Chelsea Wolfe She Reaches Out to She Reaches Out to She
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
February 12th 2024


31824 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Tanking a great average. Good job Sput.

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
February 12th 2024


25661 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

that is how it do be sometimes

Demon of the Fall
February 12th 2024


32774 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"I preferred when I didn't know Pika 's reasoning for hating on Mariner, now it really doesn't make sense lol"



yeah, somehow CoL's performance would miraculously improve if they collab'd with a different vocalist, even tho it was apparently their fault and Julie wasn't the issue at all





...eh?

Demon of the Fall
February 12th 2024


32774 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"Tanking a great average. Good job Sput."



what heights did it reach? 4.1 is very good for a new release



I might enjoy this more having been through Pain Is Beauty a couple of times, gonna take this slow mind. Playing the long game

Pikazilla
February 12th 2024


28994 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"yeah, somehow CoL's performance would miraculously improve if they collab'd with a different vocalist, even tho it was apparently their fault and Julie wasn't the issue at all"



I was secretly hoping that Wolfe's sludge roots will serve as a guarantor for ensuring CoL don't miss their usual bar should the dream collab come to pass



Or are you suggesting CoL will fumble in every collab they attempt?



Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
February 12th 2024


31824 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I think the suggestion is that CoL hasn't ever fumbled. Ever.

Pikazilla
February 12th 2024


28994 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

pretty sure Demon is also of the opinion that Mariner is one of their worst contributions

Demon of the Fall
February 12th 2024


32774 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It is / I am, yet it's still a decent standalone release. I just don't see how collabing with Wolfe would rectify the supposed misgivings of Mariner.



It's not like working with Wolfe produced great results for Converge, at least not consistently.



Be careful what you wish for

Egarran
February 12th 2024


33496 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's weirdly tense in here.

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
February 12th 2024


31824 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

In a sexual way?

Demon of the Fall
February 12th 2024


32774 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

goth girl tears, Sput's most potent aphrodisiac?

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
February 12th 2024


59459 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

CoL fumbled moderately throughout their debut and are sounding increasingly like a tired bunch of old men

Maniac!
February 12th 2024


28539 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"listen to more music"



no

Egarran
February 12th 2024


33496 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

>In a sexual way?



Hmm, it would be some kind of angry masturbation.

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
February 12th 2024


31824 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Who am I to judge

Demon of the Fall
February 12th 2024


32774 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It comes in many forms

Gyromania
February 12th 2024


36907 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This is undeniably better than PiB imo altho I do rly like that album. Better than abyss too but quite different sounding, and it has to be said that the prod is just miles better. I think I saw someone say Hiss Spun is their favourite which is wild to me because that’s the weakest Wolfe I’ve heard by a mile.

Wildcardbitchesss
February 12th 2024


10917 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Hiss Spun is great it’s just a little more uneven imo. 16 Psyche, The Culling, Vex, Two Spirit, Twin Fawn, and Scrape are all incredible.



Scrape might be her best closing track ngl

gabba
February 12th 2024


489 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The sludgy sound of Hiss Spun was something I was completely unfamiliar with before. It slowly grew on me big time, but strangely, I still feel some degree of guilty pleasure while jamming it. Since I’m not familiar with most of the metal scene, I had no expectations about its production. In fact, it is by far better sounding than most of the noisy/low-fi shit I love.

Wildcardbitchesss
February 12th 2024


10917 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Did anyone say the production was bad on Hiss Spun?

No shot that record sounds great lol



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy