KMFDM Let Go
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
February 6th 2024


32047 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Cheers Kevin, dully noted.



I'm jamming now, this sounds like dark alley Roxette on steroids. It's cool.



Not sure it'll drag me to a discog run though.

budgie
February 6th 2024


35768 Comments


at leaeaeaeeaaeast jam angst

kkarron
February 6th 2024


1394 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

naah Naive is the actual best KMFDM album.

FrozenFirebug
February 6th 2024


863 Comments


literally, LITERALLY impossible to tell which kmfdm album is which at a glance, because of their album cover convention making everything look the same

i've probably heard 60% of them at some point but can't rate cause of that > : (

Pikazilla
February 6th 2024


29817 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Kevin, I am aware that 5/10 referred to the number of great songs, not rating

KevinKC
February 6th 2024


1280 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

@pikazilla

Don't take it the wrong way. I was just making sure there wasn't a misunderstanding.

You ask me if I was on crack because I said there was five great songs on Symbols.

Do you love them all ?

Pikazilla
February 6th 2024


29817 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'd say I love 80% of them, even though they do follow a fairly homogeneous structure



I don't listen to kmfdm for something nuanced, I just want some fun German industrial bops

KevinKC
February 6th 2024


1280 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Really, I would never argue that it's a bad album. It's a good album that is just not what works for me.





Sinternet
Contributing Reviewer
February 6th 2024


26593 Comments


Symbols is easily their best

y87arrow
February 6th 2024


713 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I don't think I'll ever get interested in checking out another album from them again. "Angst" (1993) was a nice album, same with "Xtort" (1996), but the biggest weakpoint in their music was always the songwriting. Every single song is structured the same on those 2 albums.

Should I really check out another KMFDM album? I don't want to waste time finding out that they're all just the same in that aspect.



Too chorus reliant, never less than 3 choruses on every song, yeah great sound and nice production, but their music gets boring quickly because of how ultra predictable and lackluster the songs are structured. I rather listen to Cyanotic - Transhuman 2.0 or Acumen Nation (Psycho The Rapist and Anticore) which are less chorus whoring.



Are there KMFDM albums that are different from that? I don't believe there are.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
February 6th 2024


6190 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hyena is probably their most different, but I wouldn't say it's that good. Other than that, it's mostly which records have catchier songs than others.

kkarron
February 6th 2024


1394 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Well, it's better than Hyena but it still feels like a bunch of pensioners...

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
February 6th 2024


6190 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sasha probably is close.

trickert
February 6th 2024


200 Comments


Their 90s run is pretty damn good--Naive, Angst, Nihil, X-Tort, and Symbols (Money is spotty). After that, they kinda lost it for me--some good tracks amidst all the product, but nothing sustained. This just sounds tired. It's a shame.

KevinKC
February 7th 2024


1280 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

So, I've now listened to the three albums, Paradise, Hyena and Let go and beyond the music, I was surprised at the serious bitterness of the lyrics.



Also, in my opinion:

Let Go > Hyena > Paradise





You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy