Lucy Dacus Home Video
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Atari
Staff Reviewer
June 30th 2021


26875 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Blush, oh ffs...



haha, cheers bud! just changing it to "diminish" :3



also I agree about Please Stay but I resisted the temptation to talk about Phoebe/Julien as I wanted to make this one all about Lucy. it's her moment imo.. kinda feel like the other 2 artists already hit their peak and she's still slowly revealing her greatness

Digging: Maxo Kream - Weight Of The World

Feather
June 30th 2021


7415 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"it's her moment imo.. kinda feel like the other 2 artists already hit their peak and she's still slowly revealing her greatness"



I hope Phoebe hasn't hit her peak and can keep coasting where shes at, but I agree, this album is what has finally made Lucy click for me.

WatchItExplode
June 30th 2021


9344 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Of the three Boygenius members, Lucy Dacus seems destined to end up on top.



this is what I've been sayin'...

Digging: Floating Cloud Music - Love is a Burning Building That Will Suffocate Us

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
June 30th 2021


21650 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Please Stay" / "Favor" / "Graceland Too" make a beautifully devastating trilogy if you listen to them back to back

mvdu
June 30th 2021


969 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

One of the albums of the year IMO. If you like female singer songwriters as I do, this one is special. Nice review and thanks for it.

AmericanFlagAsh
June 30th 2021


10469 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

This is underrated af



Thumbs… phew

Digging: Magdalena Bay - Mercurial World

Colton
July 1st 2021


12802 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this has some pretty simple yet groovy and catchy song structures for this type of album but Lucy doesn't do much herself to be compelling as a singer or narrator

Sowing
Moderator
July 1st 2021


39348 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah this is starting to grow now. She brings something a little different than Phoebe or Julien that's a little more straightforward, but the lyrics and vocals are great (and not overproduced) so I could see this being one of those albums I become attached to for the emotional/lyrical component. I revisited Historian this morning though, and I still think that's the superior record.

Digging: Biffy Clyro - The Myth of the Happily Ever After

theBoneyKing
July 1st 2021


20895 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I like this, but a bit less than Historian methinks. That one struck a better balance of lyrics/storytelling and compelling music than this one, which relies more heavily on just lyrics/vocals and while Dacus is a good lyricist I still find her vocals and melodies a tad pedestrian much of the time. The variety of styles here is nice though, keeps it from getting boring as often happens with modern lyric-focused singer/songwriters.

Digging: Neil Young - Rust Never Sleeps

AmericanFlagAsh
July 1st 2021


10469 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

The lyrics on this one are so fucking good, but yeah no highs like Night Shift which is a 5/5 song for me. Still like this album more overall.

botb
July 1st 2021


14822 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

My homie joe played guitar on historian and promptly was given the boot afterwards for “not having the right look” haha

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
July 1st 2021


21650 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah Colton I think she has a great voice but doesn't use it as well as she could

WatchItExplode
July 1st 2021


9344 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

All criticism I have seen is valid but still leads me to the belief that she is going to release something truly monumental in the near future.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
July 1st 2021


26875 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

gonna have to revisit Historian tomorrow! I have a feeling I'll appreciate it more than I used to

mvdu
July 1st 2021


969 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Me too. I also enjoyed Historian a lot but need to listen again.



I think her vocals and lyrics are key on this album. Because besides the fuzz parts, the arrangements and melodies let her vocals/lyrics take center stage.

AmericanFlagAsh
July 1st 2021


10469 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I can’t get over how hard Thumbs hits. As a home of sexual who doesn’t have supportive parents.

WatchItExplode
July 1st 2021


9344 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Please proofread dictated texts ash. Our EASL users are getting migraines.

Colton
July 1st 2021


12802 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"My homie joe played guitar on historian and promptly was given the boot afterwards for “not having the right look” haha"



wait what



BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
July 2nd 2021


3778 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The more I listen to this, the more I appreciate her songwriting and the sonic variance, the less I'm convinced by her lyrics.

theBoneyKing
July 2nd 2021


20895 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I guess I would say she’s a good storyteller but not a super remarkable lyricist.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy