Kendrick Lamar Mr. Morale and the Big Steppers
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Odal
Staff Reviewer
May 15th 2024


2100 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Idk, I think you're underestimating the situation and how the culture has shifted.



Drake has a huge spotlight on him now and I don't think it goes away in a single news cycle. Family Matters went only number 7 and everyone clowned on him for the heart part 6. People in his circle like Akademiks are actually getting brought down, and the weeks to follow will surely have a bunch of drama/true crime influencers making content about all Drake's sus interactions.



I am not saying he's gonna disappear completely or anything, but I think it's crazy to just handwave away where things are at

jrlikestodance
May 15th 2024


782 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You know it's bad when even Ak isn't backing up his man 100%

AlexKzillion
May 15th 2024


17315 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

kendrick on 6:16 in la:



"Yeah, somebody's lyin', I can see the vibes on Ak

Even he lookin' compromised, let's peel the layers back"



two weeks later: https://www.rollingstone.com/culture/culture-news/dj-akademiks-sued-rape-defamation-ziya-abashe-1235019646/



lmao

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
May 15th 2024


27508 Comments


I bet my girlfriend $50 that Drake's next album goes #1. Seemed like an easy bet.

AlexKzillion
May 15th 2024


17315 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

honestly fascinated to how drake's next couple years play out. can't remember when we've seen an artist at his level so clearly at a crossroads like this.



dude has dropped an album's worth of new material like every year since 2015... does he finally take a break? how long?



will his next album be the same 90 minutes of slop he always drops anymore with the sole purpose of going #1? or will he actually make an album with something to say?



maybe he goes full pop/r&b and stops rapping all together. maybe he goes moves on to the 50 cent/jay-z "mogul" chapter of his career and kinda stops making music at all.



feel like he'll prob occupy the same sorta zone eminem has been in since like 2012. still drops music, still always goes #1, still maintains a huge international fanbase... but is very much seen as past his prime and ultimately kinda removed from modern hip hop discourse.

DarkSideOfLucca
May 15th 2024


17633 Comments


If Drake doesn't get arrested, I think it's best if he lays low for a while.

Then comes out with his general pop/club bangers, but nothing too offensive.

It would be a REALLY bad idea to start beef with anyone like ever again for him.

With Pusah T, that changed his entire family life. With Kendrick, it could be possible jail time if authorities actually take this seriously and it turns into something real ala Hannibal/Cosby

Odal
Staff Reviewer
May 15th 2024


2100 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Tbh, reading between the lines it seems like his deals that he has in place between his music and Stake basically requires him to drop a project every year. I would expect something in the fall, though it's probably gonna be packaged as another playlist or collection rather than album.



It will be interesting to see how everything plays out because For All the Dogs did actually have a much more vocal backlash than most of his projects. People were kinder to Her Loss and Honestly Nevermind simply because they were seen as those lower-effort projects where as For All the Dogs was billed as his next album. Even before this feud, people were getting tired of Drake and now there are some rather serious allegations to attach those feelings to.



I have no doubt that his next album will go number one -even Kanye managed to do that lol- but I think we could definitely see a significant dropoff compared to what he used to do. His songs do numbers still, but their shelf life is pretty short. He needs an actual hit with legs like he used to

DarkSideOfLucca
May 15th 2024


17633 Comments


Ugh, fucking Kanye.

Somebody punt that man out of the Earth's atmosphere, I never want to hear from that piece of shit again.

JeetJeet
May 15th 2024


12224 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Drake's core fan base will never let him fail. His public image however is so stained now, and that's a huge part of what makes Drake Drake. He'll probably keep making the same album he's been making since Take Care but I strongly doubt he'll still remain the top guy.

JeetJeet
May 15th 2024


12224 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

or maybe I'm wrong and the general public who's been dancing in clubs to a song calling him a pedo will eat his next shit up like ol times

TheArtofTheGanja
May 15th 2024


411 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

If Kanye can still put out a #1 album after literally gushing about how much he loves Hitler I think Drake can recover from a #1 song calling him a pedo, but he's not gonna be smashing streaming records anymore probably

DarkSideOfLucca
May 15th 2024


17633 Comments


The fact that Kanye put out a #1 album after all that shit repulses me.

If the shit about Drake is genuinely true and he still tops the charts my love for humanity will be in the fucking toilet, even moreso than it already is.

Ugh. Humans.

AlexKzillion
May 15th 2024


17315 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

i don't think kanye is the most apt comparison to this



kanye had been cultivating one of the most diehard fanbases in music for over a decade before the nazi stuff.



drake's base is way more populist by comparison. he's way more jay than ye

Odal
Staff Reviewer
May 15th 2024


2100 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

yeah, like I'm not gonna stick up for Kanye as a person but he has cultivated enough fanfare that Music People actually appreciated/formerly appreciated. His diehards are far more ravenous because he's seen as an innovator in music and fashion. It's to the point where plenty of people wanted to check out his stuff after he outed himself as a far right weirdo, if even out of curiosity because he has had such a sprawling, boundary-pushing collection of work.



Drake's whole thing is that he is palatable and digestible. Everyone agrees that he has essentially be phoning it in for close to a decade now. His projects strike hot with a strong opening week and then fizzle out. His songs do numbers, but have little cultural impact. Nothing from his last few projects have really stuck around in the public consciousness. He's got a shakier foundation to fall back on as his artistry has fallen in favor of quanitity.

Odal
Staff Reviewer
May 15th 2024


2100 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

https://www.vibe.com/news/entertainment/dj-akademiks-addresses-rape-lawsuit-response-1234878654/



this does not sound good for Drake lmao

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
May 15th 2024


10227 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Jesus



Drake probably gonna respond like seeee, I told you, we’re not PDF files, just abusers, no biggie

AlexKzillion
May 15th 2024


17315 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

ak absolutely has nukes like that but i absolutely do not believe he has the balls to drop them

rufinthefury
May 15th 2024


3993 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

KENDRICK JUST OPENED HIS MOUTH



SOMEONE GO HAND HIM HIS GRAMMY RIGHT NOW

DarkSideOfLucca
May 15th 2024


17633 Comments


Yeah I think I'm around Drake's age and unless that 14 year old is my niece, I can't imagine EVER wanting to stay in contact with someone that age - so if nothing else gets revealed of him actually engaging in activity, it's just beyond creepy already

Shit just makes me squirm

neekafat
Staff Reviewer
May 15th 2024


26231 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

“ If Kanye can still put out a #1 album after literally gushing about how much he loves Hitler I think Drake can recover from a #1 song calling him a pedo”

This is sounding like election coverage now



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy