Steven Wilson The Harmony Codex
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
TalonsOfFire
Emeritus
October 4th 2023


20969 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Instrumentally and compositionally Detonation is amazing. I just wish the lyrics were different. But that’s SW for ya haha

Koris
Staff Reviewer
October 4th 2023


21370 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Yeah, Mr. "Tired of Facebook" has never been known for having great lyrics, lol. But once in a blue moon, he'll drop a gem out of nowhere

kalkwiese
October 4th 2023


10486 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Detonation doesn't really do much for me tbh. I don't see the appeal musically tbh

TalonsOfFire
Emeritus
October 4th 2023


20969 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I just love the guitar melodies and the way it builds and the subtle increase of intensity to the end, it’s such a fun listen and has great atmosphere.

Sykx
October 4th 2023


23 Comments


This album borders a bit on the "wank" side of prog. I like the previous stuff.

Faraudo
October 4th 2023


4706 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I really loved this, there's a couple of spots that reminded me of Massive Attack

LePsych
October 4th 2023


73 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks for the review, that was really good. I'm liking this infinitely more than TFB, ironically it feels like he didn't try as hard with this album and just decided to go with whatever music came out. There's sort of a airhead quality to this album that I like and he mostly avoided the pitfalls that plagued the previous album.

Jasdevi087
October 4th 2023


8143 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Sensual stripper music I said what I said [3]

Ayashi
October 4th 2023


317 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

This album takes a couple of spins to stop feeling disjointed, songs like the opener Inclination will absolutely not land properly on a first listen, but things do fall into place. 4 or 4,5, still working on my own review, see where it lands.



This album takes a minimum of 3 spins to evaluate imo, much more than some other random album. I will listen to you if you still find it disjointed afterwards, but give it the time it requires first.

WalrusTusk
October 4th 2023


1823 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Steven Wilson told me I'm an idiot if I don't like this album so I guess you're right.

Koris
Staff Reviewer
October 4th 2023


21370 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

At least he didn't astroturf this one into oblivion like he did with The Future Bites, lol

Gyromania
October 4th 2023


37218 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Can't imagine a worse punishment than having to listen to this 3 times

Flugmorph
October 4th 2023


34632 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I can

Sunnyvale
Staff Reviewer
October 4th 2023


6023 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Speaking of lyrics, I don't have a problem with most of them here, but the lines below (from Time Is Running Out) always kinda make me cringe, and then wonder if he's talking about Sput, haha:



You're spending time on the same website,

Taking issue and picking fights


Tundra
October 5th 2023


9850 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

"Mr. 'Tired of Facebook"

Epic lyric lmao

Frost15
October 5th 2023


3409 Comments


Sadly SW has not managed to retain the masterful quality of everything he did until Hand.Cannot.Erase, which is his last masterpiece. Everything after that have been mostly uninspired and kind of boring, save a few tracks like Pariah.
Maybe he spoiled us too much with such quality releases

StormChaser
October 5th 2023


2209 Comments


maybe I'm just not in the mood for something like this (though I feel like I am), but this is pretty damn boring for most of its runtime. I like the solo on Rock Bottom though. I think Tayeb's voice on his albums is a spent concept already, he should find new female collaborators if he wants a female voice

also what the heck is detonation

Koris
Staff Reviewer
October 6th 2023


21370 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

"Epic lyric lmao"



It sucks, because I really love Pariah otherwise. But that lyric always takes me right out of it, lol

Helvetesdorr
October 6th 2023


15 Comments


Maybe just a coincidence but I swear to god, SW's music started getting worse as he started getting happier. I'm sincerely happy for him that he seems to genuinely enjoy shitposting on all sorts of social media now and just being a happy dude with a family, but the music was better when he was a moody out of touch asshole smashing iPods with a hammer.

Gavierra
October 6th 2023


441 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm tired of Facebook too so I can relate hard



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy