Tenhi Valkama
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
TalonsOfFire
Emeritus
June 16th 2023


20969 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I’m not sure what their contemporaries would be, maybe Kauan who’ve mostly shed their metal sound at this point. Btw I was referring to them, not the first album by this group, on my first page comment.

This was solid as usual with some gorgeous musical passages, especially Valkama which was stunning. The vocals just take some getting used to for me since many of the comparable groups I listen to like Vali and Nest are instrumental.

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
June 16th 2023


60560 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

oh nice we're dictating other countries' folk traditions and relegating languages we don't speak to incoherence

DungeonBoy
June 16th 2023


9737 Comments


I like the vocals, they add to the pensiveness of their sound.

TalonsOfFire
Emeritus
June 16th 2023


20969 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I don’t mind vocals either and yeah they do fit the music.

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
June 16th 2023


60560 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

as a Sigur Ros diehard, you're really gonna imply that the role of vocals is to produce decipherable words?

Flugmorph
June 16th 2023


34361 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

johnny right on this one

TalonsOfFire
Emeritus
June 16th 2023


20969 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Usually that’s the case isn’t it, I mean it’s nice when you can hear the words being said by a singer. Sigur Ros play a completely different style of music than Tenhi with long instrumental passages, but yeah Jonsi’s voice and lyrics can irk me at times, especially on his solo albums. Tenhi might actually be a little better in general than their contemporaries with that now that I think about it, and Finnish is a beautiful language too.

cuervoww
June 18th 2023


56 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Hadn't listened to this kind of music before.

It really does sound like either a funeral or an angel coming back to earth.

Really solid album and Review.

bnelso55
June 18th 2023


1447 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I listened through this again today. It is definitely growing on me. Some parts could sit comfortably beside some of their best work. I may come to like this even more than Saivo.

Sowing
Moderator
June 19th 2023


43962 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

These vocals are hard for me to get into.

Sunnyvale
Staff Reviewer
June 19th 2023


5916 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

The title track is so gorgeous

Atari
Staff Reviewer
June 20th 2023


27975 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

glad you're loving it!



@Sowing, ah that's too bad. how do you feel about the music itself minus the vocals? they've always kind of helped elevate the mood and mysterious vibes for me but I get why some people aren't crazy about them

bnelso55
June 20th 2023


1447 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Although i personally like them and find them to be a good fit for the music, I can certainly understand the vocals not being to everyone's liking. I could see how the style could be an acquired taste.

cuervoww
June 24th 2023


56 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Best Tenhi Album?

Azazzel
June 24th 2023


937 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

If you like this kind of neo-folk with progish compositions and want just a little more metal influence (not cheese) check Heilung, Wardruna, and Vévaki

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
June 25th 2023


10742 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Great atmosphere, but the songs tend to blend towards the end.



This album will find its rightful place during the winter.

Pho3nix
June 25th 2023


1610 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This really isn't anything like Wardruna or Heilung imo, more akin to Kauan maybe, more than anything else.



Nest is also a good place to start with Finnish neofolk

bnelso55
June 25th 2023


1447 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Agreed on Nest. Woodsmoke is excellent, but Trail of the Unwary is particularly good.



As for this, I agree that it will be perfect winter listening.

TalonsOfFire
Emeritus
July 10th 2023


20969 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Beautiful record, just wish there was an instrumental version available as well. I went through a big dark folk marathon listen recently and made this playlist: https://open.spotify.com/playlist/0HWOXCtiSXnOYPHkJCQhQS?si=O-TC1icxSG2KtkFOKbr9Ag

Atari
Staff Reviewer
December 4th 2023


27975 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"As for this, I agree that it will be perfect winter listening."



confirmed





You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy