Sleepytime Gorilla Museum of the Last Human Being
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
BallsToTheWall
February 26th 2024


51241 Comments


This is amazing.

LilLioness
February 27th 2024


3390 Comments


When I get back from my vacation, I will check this in full. I did like the preview tracks, tho.

MyFriendMetatron
February 27th 2024


92 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

"this is absolutely nuts to me hahaha, based/cursed parenting"



That about sums up the last 17 years, lots of good stuff, AND even more mistakes. Yeesh.

Zakusz
February 27th 2024


1598 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The last line gives me chills

Veldin
February 27th 2024


5275 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Can’t stop spinning this. Absolutely loving it

mkmusic1995
Contributing Reviewer
February 27th 2024


1795 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is sitting in-between a 3.5/4 for me. It's really brilliant in some areas and then quickly becomes irritating in others. Nice review as always, Johnny

Henevest
February 27th 2024


2 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Very nice review.



Their older records are just perfect. This one is not so perfec, but still. That's the reason I gave them a 5/5 and a 4.5/5 to this one.



Stills much better that any other music of its kind, if it really exists some band the can even be comparable on how Sleepytime Gorilla Museum sounds.

stabbler
February 28th 2024


1509 Comments


just based on the first track, I can tell this will be 7.2/5

Zakusz
February 28th 2024


1598 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

As someone who is new to this band (last October), what separates this album from their previous works in terms of it not reaching their previous heights? From what I have heard of their previous albums they are very similar in delivery to this one and I can't seem to find anything that really makes this miss the mark from what I have heard prior. Is it simply the times?

Veldin
February 28th 2024


5275 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I prefer this to their debut, but Sleep is Wrong IS one of their best songs. Some other great songs on debut but there’s a lot I don’t think hold up. Haven’t really listened to their other two albums, Idiot Flesh, or FSE, but I plan to now after enjoying this so much.

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
February 28th 2024


60608 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6

Don't think IGT or Natural History are similar in delivery to this at all for reasons I've already gone into detail over, but yeah the debut has more in common with it and is a lot less consistent. Sleepytime and ig Ambugaton are better than anything here, but this is a marginally stronger record otherwise - got about the same silly factor, but balances it far more evenly

Hawks
February 29th 2024


88697 Comments


Gonna give this a shot. Have never jammed this band before

stabbler
February 29th 2024


1509 Comments


User ratings are heavily influenced by reviewer ratings on this site. It's a shame that such a pioneer band's new release after all these years gets lost under anything done by Job For A Cowboy

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
February 29th 2024


60608 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6

Don't believe in inflating my own score relative to other albums released in the same week/month/year, but if I'd rated this based purely around how how little I care about JFAC the review would be a hard 5 lol

Demon of the Fall
February 29th 2024


33968 Comments


hmm, there's some weird ratings by okay users in the JFAC thread
I had no interest beforehand, sure

still need to check this, but it is long and the day isn't

+ I'm still digesting my revisiting of Natural History / contemplating dipping into the debut first

Zakusz
February 29th 2024


1598 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This will probably slip down to a 4 at some point but so far it is getting all the spins it deserves in my house

Rowhaus
February 29th 2024


6155 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I'm predicting Hawks will hate this

SomeCallMeTim
February 29th 2024


4162 Comments


I had a dream last night I joined this band

cylinder
February 29th 2024


2627 Comments


"I prefer this to their debut, but Sleep is Wrong IS one of their best songs."

that is one of their best songs, plus the debut also has Ablutions, Powerless, Sleepytime, and Flinch, which are also some of their best songs

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
February 29th 2024


60608 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6

Flinch being a bonus track is lowkey one of the most wack moves in their discog

"had a dream last night I joined this band"

lol wtf continue



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy