Be'lakor Coherence
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Steiner
April 17th 2022


102 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"...they are the most relevant melodic DM band of the last couple of years, in my opinion..."



Agreed. Insomnium haven't released anything pioneering and powerful in almost 8 years now. The Winter Metal crown really belongs to Be'lakor. In terms of the competition, it's been about 10 years since Omnium Gatherum have been a contender and about 20 years since Kalmah even had a seat at the table. There's a few honorable mentions like Norther, Daylight Dies and Enter My Silence but I can barely see them in the rear view mirror anymore.

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
April 17th 2022


18960 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

I hope Kalmah release something soon, I love those guys. Despite being stylistically different, Canadians Aeternam are among the best melodic DM bands out there.

Steiner
April 19th 2022


102 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Me too. I miss their swamp-themed sound. I'll have to check out Aeternam. Been on a bit of French Canadian kick lately so that'll tie-in nicely. Thanks for the rec.

teamster
April 21st 2022


6245 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great conversion gentlemen. May I suggest my other favorite mdm band on the planet:



Fractal Gates



Best growls in the business. Check out Enshine for more of Sebastian Pierre’s incredible vox.

Steiner
April 22nd 2022


102 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great call. Fractal Gates is pretty good. Totally forgot about them.

Muzz79
April 26th 2022


3094 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

For those of us in Australia. From the band:



That's right, we're finally hitting the road again! The first leg of our 'Coherence' tour run is in Australia this August!



With special guests Orpheus Omega & Andy Gillion (playing his debut shows), we will be hitting the following cities:



- Saturday 6 August: Lion Arts Factory, Adelaide (18+)

- Friday 12 August: The Brightside, Brisbane (18+)*

- Saturday 20 August: Corner Hotel, Melbourne (18+)

- Friday 26 August: The Basement, Canberra (18+)

- Saturday 27 August: Crowbar, Sydney (18+)

*Orpheus Omega & Andy Gillion not appearing in Brisbane



We can't wait to see you at these shows!



Grab your tickets here: www.destroyalllines.com/tours/belakor

Muzz79
April 26th 2022


3094 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Notrap does a lot of these tour announcements but I'm on the Be'lakor emailing list and just received this announcement m/

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
April 26th 2022


18960 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

The lads have to come to my country asap

Ectier
April 26th 2022


2733 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Finally getting an Aus tour yessssss.

Steiner
April 27th 2022


102 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Excellent lineup! Going to be interesting to hear MPE's new material post-Andy Gillion BTW. Those remasters of old material don't count. Band owes him an incredible debt of gratitude for keeping their name and brand relevant+++

Muzz79
April 28th 2022


3094 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah dude, should be great. Locus came on in the car today and cranked it up. Fck Me

XfingTheSullen
May 8th 2022


5270 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

" Insomnium haven't released anything pioneering and powerful in almost 8 years now."



wdym winter's gate was probably their best album ever lol. I always thought Insomnium were mad overrated, but then this album came out and I was like... wow

FreudsPocketCanoe
May 11th 2022


104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Winter's Gate has its moments, but it's 1/4 stunning, 3/4 mediocrity. The consistency, memorable melodies and overall better writing of Above the Weeping World are long gone.

Steiner
May 12th 2022


102 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Markus Vanhala contributed on Shadows of the Dying Sun but I've always felt like Winter's Gate is the first Insomnium album completely covered in his fingerprints. For some that's a good thing. For others it's not.



"...Despite being stylistically different, Canadians Aeternam are among the best melodic DM bands out there"



Checked out Aeternam. Super talented and unique. I could do without the cleans but they are definitely 100% original.

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
July 30th 2022


18960 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

The lads will be returning to Europe next year and already have a confirmed show in early August in Portugal at VAGOS Metal Fest. They're one of the few bands that can make me get my ass off the couch.

StormChaser
July 30th 2022


2156 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

hot take but also true Winter's Gate is the best melodic death metal album ever

Muzz79
July 30th 2022


3094 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Be’lakor > imo

DType
July 30th 2022


2721 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Excellent as expected, maybe not as stunning as the previous one but still really solid

Muzz79
August 30th 2022


3094 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The lads filled the room the other night and crushed m//

The Dispersion

Foothold

Remnants

Sun’s Delusion

Valence

The Smoke of Many Fires

Abeyance

Fraught

Countless Skies

GhostShelter
August 30th 2022


991 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great album. I own the VINYL CAUSE IM COOL.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy