Alvvays Blue Rev
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
robertsona
Staff Reviewer
June 6th 2024


27643 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

They got better and better but yah they were always good. Party police>archie

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
June 6th 2024


27643 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Check chad vangaalen’s infiniheart if you like the debut he produced it

tectactoe
June 7th 2024


7439 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

'"marry me archie" almost sucks a bit'



you're dead to me

Demon of the Fall
June 10th 2024


34284 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

for all the infectious hooks which have wormed their way into my consciousness over whatever time I spent away from this, they have a surprisingly diverse repertoire of ideas here. Easy to overlook

theBoneyKing
June 10th 2024


24512 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yes, this is an album that keeps on giving. Paste put it in their recent top 300 albums of all time list. I’m not sure about that, but this is definitely one of the best indie albums of the 20s so far.

Demon of the Fall
June 10th 2024


34284 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That certainly seems like a reasonable take (yours, not theirs... theirs is maybe too wild!)

Occasionally I get a yearning for some immediate sugar rush indie-pop goodness (strange development), yet am rarely able to unearth anything that has slightly longer term appeal

...but we may have something here. Thinking of bumping!

Cormano
June 10th 2024


4170 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"Party police>archie"





best take on the entire site





Slex
June 10th 2024


16647 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Still best album of the decade so far

MeatSalad
June 10th 2024


18637 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Es really good



Their other stuff hasn't hit quite the same for me unfortunately

Slex
June 10th 2024


16647 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Really love the one before this too, debut is okay but nothing special

SmurkinGherkin
June 10th 2024


2208 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Party place is where it's at, agreed



Nostalgia still gives debut the edge for me I think



All their albums are great in their own ways though

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
June 10th 2024


47726 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

dreams tonite >>>>>

SmurkinGherkin
June 10th 2024


2208 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^ was that featured in a movie or something? Always wondered why it has so many plays on Spotify compared with all their other stuff

AmericanFlagAsh
June 11th 2024


13390 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I would put this in the top 10 of the decade so far so I don't think Paste's take is that wild

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
June 11th 2024


27643 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

modern classic

Gyromania
June 11th 2024


37188 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Tile By Tile is the jam

Gyromania
June 11th 2024


37188 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Might bump my rating, enjoying this more now than I did in ‘22. And it makes their debut look like generic indie pop by comparison

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
June 11th 2024


27643 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I LOVE when the second chorus hits in tile by tile, though I'm not a huge fan of the string-wash breakdown section right after. once in a while they have this issue: I kind of think the slowdown on "after the earthquake" stops the momentum in a way that doesn't quite work

neekafat
Staff Reviewer
June 11th 2024


26307 Comments

Album Rating: 4.8

Was just gonna say this is AOTD so far so good on Paste

Demon of the Fall
June 12th 2024


34284 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I wouldn't argue with that. Easily the best album of its ilk I've heard in quite some time. Peeked Antisocialites a couple of times and it doesn't quite hit the same (yet?) but a pretty good template regardless

not sure if I will do the debut or not reading the comments



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy