Knoll As Spoken
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
FearThyEvil
February 7th 2024


18512 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm sure you found that amusing somehow

Purpl3Spartan
February 7th 2024


8450 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

imma have to listen to this again but didn't hear anything here that blew me away, but it was pretty solid throughout - was hoopin tho so I wasn't entirely focused haha

Demon of the Fall
February 7th 2024


33511 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yeah, this is wearing off me if anything. I tried to see this as a separate thing entirely (successfully, initially) but I do miss elements of their past material. There are certainly cool moments here, yet a fair few not particularly memorable passages. I miss the way they used noise to break up the heaviness on Metempiric, this mostly just slows right down and uses those chunky dissonant riffs instead (before upping the tempo again).

DDDeftoneDDD
February 7th 2024


22086 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Humm

Too similar to FoH. I wonder if its a good thing (as a fan of FoH)

Their last one reminded me of FoH in a a good way lol something felt fresh there, cause it brought back alive Trumpeting Ecstasy vibe. This is like doing the same FoH is doing right now, yet without the memorable moments.



Anyway, first impressions, it still smacks. It can change in time with listens.

Demon of the Fall
February 7th 2024


33511 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is the least like FoH they’ve ever sounded

Faraudo
February 8th 2024


4598 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Absolutely disgusting I love it

Tyll
February 8th 2024


36 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I also hear more Portal than FoH here. Love it!

DadKungFu
Staff Reviewer
February 8th 2024


4703 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah people still saying FOH are tripping at this point

DDDeftoneDDD
February 8th 2024


22086 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Mostly late FoH yeah, totally

Demon of the Fall
February 8th 2024


33511 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The mirror(?!) in the album art looks like a portal

coincedence?

DadKungFu
Staff Reviewer
February 8th 2024


4703 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"The mirror"



it's a sliced potato

FearThyEvil
February 8th 2024


18512 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I think the FoH comparisons are pretty much just in the vocals because they sound very similar vocally but outside of that, very different sonically for this album as a whole.

calmrose
February 9th 2024


6750 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

can't get enough of this



the Portal-isms sprinkled throughout are 🤌

DDDeftoneDDD
February 9th 2024


22086 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The mirror, unlike the previous ones, also look like a follow up to late FoH album covers.



There are indeed Portal bits here. I'm not a fan of Portal either, but those bits here look pretty cool

brainmelter
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2024


8318 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I know im in the minority here, but after going back to Metempiric this is much more sticky, the vocals are a step up and the songs are more interesting and less one-note imo. this one is way more obvious with it but the portal-isms were there in Metempiric too

Hawks
February 11th 2024


86681 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Stop disrespecting Portal plz literally everything they've done smashes this to pieces.

Demon of the Fall
February 11th 2024


33511 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Portal are mid to be fair

Hawks
February 11th 2024


86681 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Yeah nah.

FearThyEvil
February 12th 2024


18512 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Portal is a band I only slightly listened to but it was pretty good. Definitely quite different

Frost15
February 12th 2024


2704 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Portal have a couple of excellent albums but I'm not the biggest fan of them either ngl. No disrespect from me though.

Gave this finally a listen and it's quite nice. A great Portal album with a new vocalist. It costs 111$ though...



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy