Genesis Owusu Smiling with No Teeth
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Pheromone
Contributing Reviewer
April 8th 2021


13600 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

uwu





Digging: Julia Kwamya - Feel Good About Feeling Bad

MiloRuggles
Staff Reviewer
April 8th 2021


1192 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

Yo thanks for praises and more importantly for listening folks.

Observation about criticisms of this album from various sites I've skimmed (not saying they're invalid at all)

"Wears it's influences on its sleeve": yet I've seen about 20 different artists named. That's a fair few influences, huh. Weird amount of death grips mentioned considering there's probably only three songs that enter that territory.

"X y and z songs suck": I have seen just about every track listed as somebody's favourite. You could easily turn this into a criticism of consistent tone though, tbf.

I just strongly feel the album's successes far outweigh its failures

Ryus
April 8th 2021


23096 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

wasnt feelin it

Digging: Prayer - In Your Arms

IsildursBane44
April 8th 2021


618 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This was very unpredictable. Need some more time with it, but my least favorite thing about this is the album cover. Kind of a turn off, and it doesn't cater to the sounds of the record.

Digging: George Clanton - 100% Electronica

botb
April 8th 2021


14420 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Whoever had the idea to reverse those vocals in centrefold is a fuckin genius, that shit is an ear worm and a half

Pheromone
Contributing Reviewer
April 8th 2021


13600 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

the album cover is definitely intentional for that bane



i personally love it

Dedes
April 8th 2021


7621 Comments


Milo why u review so good
I might actually close my incognito tab now

Conmaniac
April 9th 2021


26372 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is important and coherent

first song wasn't my thing but rest I found extremely hard to dislike...love the bino comparison the variety on here def giving me Because the Internet vibes

Milo u cray for this review absolutely massive writing gj

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
April 9th 2021


24224 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fucking hell Milo, leave some words for us pleb reviewers to use, you take all the good ones.



May this be that hip hop album i dig every 67 moons? lets find out.

Digging: Zao - The Crimson Corridor

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
April 9th 2021


44963 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

Centrefold is so fucking good damn

Digging: Brockhampton - Roadrunner: New Light, New Machine

MiloRuggles
Staff Reviewer
April 9th 2021


1192 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

I write with that thematic coherence and shift + f7 on deck, ye dogs ye

Hope so Dewi, it packs a bit of an rnb/funk/soul kick too

Is it up ya yet, Rowan? Penny for your thoughts

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
April 9th 2021


44963 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

it's up me! gonna take a few listens to sort er out and make sense of all the moving parts but really enjoyed it for the most part. favourites were Centrefold, Fishing and the one about neo-nazis sucking shit

MiloRuggles
Staff Reviewer
April 9th 2021


1192 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

Gotta hand it to 'em, they really do. Yeah, I feel this takes a hot minute and three listens to settle in

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
April 9th 2021


7104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Tentative 4 after a couple of listens, but probs 4+ with more time. This is damn impressive.

nightbringer
April 9th 2021


1879 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This = good

AmericanFlagAsh
April 9th 2021


10133 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This might be my favorite album of the year so far

Digging: Genesis Owusu - Smiling with No Teeth

ConcubinaryCode
April 9th 2021


5607 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Actually jammed this last night and it's quite a unique sound. Some tracks were a bit of a snooze but overall I dig it. I'm a bit confused at the coherence people bring up though cuz musically it kinda jumps around. I'm also a bit surprised you didn't bring up some of the newer influences this has. There were times I felt I was listening to the Saturation trilogy.

ConcubinaryCode
April 9th 2021


5607 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

😠😠😠

WalrusTusk
April 9th 2021


817 Comments


Man, this is not what I expected but in a good way. This is pretty solid.

IsildursBane44
April 10th 2021


618 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The fishing song is an absolute gem.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy