Papangu Holoceno
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
dedex
Staff Reviewer
August 18th 2021


12788 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1 | Sound Off

Cool rev yay! Jamming rn, it's a nice blend of many rad things

Demon of the Fall
August 18th 2021


34813 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Magma is leaving me cold thus far, I daren't actually enter their threads so here I am. Bummer.

DDDeftoneDDD
August 18th 2021


22550 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

It's tough, peculiar, and perhaps ugly listen. It's more about creating those textures you know. Only Mekanïk Destruktiw felt a little more solid as whole I think.



Awesome Dedex got into this!

Demon of the Fall
August 18th 2021


34813 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The vocal style is really hard to appreciate for me. At times it feels like relentless operatic chanting and I'm just yearning for an instrumental section to kick in.



Listening to: 'Mekanïk Destruktiw Kommandoh' by the way.

DDDeftoneDDD
August 18th 2021


22550 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Also the language in Magma is invented (that's where the word zeuhl came from anyway)

dedex
Staff Reviewer
August 18th 2021


12788 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1 | Sound Off

these mad lads



"hey let's create a language"

"aye dope pass the boof now will ya"

CottonSalad
August 18th 2021


2467 Comments


This is the performance that hooked me on Magma:

https://youtu.be/xjYnuhIlnIU


Most of their best documented material is live (have seen them twice and can confirm the atmosphere is incredible)

CottonSalad
August 18th 2021


2467 Comments


Will definitely check this album.

DDDeftoneDDD
August 18th 2021


22550 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

"these mad lads" we were talking about the band Magma from the 70's. This is straight Portuguese with Brazil accent.



@CottonSalad: Definitely Check this!



dedex
Staff Reviewer
August 18th 2021


12788 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1 | Sound Off

oh yeah was talking about them too DDD!

DDDeftoneDDD
August 18th 2021


22550 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

oh shit my bad then, sorry m/

dedex
Staff Reviewer
August 18th 2021


12788 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1 | Sound Off

m/ brutha



dedex
Staff Reviewer
September 1st 2021


12788 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1 | Sound Off

let's bump this sweet weirdo mf

DDDeftoneDDD
September 1st 2021


22550 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Lá, garanto que tem pouso m/m/

Elynna
September 4th 2021


1449 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is great! I half-expected a jumbled mess before diving in, but it's a surprisingly cohesive record despite all the different influences.

LeddSledd
September 20th 2021


7444 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thought zeuhl metal would be tryhard spork, turns out it rocks and it's also Portuguese



gud stuff

Gwyn.
October 19th 2021


17270 Comments


Oh my god!! I didn't think this would have a review at all! Good job for reviewing it, this is excellent

MiloRuggles
Staff Reviewer
October 19th 2021


3067 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

'tis the biz

Got me on a zeuhl kick. Check out Koenjii Hyakkei, they cool

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
October 19th 2021


32073 Comments


"Check out Koenjii Hyakkei, they cool" [2]

Still gotta check this, fvck

combustion07
October 19th 2021


12822 Comments


This thing is wild and very far from what I had anticipated upon seeing the artwork



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy