Gojira Fortitude
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
kzy
May 1st 2021


61 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

2 Times they using "Clown" pattern from Terra Incognita in this album, first on "Hold On", second on "Sphinx".

parksungjoon
May 1st 2021


31336 Comments


you mean clone?

Digging: Make a Change...Kill Yourself - II

Tundra
May 1st 2021


5992 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Gojira's Fortnite is a mixed bag to say the least

Digging: Hail the Sun - New Age Filth

kalkwiese
May 1st 2021


7070 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing boing

Tundra
May 1st 2021


5992 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"but it all is just kinda bland"

Tbh I think every Gojira album is pretty bland, it's just like if you have the simplest meal every day, its just riffs served on a silver platter, take it or leave it. Gojira has never been mindblowingly technical imo, besides maybe the drums I guess, but the meat and potatoes riffs they do make are usually satisfying to listen to, they have a knack for it, but they are definitely starting to lose that knack, as seen on Fortitude

parksungjoon
May 1st 2021


31336 Comments


mario used to kill it for sure

DivergentThinking
Contributing Reviewer
May 1st 2021


9489 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Yeah, this is the first Gojira album where it seems like Mario's fully taking a backseat, which is really disappointing

parksungjoon
May 1st 2021


31336 Comments


its been gradual starting with sausage tbh

parksungjoon
May 1st 2021


31336 Comments


used to love that album tho

DivergentThinking
Contributing Reviewer
May 1st 2021


9489 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

That's true. I'm a bit surprised that I once reviewed Elephant Sausage as a 4.5, because it's one of my least favorite albums by them now. Definitely a downgrade from WOAF



I was probably just on the hype train back then more than anything

parksungjoon
May 1st 2021


31336 Comments


kinda same, though i really did enjoy it a lot back then

still has two or three choice cuts but also a lot of meh

Nocte
Staff Reviewer
May 1st 2021


14080 Comments

Album Rating: 2.7

--It’s quite strange that Duplantier is the same person who produced Way of All Flesh, as Fortitude has none of the same weight, atmosphere, or clarity in its mix.--



I feel this so much. Great review, I would've liked a little more analysis on the sweeping themes here (nature is good/people are bad etc) but you've basically covered everything we'd conversed about in the contrib/staff chat.



Personally, this has a few great moments and a lot of 'meh' sections wrapped up in a flat production that randomly chooses what to bury. That "boing/dong" of "Amazonia" is a grower but holy fuck is that title track useless.

Digging: ACAUSAL INTRUSION - Nulitas

parksungjoon
May 1st 2021


31336 Comments


>I would've liked a little more analysis on the sweeping themes here (nature is good/people are bad etc)

theyve been banging on about that shit for most their career now though no?

DivergentThinking
Contributing Reviewer
May 1st 2021


9489 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Thanks Nocte! Yeah, I might add another paragraph at some point talking about the band's campaigning and all that, as I know they've been promoting that a lot lately... or even more than usual lol

Tundra
May 1st 2021


5992 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

t/t and The Chant are hard skippers every time yeah haha, I agree that the song would probably be more effective live like someone else on here said. I was tempted to make a "death of the guitar solo" discussion but then this album has some guitar solos, but they hardly count imo. You see I feel like chugging has almost entirely overthrown guitar soloing in this era of modern metal, I just thought it was an interesting discussion point I started picking up on. This is neither good nor bad though imo, just comes down to preference really.

Nocte
Staff Reviewer
May 1st 2021


14080 Comments

Album Rating: 2.7

--theyve been banging on about that shit for most their career now though no?--



I guess so, but I'm sure there's a joke to be made about a campaigning for whales lives and not cutting down trees. The main point of bringing that up was more of a "did these guys sell world peace good?" or did they have their dicks out in the rain?

parksungjoon
May 1st 2021


31336 Comments


fair enough! im never against providing more context anyway.. in fact it could be said that some of my own reviews are more context than review..

>I was tempted to make a "death of the guitar solo" discussion

not all metal has those lol

DivergentThinking
Contributing Reviewer
May 1st 2021


9489 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

What's strange is the fact that this album has more guitar solos than any other Gojira record

valek
May 1st 2021


124 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Mixed feelings on this one, I like it enough to be around 3/3.5 but I need listen to it more, there are at least 3 songs that are really weak but the rest is fine tho, let's see if it grows or not.

DDDeftoneDDD
May 1st 2021


17311 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I agree with the summary

Digging: Castevet - Obsian



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy