Gojira Fortitude
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Mythodea
May 4th 2021


6127 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@Shemson, Yes, I get your point completely.



I still don't know if it was a coincidence that the first album I properly listened to was the first majorly different one (Magma) or if it was because of that change that I felt I could approach (although I was familiar with heavy stuff at the time).



Thing is, I am okay with both their older and newer stuff for different reasons. It's not like we're talking Opeth-levels of change anyway.

Nocte
Staff Reviewer
May 4th 2021


14082 Comments

Album Rating: 2.7

Magma wasn't watered down tbh. Different? Fuck yes, but it wasn't the hyperbolic shame that most fans gave it. The dog may have gone to the vet, but it didn't come back deseeded on that one.



--It's not like we're talking Opeth-levels of change anyway.--



This is a good point.

Digging: ACAUSAL INTRUSION - Nulitas

Flugmorph
May 4th 2021


24058 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Can’t wait to listen to the one with the whales and planets and shit on it"



lets goooooooooo

DivergentThinking
Contributing Reviewer
May 4th 2021


9518 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Gojira - Whalez n Stuff (2005)

gravityswitch
May 4th 2021


513 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

First time listening to Gojira since FMTS. Production is weird but it's surprisingly good.

DDDeftoneDDD
May 4th 2021


17316 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Listened to Magma for the first time today.. the fuck is everybody shitting on it? This band is genius. Can’t wait to listen to the one with the whales and planets and shit on it"

@Stickfeit

maaaa maaaaan!

Digging: Archgoat - The Luciferian Crown

DaveT0738
May 4th 2021


2594 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"Can’t wait to listen to the one with the whales and planets and shit on it"



So... you have chosen going apeshit

gravityswitch
May 4th 2021


513 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Backbone still \m/

DaveT0738
May 4th 2021


2594 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Absolutely crushing agreed

Mythodea
May 4th 2021


6127 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I listened to Remembrance from The Link, because of their Red Rocks live, and I can say, it was pretty good.

DivergentThinking
Contributing Reviewer
May 4th 2021


9518 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Remembrance fuckin' rules man

DaveT0738
May 4th 2021


2594 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Inward Movement too, M A S S I V E groove there

DDDeftoneDDD
May 4th 2021


17316 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I EMBRACE

THE WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOORLD

DaveT0738
May 4th 2021


2594 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Amazonia's weakest point it's definitely the chorus, the rest is great

DaveT0738
May 4th 2021


2594 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I think i like The Chant now, it feels like an honest track

peartnoy
May 4th 2021


1497 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Nobody talking about The Trails but it's one of my favorites. Reminds me of Born in Winter which is never a bad thing. Love the mood and vocal delivery on it, it's really quite beautiful.

DaveT0738
May 4th 2021


2594 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"Nobody talking about The Trails"



I have been, one of my favorites too here

peartnoy
May 4th 2021


1497 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Favorites so far are Grind, Born for One Thing, New Found and The Trails I think. Rest is decent except The Chant I can't stand it. The main hook isn't bad but it's sooooo repetitive.

gravityswitch
May 4th 2021


513 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Guss I should check Magma if I like this

DaveT0738
May 4th 2021


2594 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The best thing about The Trails and Grind are the closing parts, really memorable, but i fear that the highs on this album aren't strong enough to bump this beyond a 3, i don't feel like revisiting this that much in the future, solid but not amazing by any mean



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy