Enslaved Heimdal
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Muzz79
March 4th 2023


3094 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Early contender for AOTY

Flugmorph
March 4th 2023


34533 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

veldin my brother, we went on this journey together and didn't even know it. I also only knew a handful of records from them, mainly riitiir and in times, before early last year. I'm now convinced that this is easily one of the best discographies in all of metal. definitely has become my favorite black metal adjacent band through this.

Dimorphic
March 4th 2023


1383 Comments


Really excited to hear this. I love Enslaved so much.

Gonna put it on and just sit in Rocket League training, vibing out... As someone above said, not a bad album in 30 years!

Azog
March 4th 2023


1070 Comments


Back in the days, it was Vikingligr Veldi that lured me into black metal.

I still think of it as their highlight, Frost being a very close second.

Wasn't sold on Eld, tbh. Mardraum didn't do much for me either.

Below the Lights, Vertebrae, and Axioma Ethica Odini obviously, are by far my late era favourites.

And now I can safely add Heimdal to that list, as well.

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
March 4th 2023


18960 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Below the Lights was the album I listened to the most during my recent Enslaved loop. The third part of Heimdal's title track has a The Dead Stare vibe to it.

Flugmorph
March 4th 2023


34533 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

eld and madraum slap

Azog
March 4th 2023


1070 Comments


@Fernando: Nice! Will pay some extra attention to that.

@Flugmorph: If you like them, more power to you.

BigPleb
March 4th 2023


65798 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Kingdom is so damn good.

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
March 4th 2023


18960 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Especially that Oranssi Pazuzu-esque part

teamster
March 4th 2023


6245 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The multiple answers in here for everyone’s fav album just signifies how great this band is. HoFers …

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
March 4th 2023


18960 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

When I was going through the discography, it felt like I was listening to a completely different album than I remembered, which means my approach to the genre has changed quite a bit in the last few years, for better or worse hahah





Azog
March 4th 2023


1070 Comments


Amazing how significant they still are, even after 3 decades. Only very few bands can say the same.

Agreed with the review, in that Heimdal could be the beginning of a new era for Enslaved.

InfernalDeity
Contributing Reviewer
March 4th 2023


598 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

There arent bridges on this album. Its heimdal shooting you through another dimension lol. I still can't bring myself to rate this fucker yet because there is so much going on.

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
March 4th 2023


18960 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, it has a lot of stuff orbiting around it but it never loses its focus. That's songwriting prowess.

It feels that way, doesn't it, Azog? I'd be surprised if the lads go back to a more polished approach in the next one.

Eons
March 4th 2023


3770 Comments


i dont think this band has any truly bad albums

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
March 4th 2023


18960 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That's fact.

SacredSerenity
March 4th 2023


813 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I would like it more if the drummer didn't sing. I miss the vocals of their old keyboard player.

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
March 4th 2023


18960 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I feel the same way, if Herbrand Larsen were still on board my rating would probably be around 4.5

Flugmorph
March 4th 2023


34533 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Congelia is incredible.

NoHellsNoHeavens
March 4th 2023


265 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Best Enslaved album since RIITIIR.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy