Filter The Algorithm
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Storm In A Teacup
September 10th 2023


45252 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

The first song sucks but the rest is pretty good.

FrozenFirebug
September 10th 2023


738 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

vocalist sucks but the rest is pretty good

the entire discography i mean not just this album

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
September 11th 2023


18181 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

excellent review as always willie. didn't know these guys had a new record out. i'll give this a go, based on your review for it.

PistolPete
September 11th 2023


5301 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

What do you know, this is pretty interesting. Last album really zapped my love for them

Willie
Moderator
September 11th 2023


20203 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

Glad people are checking this out. It's pretty damn good. Filter and Stabbing Westward coming back strong.

Emim
September 11th 2023


35120 Comments


I thought everything after their first was awful

TheArtofTheGanja
September 11th 2023


386 Comments


Title of Record is pretty good

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
September 15th 2023


6139 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Threshing Floor is awesome. The entire stretch from Face Down to Burn out the Sun is excellent.

Willie
Moderator
September 16th 2023


20203 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

--I thought everything after their first was awful --



Until Crazy Eyes, I thought everything except Title of Record was okay at best. I never really thought any of their stuff was awful, though

bananatossing
September 16th 2023


2307 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is a clear return to form after the messy Crazy Eyes and the creatively bankrupt (but fun) TSCOT. With that said, it bothers me to no end how "Threshing Floor" sounds so awful. I thought there was something wrong with my speakers or that I purchased a poor quality file, but I have realized that's an actual finished product.



What the hell happened there? The hi hats sound compressed to oblivion and there's clear sound distortion.

conditionals
October 2nd 2023


557 Comments


Yeah Threshing Floor sounds terrible. I have no idea how stuff like this slips through the mixing and mastering process. A similar thing happened on the last Offspring album - the track Army of One stood out with an ultra-compressed mix that makes the drums sound like a 96kbps MP3

kkarron
October 17th 2023


1299 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Eurovision/radio friendly industrial. As it ever was.



Pretty neat.



Shit drum sound engineering tho, agreed.

Storm In A Teacup
October 17th 2023


45252 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Man i really got pika there. I might keep this at a 4.5 tho cuz half the songs on this are 4.3s and it is 2023

premmisseth
October 28th 2023


31 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Not a Filter I used to know and love. In fact, some songs (fillers) are straight forward atrocious.

Also Patrick's voice was never before so close to crack. It's sometimes so hard to listen him singing you almost feel him cracking his voice.

Golden era of Filter is sadly over, even before this album though.



And what's with this trendy djenty sound..

JohnFire
December 4th 2023


876 Comments


Interesting to see so many of you rating this so highly. Production (drum sound) and mixing alone make this really hard for me to get into, and I'm someone who still loves Anthems For The Damned. Very overhated album - I will die on that hill for The Wake alone

Y'all should listen to The Anix



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy