In Flames Foregone
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Brabiz
February 10th 2023


2223 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Poor guy

Flugmorph
February 10th 2023


34591 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

letsgoooooo

Toondude10
February 10th 2023


15188 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I agree that Anders needs to ditch the clean vocals for the most part, dude sounds like he's channeling his inner Benjamin Burnley



other than that, yeah this was pretty decent. it's far from what we want from In Flames, but it's a step in the right direction.

DType
February 10th 2023


2726 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Choruses are stopping this from being a solid 3.5

starboystargirl
February 10th 2023


695 Comments


Yeah those clean choruses and screechy screams are ruining what would have been an otherwise excellent release. It's basically Come Clarity pt.2

frozencarl
February 10th 2023


1685 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

is Dialogue in B Flat Minor the heaviest In Flames riff???

gravityswitch
February 10th 2023


1944 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Come Clarity is way better. Like a million times.

DType
February 10th 2023


2726 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Million times [2]

mkmusic1995
Contributing Reviewer
February 10th 2023


1830 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great review Willie, looking forward to listening to this. I haven't hated their recent output but I'm excited to hear the classic sounding In Flames return

Jesuslaves
February 10th 2023


5027 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Come Clarity sucks ass

DType
February 10th 2023


2726 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Unbased take

ProphetNimd
February 10th 2023


230 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I had no idea Chris Broderick was in In Flames. I remember seeing that "betcha can't play this" video he had like 15 years ago and being super enamored with him, only to find out how aggressively mid of a player/writer he is outside of that. Act of Defiance is ass.



I'm liking this more than I thought I would but I still wouldn't put it up against anything pre-SoaPF. Anders' singing voice is just way overproduced for the sound they're going for.

gravityswitch
February 10th 2023


1944 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I don't know why but I thought we were talking about the guy from Jesu playing in IF and the mental image was hilarious

frozencarl
February 10th 2023


1685 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Willie, minor nitpick on the review: its Anders Friden, not Frieden. not a big deal, really, but to me personally it is. that name is revered. we must show him more respect if we want the redemption arc to continue.

ProphetNimd
February 10th 2023


230 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I don't know if this album is exactly proof of any redemption arc from Anders specifically, lol. It just sounds like Bjorn has got his mojo back for writing fun riffs and melodies. Anders brings this down.

Willie
Moderator
February 10th 2023


20216 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4 | Sound Off

--Come Clarity sucks ass--

Agreed. I originally called it a dumpster fire in the review, but I rolled it back a little since I was wanting to be positive about the new stuff.



--I remember seeing that "betcha can't play this" video he had like 15 years ago and being super enamored with him, only to find out how aggressively mid of a player/writer he is outside of that. Act of Defiance is ass.--

It turns out he has plenty of skill, but no feel or creativity to back it up. Being a hired gun isn't terrible, at least. It's still not a 9-5 job.



--Willie, minor nitpick on the review: its Anders Friden, not Frieden. not a big deal, really, but to me personally it is. that name is revered. we must show him more respect if we want the redemption arc to continue.--

Ha ha. I hear you, and I agree. Thanks for finding that.

Piripichotes
February 10th 2023


809 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

"Halo Effect isn't that much better than this tbh"



C'mon Kus, it is way better... it's obvious Halo Effect were having fun, Anders tried way too hard to follow suit, and failed.



"Broderick didn't have any input composition-wise Piripichotes, he only did solos"



He needs to choose his bands better then, because they all succ.

djaydjay
February 10th 2023


57 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

imo the problem is 100% on the production side. The cleans have way too many layers and are overproduced, making them sound like a (bad) pop singer. It doesn't fit with the songs.



And i say that as someone that actually enjoys Anders as a vocalist. They just need a producer that's willing to tell to stop that shit.



Piripichotes
February 10th 2023


809 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

"I don't know if this album is exactly proof of any redemption arc from Anders specifically, lol. It just sounds like Bjorn has got his mojo back for writing fun riffs and melodies. Anders brings this down."



this 100%

Piripichotes
February 10th 2023


809 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

"Yeah those clean choruses and screechy screams are ruining what would have been an otherwise excellent release."



I still don't get why Anders is trying to appeal to 20yr olds... they don't even listen to metal!!! He needs to lose the cleans, go full on retro mode pre-reroute era, and target the old school IF audience if he wants to make some money.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy