Opeth Morningrise
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
kalkwiese
June 14th 2019


5232 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

The Night and the Silent Water guys \m/

Digging: The Hirsch Effekt - Kollaps

Egarran
June 14th 2019


16350 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The live Roundhouse version is one of the best things that ever happened. Because bands usually don't play their early 10 minute compositions.

Trifolium
June 14th 2019


15746 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah, [2] to that (which is Sput's version of ''Amen'').

Every track here is perfect to me.

Lucman
June 14th 2019


4191 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Oo I need to watch that Roundhouse show. Haven't spun any of their live records yet. Shame on me.

Digging: Jeff Rosenstock - NO DREAM

Trifolium
June 29th 2019


15746 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

What a song. What an album.

Trifolium
June 29th 2019


15746 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Is it the ''The amaranth symbol'' moment, and the riffs surrounding it? Because that is one of the best Opeth moments for sure.

Trifolium
June 29th 2019


15746 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Oh, no it isn't but that one ruuuuules too agreed. Whole album is GOAT.

Trifolium
June 29th 2019


15746 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I meant this: https://youtu.be/Xvtmhxjc4ao?t=715

@11:55

Trifolium
June 29th 2019


15746 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

And then from 13.13 it starts to build up, and at 13.38 it reaches its climax, soooooo goooooood. That's the moment I meant, 13.38 onward. At 14.29 they repeat it on acoustic guitar. Jeesh.

Shadowmire
June 29th 2019


5977 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this is unironically the best opeth record

Trifolium
June 29th 2019


15746 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

On many days I agree with that.

Trifolium
June 29th 2019


15746 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Haha, I knew you would say that!

This, MAYH and GR are forever taking turns for me (and sometimes Heritage takes it, I know, blasphemy). But it is always one of those 3 (...4)

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
June 29th 2019


25630 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

The bass on this definitely amazing, had forgotten that somehow. Don't think I've been struck by the bass on any pre-Heritage album after this...

Digging: Everything But the Girl - Walking Wounded

Shadowmire
June 29th 2019


5977 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah, you are right on the mark - the bass in this and Orchid is outstanding and never again until the current era

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
June 29th 2019


25630 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

They definitely refined their sound into something more palatable, but I think that progression served them better than indulging in this sound for too long. Not that this isn't great, but it has so many rough edges that I can't see them growing as songwriters and repeating the same sounds

Demon of the Fall
June 29th 2019


16137 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

@Kaiwaz: Still Life though?... I do dearly love this early era mind, untouchable. Having said that GR ain’t half bad and stands up as one of their best, even if it wasn’t strictly providing us with anything new.

Digging: Amon Tobin - Adventures In Foam

Demon of the Fall
June 29th 2019


16137 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I prefer to just appreciate what we have, if I could replace a later release, let’s say Deliverance (for instance) with a continuation of the Morningrise sound, of course I would. Unfortunately it doesn’t work like that. Maybe we wouldn’t have had this great discog to choose from, maybe they wouldn’t have continued to be so consistent.

Nothing wrong with having preferences but the continual development of their sound and progressive tendencies are mostly a strength not a weakness.

What you’re contemplating just might not be as incredible as it appears, in reality we just don’t know.

Trifolium
June 29th 2019


15746 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Heritage has amazing bass playing, agreed. And this one too of course.

Egarran
June 29th 2019


16350 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

We got Deliverance with Wilson sound though, that was pretty good.

Demon of the Fall
June 29th 2019


16137 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Deliverance just kind of sucks I’m afraid, well on the Opethian scale anyway, which is a lot harsher of course.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy