Wolves in the Throne Room Crypt of Ancestral Knowledge
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hawks
October 1st 2023


88074 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

It's not that hard to understand.

NightOnDrunkMountain
Contributing Reviewer
October 1st 2023


646 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Even Celestite above it huh

Hawks
October 1st 2023


88074 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Yes easily.

mystagogus
October 2nd 2023


41 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Nice to see that we all fully agree on ranking Wolves' works.



1. Black cascade & Two hunters - golden classics



2. Celestial lineage - not exactly as great as the above and following their path, yet I'm here for the atmosphere so don't mind those 'poor riff progression and no evolution' critics



3. Primordial arcana - grew well over time, but overall way behind the epic trilogy



4. Crypt of ancestral knowledge - a solid follow-up EP to Primordial arcana



5. Thrice woven - probably the most meandering and disjointed of their LPs, still not bad



6. Malevolent grain - this one is really going nowhere and falls apart, both tracks are largely just plain boring



7. Diadem of 12 stars - even a few dozens of jams didn't make me understand why somebody would find this immature mediocre punkish BM enjoyable, Darkthrone do the punk black metal job better after all



8. Celestite - a rather miserably failed attempt to venture into the world of dark ambient, entirely unmemorable

mystagogus
October 2nd 2023


41 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Oh and great review anyway!

NightOnDrunkMountain
Contributing Reviewer
October 2nd 2023


646 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks! And yes it seems everyone literally has their one ranking

Gameofmetal
Emeritus
October 2nd 2023


11592 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Celestial Lineage is a little weighed down by the non metal tracks but the four metal songs are fucking great. Thuja is like their second best song imo.



Two Hunters > Celestial Lineage > Thrice Woven > Primordial Arcana > Diadem > Black Cascade > Celestite



Worst album is 7/10

mystagogus
October 2nd 2023


41 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

By no means Celestite can be as high as 7/10, it's nowhere near Cold Meat stuff like Desiderii Marginis / Raison d'etre / Sephiroth or other classics like Maeror tri, Apoptose, Inade, Yen pox etc.

Gameofmetal
Emeritus
October 2nd 2023


11592 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i dont know a single name mentioned : )

mystagogus
October 2nd 2023


41 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

@Gameofmetal here's one if you're curious =)

Frost15
October 2nd 2023


3027 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Celestite is so underrated everywhere...

Hawks
October 2nd 2023


88074 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Celestite is really good yeah.

Hawks
October 2nd 2023


88074 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

7. Diadem of 12 stars - even a few dozens of jams didn't make me understand why somebody would find this immature mediocre punkish BM enjoyable, Darkthrone do the punk black metal job better after all




This has to be a joke lol. Diadem sounds nothing like punk black metal were u on meth when u jammed???

mystagogus
October 3rd 2023


41 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Can't afford it, I'm not in my teens for quite a long time by now.



But hey, Diadem is primitive and monotonous in a poor way. I guess primitive/raw/'visceral' is what many people like about Wolves while I mostly prefer the ethereal atmospheres, thus Diadem doesn't have anything to offer and is hopeless.

Frost15
October 3rd 2023


3027 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Unpopular opinion:



Primordial Arcana > Two Hunters = Celestial Lineage > Celestite > Everything else (which sits around 3'3 and 3'7)

I always found Diadem very overrated

Eclecticism
October 4th 2023


87 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sounds way better on vinyl through a good sound system than it did on Spotify. Still only a decent release (for the band) though.

NightOnDrunkMountain
Contributing Reviewer
October 5th 2023


646 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yes I also sense it's a kind of release you gotta have to listen to on physical format. Just this artwork on vinyl must be awesome.

Sunnyvale
Staff Reviewer
October 5th 2023


5905 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

First song absolutely slays, then declines in quality from there. Nice EP though, I've dug their recent material a lot.

Hawks
October 7th 2023


88074 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I've dug all their recent stuff except this.

garas
Staff Reviewer
October 9th 2023


8076 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

> Primordial Arcana > Two Hunters = Celestial Lineage > Celestite...



More like: Primordial Arcana = Thrice Woven = Celestial Lineage = Celestite (=this EP) >>> everything else.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy