Deftones Ohms
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
November 22nd 2023


59481 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

closer is p good (even if it was a stupid choice of single)

harsh vox on Genesis is a brutal dealbreaker, have absolutely no time for screams that weak + that half-arsed

Wildcardbitchesss
November 22nd 2023


10928 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

his screams are why I don’t have this at a 5, I don’t think they’re half assed, dude has just been doing this for 30 years.



Chino even 10 years ago would’ve absolutely crushed it

artiswar
November 22nd 2023


12955 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yeah Chino can't really scream anymore like he used to but the chorus and bridge of that song are great. I can give the screams a pass

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
November 22nd 2023


59481 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

if the delivery isn't half-arsed, the way the entire verse progression leans on that lame delay effect most certainly is

Zac124
November 22nd 2023


2351 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fair point. The harsh vocals on any Deftones albums post Diamond Eyes haven't been great anyway.

Wildcardbitchesss
November 22nd 2023


10928 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

that’s fair. They really lean on that a few times.

artiswar
November 22nd 2023


12955 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

you know Stephen came to Chino and was like "dude I have the fattest riff ever, you gotta scream over this" and Chino was like "am getting too old for dis shit but ok, let's throw delay on it tho"

claygurnz
November 22nd 2023


7508 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

First four tracks are fire then the middle section is a bit iffy

Wildcardbitchesss
November 22nd 2023


10928 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah first four tracks is one of the best stretches of the bands career imo

Zac124
November 22nd 2023


2351 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

'First four tracks are fire then the middle section is a bit iffy'



Yeah, after three years and multiple listens, I still remember nothing about Pompeji and Spell.

Wildcardbitchesss
November 22nd 2023


10928 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Both Spell and Pompeji (and This Link is Dead, but I think that track is a little better) are the most noticeable with how much weaker Chino is these days. But good god I love the outros on both. The instrumentals on the back end of Spell are hypnotic asf and the end of Pompeji is gorgeous.

Wildcardbitchesss
November 22nd 2023


10928 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The album flows flawlessly, Koi is the only other one that I feel is this cohesive

artiswar
November 22nd 2023


12955 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Pompeji sucks, Spell is god-tier but I can't listen to it anymore cause it's too catchy and gets stuck in my noodle too much

Sowing
Moderator
November 22nd 2023


43745 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Pompeji is one of my favorites

JayEnder
November 22nd 2023


19150 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Headless is the real sleeper hit here

Wildcardbitchesss
November 22nd 2023


10928 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Instrumentally, Pompeji is very nice all the way through. It’s the only track here that I think Chino is outright weak on. The verses are just so pleasant sounding, then the chorus is just so fucking rough on the ears man.



And yeah Headless is the shit

Gyromania
November 22nd 2023


36908 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Genesis sounds almost like a Deftones parody to me

Gyromania
November 22nd 2023


36908 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Idk, to me this whole album (barring Ohms and maybe This Link Is Dead, altho it’s like a weaker Gore or Royal) is lacking in both the intensity dept and the hook dept.

This thing is seriously bereft of any memorable hooks, esp on tracks as garbage as Ceremony. And where is the intensity? The same people who loved Diamond eyes for its insanely catchy choruses and career-high screams thinks this is on the same level? How? Why? The only thing this album rly has is their brand of atmosphere and moodiness, otherwise it’s like listening to all the weakest moments from KNY

Rowhaus
November 22nd 2023


5860 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Gyro hit it right on the head

Sharenge
November 22nd 2023


4741 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I REJEEEEECCCCCTTTTT



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy