The Last Dinner Party Prelude to Ecstasy
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Ebola
February 12th 2024


4511 Comments


Great review, although I'm not sure you even needed to address the pointless, tiresome "industry plant" discourse, much less in the opening paragraph. As you correctly note, this conversation is often rooted in some sort of prejudice, so I would argue that mentioning it, even in a dismissive sort of way, simply legitimizes it further.
I had never heard of this band (much less the discourse) prior to reading your review, so I think that mentioning the "industry plant" stuff is actually just giving it new life and a broader reach, even though that's clearly not your intention.

JesperL
Staff Reviewer
February 12th 2024


5443 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah i get you ebola, though admittedly i quite liked the challenge of addressing it without giving it any real credit haha. it'd feel a bit strange not addressing the (highly unfortunate) main 'thing' surrounding this band, and yet i suppose it does indeed keep the topic alive... aaa, tricky

fogza
Contributing Reviewer
February 13th 2024


9738 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I think it would be weird to write a review without at least talking about how quickly and easily they've become highly visible. Not that I'm saying it should determine how they get judged musically (however it does influence how I evaluate their lyrical content)

Dylan620
February 13th 2024


5870 Comments


"However, it should be noted that nothing The Last Dinner Party puts forth here sounds truly original: while all the arrangements may be expansive and intricate at once, it’s hard to shake the feeling that Prelude to Ecstasy captures anything fresh."

This sentence seems to contradict itself... hard to shake the feeling that it's original?

Great review otherwise.

tectactoe
February 13th 2024


7270 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Can someone give me like a one or two line tl;dr of how these guys (gals) have been confirmed industry plants and why the discourse surrounding that is being overwhelmingly shoved to the forefront of any conversation about them? It's not like they'd be the first industry plants ever, nor will they be the last, so who cares? Why is that specific talking point dominating every discussion about this particular album?

izakaya
February 13th 2024


277 Comments


realise how deeply uncool these guys' 'how-cool-is-it-being-uncool' schtick is but vibing with this

JesperL
Staff Reviewer
February 13th 2024


5443 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

oops good shout dylan! fixed that boi



DoofDoof
February 13th 2024


14975 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

tect - if the NME goes 100% to town over a new band it just whiffs of Pete Doherty instantly is about the sum of it

GhandhiLion
February 13th 2024


17641 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

So no

DoofDoof
February 13th 2024


14975 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

No…but something almost equally as worrying? Yes

zaruyache
February 14th 2024


27351 Comments


cursory listen and I was not amazed, tho it was definitely pleasant. Unaware of the discourse but it's always weird to me how bands put out a couple songs then totally blow up on RYM.

tectactoe
February 14th 2024


7270 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Oh wow, didn't realize NME still had that big a sway among the music savvies. Not sure who is actually more out of touch at this point - them or me. Industry plant, nepo babies, or whatever the case, this thing has three solid bangers (Burn Alive, Nothing Matters, and My Lady of Mercy). Can take or leave the rest, nothing remarkable but otherwise nothing offensive, either.

markjamie
February 14th 2024


689 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I don't read NME so not sure if they have been gushing about the band or not, but they only gave the album 4/5 which is odd if they are "all in" as they hand out 5/5 reviews like 10% off promo codes these days. Heaps of other publications gave the album a higher score.

DoofDoof
February 14th 2024


14975 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

I first heard about them with the BBC of all people pushing them, they seem pretty hyped up for mainstream crossover in the UK...I guess I expected to be bowled over in a sort of 'the new Arcade Fire' way, but more sort of a slightly more 'woah' Florence and the Machine in terms of appeal.



Sort of band that might be playing race courses in England in four years, just has that vibe, few £10 each way flutters, some shit canapes and this lot are playing at 6pm after your money has gone.

markjamie
February 14th 2024


689 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, it will definitely be interesting to see where they go from here. I'm not blown away either but I like it more than you. It's a 7.5 album for me (rounded up because they sound so out of step with what else is out there right now).

Hopelust
February 15th 2024


3613 Comments


That last paragraph is exactly how I'm experiencing it right now. Immensely appreciative of the effort and spot-on songwriting, but I can't yet see where this fits into my daily life. Hard to find a venue or context for it.

JesusCage
February 20th 2024


441 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

They know how to make hooks. Industry plants or not, this is pretty enjoyable.

mouldypigeon
February 20th 2024


93 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Burn Alive is a serviceable bop but the rest of it is just a bit naff, I don't see any replay value for myself... after 3.5 listens I can only recall Nothing Matters and that's because Spotify pimped it to me relentlessly for months prior.

DoofDoof
February 21st 2024


14975 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

yeah, there is something naff in the presentation and sound of this



Spotify also keeps dragging me back to songs here and the vocals instantly stand out as 'not my thing' and it takes me a while to realise 'oh, it's this band, that's why I know it, yup'

mouldypigeon
February 21st 2024


93 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I had the reverse happen when listening to this for the first time, when Nothing Matters came on I had that lightbulb moment of "oh no it's this band"



Potential for them to mature into something more interesting I'm thinking.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy