Manchester Orchestra The Million Masks of God
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
SowingSeason
Moderator
April 26th 2021


37553 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I initially felt the same way you do about 'Keel Timing'. It's still not one of the album's best songs in my opinion, however certain parts really flourish now: that "ooo-ooo-oooh" after "So hold me down, yeah all I do is repeat myself", and then the way it swells to that final verse "Now I’m awake and I don’t know how". It sort of is a prequel to 'Bed Head' in a lot of ways, but that's certainly the better of the two tracks.



Regardless, I feel like the whole electronic demonry thing they had going on in the percussion of those two songs is a red herring; the album is like a happier Black Mile and sounds the part of that record and/or Simple Math -- sleek, glistening, epic.

Digging: St. Vincent - Daddy's Home

Pheromone
Contributing Reviewer
April 26th 2021


14212 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

sowing would you ban me if i 1'd this rn

Digging: Baxter Dury - The Night Chancers

JayEnder
April 26th 2021


9821 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hey now, its a nice looking sphere.

SowingSeason
Moderator
April 26th 2021


37553 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

@Pheremone: https://thumbs.gfycat.com/AnotherValidBronco-max-1mb.gif

nolerthebowler
April 26th 2021


8961 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The album art whips tbh, look at the acsending folk deep in the sphere

nolerthebowler
April 26th 2021


8961 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I really don’t see why KT sounding like bed head is turning people off. They are clearly supposed to be a 1-2 punch, consecutive album tracks. You could even tell that from the single. I can’t listen to bed head WITHOUT kt.

SowingSeason
Moderator
April 26th 2021


37553 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"They are clearly supposed to be a 1-2 punch, consecutive album tracks. You could even tell that from the single. I can’t listen to bed head WITHOUT kt."

Now get ready to feel that way about the entire album. There are no tracks that stand out like 'The Silence' or 'Lead, SD' - this doesn't have peaks and valleys, it's just one experience where every song relies on the others. I quoted Andy in my review because I felt like it was so apt: "It’s best served as a whole thing. The album’s the song."

nolerthebowler
April 26th 2021


8961 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Good, I was hoping that would be the case from the vibe of the singles. With you also saying there are more intimate moments to complement the bombastic-ness of the singles, I’m officially excited.

SowingSeason
Moderator
April 26th 2021


37553 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

It's actually very lush, and I think the main complaint once this sinks in is that there aren't more raucous moments. That's just my prediction. I love this band's softer side so this is a big win for me.

SowingSeason
Moderator
April 26th 2021


37553 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

NME put it best: "With ‘The Million Masks Of God’, they’ve written something that feels similar to one – a record that traverses every corner of their sound, from beefy rock songs to string-assisted grandeur and acoustic bliss, further cementing their place as an under appreciated band to treasure." I personally think that the beefy rock songs are fewer and farther between though. This is a highly polished and extremely melodic piece.

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
April 26th 2021


2955 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

could someone tell me whether sputnikmusic contributor pheromone likes this album art or not bc i'm not too sure



also wonderful(ly fuckin massive) review, even more excited for friday now

Digging: Porter Robinson - Nurture

Pheromone
Contributing Reviewer
April 26th 2021


14212 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i can i can pick me pick me

Snake.
April 26th 2021


22890 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

hey phero looks like somebody beat you to the punch

SowingSeason
Moderator
April 26th 2021


37553 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

clearly he didn't hear the album and just dropped a 1 on it to be edgy

unlike those who also prob didn't hear it but 5'd it; that's perfectly acceptable

Pheromone
Contributing Reviewer
April 26th 2021


14212 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i say ban gnardude on account of the fact he gave for those i love only a 2.5

SowingSeason
Moderator
April 26th 2021


37553 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

suspicious account based on the sheer fact that he has only 6 comments and 1 of them is calling me out for deleting a comment, most likely an alt



the only way to fight the man is to troll 1 album's he loves I guess

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
April 26th 2021


2955 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

change their profile picture to tmmog's album art, just a thought

Nocte
Staff Reviewer
April 26th 2021


14080 Comments


Has Sowing discograp 5’d this band? That’s grounds for a ratings wipe right?

Digging: ACAUSAL INTRUSION - Nulitas

SowingSeason
Moderator
April 26th 2021


37553 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I'd welcome a ratings wipe, I do it to myself every few years because I'm constantly torn between having some semblance of objectivity or being an eternally gleeful optimist. The latter always wins out. I just can't change who I am. You guys are stuck with me and my hype 5's.

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
April 26th 2021


45092 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

"Ultimately, I'm not here to tell you that The Million Masks of God is the Manchester Orchestra’s “best album to date." Simple Math, A Black Mile to the Surface, and The Million Masks of God are all masterful in their own ways."



the disrespect to Like a Virgin! their best album! smh



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy