Peter Gabriel i/o
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
ReefaJones
December 8th 2023


3660 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

so why is this a double album. I'm not listening to the same album twice. Which side is the better one

zakalwe
December 8th 2023


38916 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

What you need to do is have some patience, commit some time over the next few days to listen to them both and come to a decision on your own.





DoofDoof
December 8th 2023


15093 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

have to be honest, it's almost as annoying as when Tyler Childers released three versions of the same songs back to back last year - listened to the light mix three times and the dark one two times and no revelation so far



decent set of song in and of themselves though

zakalwe
December 8th 2023


38916 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Playing For Time

Four Kinds of Horses

So Much



Revelatory!!!

DoofDoof
December 8th 2023


15093 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I was saying no revelation in having the two mixes - it's just been a slight obstacle to getting into it

zakalwe
December 8th 2023


38916 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Apologies



When it comes to the mixes it’s subtle, ridiculously so when it comes to certain songs ‘Olive Tree’ for one but there is definitely a difference.



I’m flip flopping between which one I prefer but it doesn’t matter. The album is unbelievably good. Amazing.







DoofDoof
December 8th 2023


15093 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I should have just stuck to the light mix, think I prefer it for 90% of the material

Sowing
Moderator
December 8th 2023


43955 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I preferred the light mix as well. Will probably just stick to that for now for the sake of time, but if this does cause a revelation and suddenly become a 5, then I'll surely dive deeper into the dark mixes.

neekafat
Staff Reviewer
December 8th 2023


26194 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Colton have you heard of genesis

hel9000
December 8th 2023


1532 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"theater kid ass album" Well yeah sorta, theatrical has been his thing for 55 years.

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
December 8th 2023


18302 Comments


nice review man. outside of Peter Gabriel (III) (a.k.a. Melt). i've never checked any of his other stuff, but that album is killer.

Titan
December 8th 2023


24929 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Playing For Time



Four Kinds of Horses



So Much



[2]

zakalwe
December 8th 2023


38916 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Good lad

DoofDoof
December 8th 2023


15093 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

think a 3.5 ceiling on this for me - I'm done with it by the end of 'Olive Tree', the last four are 'just there' really



quite a juicy album before then though

Gyromania
December 8th 2023


37092 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yeah I’m rly not into releasing the same set of songs twice on one album with a “pick your favourite of the two versions” approach. Def adds an unnecessary barrier to entry

Titan
December 8th 2023


24929 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i dont even know which one im listening to at times

Koris
Staff Reviewer
December 8th 2023


21170 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't really have a problem with the two-version thing tbh. If anything, it's just a fun little compare/contrast game for listeners as they absorb the album

Pikazilla
December 8th 2023


29778 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

selfie taken during a sesh with his chiropractor

Koris
Staff Reviewer
December 8th 2023


21170 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Probably yeah

neekafat
Staff Reviewer
December 8th 2023


26194 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Four Kinds of Horses has such a groove



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy