Everything Everything Mountainhead
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
DoofDoof
March 5th 2024


15264 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

“we all become tomorrow’s bacon, the customer is always right”



there's more bacon talk on 'Don't Ask Me To Beg' too



Hunter S. Thompson Quote: “Today's pig is tomorrows bacon!” I guess is the reference - I don't know why I'm finding the tomorrow's bacon lyrics jarring when I forgive most every other lyric on the album

Tunaboy45
March 5th 2024


18439 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Jon must have been preoccupied with that concept when writing for this album, because it shows up multiple times.



His delivery of "a Michelin star for you" is brilliant

Faraudo
March 5th 2024


4680 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Could this be their catchiest record since Get To Heaven?

Sunnyvale
Staff Reviewer
March 5th 2024


5975 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

Bacon on the mind, I know the feeling!



And thanks Doof!

CrisStyles
March 5th 2024


810 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Really not understanding the glowing praise for this one, personally. I don't find anything on here remotely close to Raw Data Feel, let alone Get to Heaven. I still enjoy it to an extent, but the middle of the album kind of kills any momentum they had with the first few songs that thankfully picks up towards the last third of the it. It could grow on me, that's just my initial impressions after a few spins.

DoofDoof
March 5th 2024


15264 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, it has a flabby middle and is generally just too much...but I think eight or nine songs off this are very solid and a few more are fine too.



Thinking I'd still only rate it their fifth best.



Guess my favourite ten EE songs would go something like:



- Violent Sun

- Photoshop Handsome

- Fortune 500

- Kevin's Car

- No Reptiles

- In Birdsong

- The Wheel is Turning Now

- Put Me Together

- Cold Reactor

- My Computer

Gyromania
March 6th 2024


37188 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Glad to hear this is good, will be listening shortly. I doubt it’s possible to get anything as good as Kevin or Jennifer but I really hope there’s something on that tier

Gyromania
March 6th 2024


37188 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Also is GtH their benchmark? That album fucking blows chunks compared to RDF

DoofDoof
March 6th 2024


15264 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Gyro - just reviewed this today, they’ve kind of abandoned the songs like ‘Kevin’s Car’, ‘Jennifer’ and also ‘My Computer’ and even the lightness of ‘Pizza Boy’



Album sort of sits in the middle…so you might still dig it

anat
Contributing Reviewer
March 6th 2024


5775 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fever Dream (feels rather underrated) > GtH > RDF > Mountainhead > Re-Animator



need to refamiliarise with the first two

Gyromania
March 6th 2024


37188 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I wish I understood the GtH love. I wouldn’t say I hate it, but I’d say it’s their worst album by a country mile.



Doof: that is a tremendously huge bummer. Did you review on rym? Link? I’m gonna start using rym, I think. I like the option to rate tracks

anat
Contributing Reviewer
March 6th 2024


5775 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Abandoned is the wrong word, this album just leans into the pop of indie pop 🤷‍♂️

Gyromania
March 6th 2024


37188 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Also yeah FD is underrated fs. Also feel that their debut is very strong

DoofDoof
March 6th 2024


15264 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I reviewed here ;)



Get to Heaven has some incredible tracks - The Wheel is Turning Now I can’t help thinking of nearly every time I catch ten minutes of the news, right wing governments being elected all across Europe as the ‘average worker’ gets poorer, that’s a genius song

DoofDoof
March 6th 2024


15264 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Re-animator has two of their best songs in ‘Violent Sun’ and ‘In Birdsong’, think that’s the one doomed to be underrated



GtH > Fever = Re-animator > RDF > Mountainhead >>>>>> Arc >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Man Alive



Man Alive is so irritating it might be genius, need to revisit, but for now it’s way way down. Photoshop Handsome is an incredible standalone single though



Arc is a little dull in spots and is their most Coldplay’ish (and of course Re-animator is their most Radiohead’ish - ‘Monstering’ most of all! One of the best recent Radiohead songs as well tbh)

Gyromania
March 6th 2024


37188 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Haha see “irritating” is the word I’d use to describe GtH. I think the debut is hella charming and catchy as hell. Great balance of melody and atmosphere, I think.



And yeah, In Birdsong is amazzzzzing, favourite on that album for sure

DoofDoof
March 6th 2024


15264 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The band are a bit irritating/grating - someone labelled them the pop Cardiacs (who the critics absolutely despised) and I get that



I see it as their spicy ingredient

Gyromania
March 6th 2024


37188 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Distant Past is a good example: great chorus, hilariously awful verses. I feel like this happens A LOT on GtH

Gyromania
March 6th 2024


37188 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah this is for sure one of those bands where the “I find them annoying” complaint actually makes sense to me lmao

DoofDoof
March 6th 2024


15264 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I always thought people found the almost baggy ‘big choon’ chorus of Distant Past more annoying than the ‘almost rap’ verses? Again, somehow, despite being quite irritating the song works for me.



I think the choice of influences and presentation make the theme of the song funnier, seems like someone’s idea of the future in the early ‘90s and is that the distant distant past. Dunno.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy