IDLES Crawler
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
tectactoe
November 23rd 2021


7439 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I shouldn’t have said “worst” - “My least favorite” is probably more accurate.

Demon of the Fall
November 23rd 2021


34304 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I don't really understand the acclaim with these guys but that's a bold call. Most enduringly middling would be a more understandable stance. I just can't imagine feeling strongly about these guys, well unless you give the lyrics to Ultra Mono added weight - which are sometimes rather off-putting.

tectactoe
November 23rd 2021


7439 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Their whole attitude seems like a blatant facade to me - none of the spunk is really organic, and considering that’s about 95% of their shtick, listening to their songs can be rather unappetizing. Talent is there, surely, it just isn’t for me, I think.

Demon of the Fall
November 23rd 2021


34304 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Not a fan of their schtick either, but some of that may be projection/misunderstanding (idk that would require actually looking into them, i.e. effort). Certainly smells funky though.

fogza
Contributing Reviewer
November 23rd 2021


9893 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I actually don't mind this album, but whenever I think of listening to Idles, I just listen to Future of the Left instead

DoofDoof
November 23rd 2021


15248 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Some of their lyrics have made me laugh quite a lot on the first spin and that has to count for something

fogza
Contributing Reviewer
November 23rd 2021


9893 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

no that's fair enough, although sometimes it feels like they're trying a bit too hard with the lyrics, whereas FOTL mostly seems effortless. perhaps that's why idles doesn't get a lot of replay with me.

DoofDoof
November 23rd 2021


15248 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Oh yeah don’t get me wrong - Model Village on the last album was probably the cringiest set of lyrics of the last ten years of popular song

DoofDoof
November 23rd 2021


15248 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The way he sings ‘you look like you’re from Love Island’ on Man with a Perm I remember creasing me the first time I listened to it, couldn’t hold back a little snort sitting on the bus



It was just the long build up to that point through the whole song

fogza
Contributing Reviewer
November 23rd 2021


9893 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

but even from their tracks that people love like "never fight a man with a perm", I don't like the lead in to the chorus, the line about the penchant for smokes, like it's too wordy for that part of the song. they have lots of moments like that that just sort of deflate things for me.

DoofDoof
November 23rd 2021


15248 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, they’re not amazing song writers



The lyrics aren’t that great written down either whereas say, Sleaford Mods lyrics are often still genius written down - the delivery sells the better lines when it comes to this band



Decent mid tier group for me but something disposable about them, don’t see their stuff ageing well

fogza
Contributing Reviewer
November 23rd 2021


9893 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah idles aren't awful, i just feel that even bands that are not as good as others sometimes do one thing a bit better or differently which makes you wanna spin them, but i've decided idles don't really do that for me

Demon of the Fall
November 23rd 2021


34304 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

'no that's fair enough, although sometimes it feels like they're trying a bit too hard with the lyrics, whereas FOTL mostly seems effortless. perhaps that's why idles doesn't get a lot of replay with me'

Bingo. FOTL have a somewhat harder 'edge' to their music as well, but that's definitely a factor.

DoofDoof
November 23rd 2021


15248 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Not a massive fan of FOTL from the two albums I’ve tried - another 3.5 band for me, would put them a little behind Idles

fogza
Contributing Reviewer
November 23rd 2021


9893 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

oh I love them, at the very least they blow idles totally out of the water

Demon of the Fall
November 23rd 2021


34304 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Definitely. Great live band too, seen them numerous times.

Flugmorph
November 23rd 2021


34536 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

fotl fuck

Coldplaz
November 24th 2021


204 Comments


It's funny how quickly the hype for this band died out
Even Fantano doesn't like them anymore

Flugmorph
November 24th 2021


34536 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah the hipsters jumped off

good

StickFeit
November 25th 2021


2272 Comments


Their loss



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy