Beg, Wild Guess, R U Happy, End of Contender

C: The Witness, Canary

D: The Mad Stone, TV Dog

someone
Contributing Reviewer
March 11th 2024


6718 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Really, the Mad Stone gets the D? Kinda surprised

Gyromania
March 11th 2024


37188 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I find that track very irritating

DoofDoof
March 11th 2024


15264 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

'The Witness' really doesn't make too much sense in this tracklist but it is a solid bit of Radiohead worship

Faraudo
March 11th 2024


4680 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Slowly turning into my favorite E_E album, Get To Heaven is still at 1, but this is soooo great.

neekafat
Staff Reviewer
March 12th 2024


26313 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Man the fluff here really drags ):

anat
Contributing Reviewer
March 12th 2024


5775 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

pound for pound this is probably a hair better than RDF for me, both suffer from bloat but don't we all



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy