DreamWeaver (JP) blue garden
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
normaloctagon
Contributing Reviewer
July 6th 2023


4057 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

🫡



And here’s “dove” by antihoney https://youtu.be/fZ_4LH-gOzU

pizzamachine
July 6th 2023


27349 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Background music is fine. I find this one though produces the same dynamics and underwater effect constantly, with the vocals cloning the sound, and it’s all hazy and sleep inducing, with forgettable vocals and not engaging as it could be. It’s very pretty though

Vinnymcscoop
July 6th 2023


1672 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Kinda find this jungle/drum n' bass/ BREAKCORE/ Ambient Sewerslvt/ Whatever the fuck this genre is supposed to be kinda incredible. But yeah, lyrics are just not groundbreaking.

normaloctagon
Contributing Reviewer
July 6th 2023


4057 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hey jesp you should check smoke signals by overlook, it’s honestly pretty similar to this in many ways

normaloctagon
Contributing Reviewer
July 6th 2023


4057 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Also apparently Antihoney died this year : (



Johnny i think you might appreciate their music

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
July 6th 2023


60893 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

oh damn RIP :[ will check!

"and it’s all hazy and sleep inducing"

mum i don't like this noise rock album it's too loud

mkmusic1995
Contributing Reviewer
July 6th 2023


1820 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I agree with pizza's assessment. This certainly isn't bad but all the hype around it on is kind of surprising for such a mundane release.

PotsyTater
July 6th 2023


10100 Comments


@johnny echoing pizza’s sentiments. Read the rest of my criticism. Sometimes background music is fine / good (and this is still good) but in this particular instance there are things that I think it could have done to elevate

Also background music is rarely above the 3.5 threshold so while it’s not a deal breaker it’s not exactly like a glowing endorsement

PotsyTater
July 6th 2023


10100 Comments


You can make chillout music that is still engaging

PotsyTater
July 6th 2023


10100 Comments


“mum i don't like this noise rock album it's too loud”

Bad analog. I’m not listening to this type of music to be put into a fucking coma lol

normaloctagon
Contributing Reviewer
July 6th 2023


4057 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Where’s “all the hype around it” I’m seeing 5 pages of discussion and a lot of 3s and marginally enthusiastic 4s

Ryus
July 6th 2023


37260 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

lol yea this has had little hype but i appreciate the fact that it has a review

normaloctagon
Contributing Reviewer
July 6th 2023


4057 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Swear to god the merchant music in RE4 is sampled in the track here “5years”

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
July 6th 2023


60893 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

get comapilled bois

@pots i don't think this is perfect for what it goes for (per my critiques earlier in thread), but it gets far enough of the way there that i find it odd to see it criticised for active ~engagement~ reasons as though they're at any point a major priority (outside of maybe Last Eden). this *is* a dissociative bliss-out, and while i can easily see that being a dealbreaker or ceiling-imposer, a lot of these comments, especially on this page, are dancing round that point instead of engaging with how it articulates the mood in question (eg production is way above average and full of small contours and the vocals are impeccable for this style)

in other contexts, i'd say that speaks to seasoned preference and leave it there - don't disagree with your take to the point of kicking up dust on it - but i'm extremely suspicious of anyone sporting the equivalent of a recovering fortnite addict's cluster of 5s criticising anything at all for being mundane/unengaging (which obvs does not go for you, but you know as well as anyone how the appeal of this thing sits against the rockdisaster pathos heroin of most music prominently platformed on sput, and i do not love seeing it get shorthanded courtesy of this)

normaloctagon
Contributing Reviewer
July 6th 2023


4057 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Couldn’t agree more Johnny. Those comments have gotten a big eyebrow raise from me and i ain’t even a simp for this record. Feels like sput completely missing the point of ambiance and aesthetic of non guitar music as per usual



Also you have to love mkmusic not only misidentifying this as hyped but using a word like “mundane” to describe an album that is fantastically ethereal. Boi needs a new thesaurus

PotsyTater
July 6th 2023


10100 Comments


Definitely not a deal breaker for me but a ceiling imposer for sure. I don’t know why good ~bliss out~ music shouldn’t encourage active enjoyment tho. I think there is a big difference between chilling out to ambient music but still ~listening~ and just forgetting you are listening to anything at all. I’m definitely not missing the point of ambiance, but the best ambient music is still memorable.

PotsyTater
July 6th 2023


10100 Comments


And this isn’t straight up ambient anyways so the metric isn’t quite the same to begin with

PotsyTater
July 6th 2023


10100 Comments


I think this is argument is a really convenient way to dismiss some valid critiques

Kompys2000
Emeritus
July 6th 2023


9471 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ambient is a state of mind yo

pizzamachine
July 6th 2023


27349 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Electronic music rules, and this one is just aight. As far as the mood produced, the water in my ears distracted me rather than sucked me in.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy