Floating Points, Pharoah Sanders & The LSO Promises
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
porcupinetheater
Contributing Reviewer
April 10th 2021


7921 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

https://media1.tenor.com/images/9c1e7e719478d239e876468262c196b6/tenor.gif?itemid=13357437

kevbogz
April 11th 2021


3132 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Pharoah Sanders und der Club of Blblblblblblbl

porcupinetheater
Contributing Reviewer
April 11th 2021


7921 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The blblblblerigegege & the Melting Paraiso LSO

Asdfp277
April 12th 2021


23347 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

lmao

SaneTBP
April 12th 2021


2125 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this resembles I Trawl the Megahertz and the Actress/LSO collab more than any pure chamber/classical i can think of. V cool fusion but imo better approached as something like that

Gyromania
April 12th 2021


32468 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yes, minus the insanely pretentious lyrics to i trawl the mehahertz

SaneTBP
April 12th 2021


2125 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

idk how theyre pretentious they are written with a lot of heart and detail. ig the way the lyrics are spoken makes em feel pretentious if you dont vibe with them but imo paddy has a spectacular way of making lyrics breathe in music

Elynna
April 13th 2021


908 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Lovely album, very soothing and relaxing. Onto the study playlist you go.

Digging: Staran - Staran

Gyromania
April 13th 2021


32468 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The lyrics make no sense

DoofDoof
April 13th 2021


9692 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the lyrics on the title track are sort of a list of the trials and tribulations through the quest of life? quite like them, interesting he had them read by someone else

Gyromania
April 13th 2021


32468 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

They're completely nonsensical tho

DoofDoof
April 13th 2021


9692 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thankfully they're not entirely literal yes

Gyromania
April 13th 2021


32468 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"Twelve days in Paris, and I'm awaiting for life to start

In the lobby of the Hotel Charlemagne

They're hanging photographs

Of rap artists and minor royalty

All cigarettes have been air-brushed from these pictures

Making everyone a liar

And saving no-one from their folly

As proud as Lucifer, I do nothing to hide

My kerosene dress and flint eyes

Which one steady look, are able to restore

To these images their carcinogenic threat

So what if this is largely bravado?

I have only twelve days in Paris, and I'm waiting for life to start

I'm setting out my stall behind a sheet of dark hair

And you, the hostage of crazed hormones

Will be driven to say:

'I am the next poet laurate

And she is the cherry madonna

And all of the summer is hers.'"



Like wtf does any of this means? This is incoherent pseudo profound-sounding bs. I do love the song but man the lyrics make me cringe

Relinquished
April 13th 2021


46340 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

that’s a confident bitch about to make Paris and her future simp all hers





it’s not that hard to understand

shit doesn’t always have to be deep to make an assertive statement.

DoofDoof
April 13th 2021


9692 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think it's more the feel of each snapshot in a greater picture of a whole 'life story' - this is a distinctive chapter to the other verses



dunno, works for me

Gyromania
April 13th 2021


32468 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

So, 95% of the lyrics are just pretentious fluff. Got it lol.

DoofDoof
April 13th 2021


9692 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

it's more a translation of varying states of mind, as is the whole album - it's definitely a bit of a navel gazing album and yeah, quite indulgent



do love it though

Gyromania
April 13th 2021


32468 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah the whole thing about paintings having airbrushed out cigarettes which she restores to their "carcinogenic threat" with her "kerosene dress and flint eyes" is flowery bullshit lmao. Sounds like a rly cheesy attempt at poetry

Gyromania
April 13th 2021


32468 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I do like some lines on that track and I absolutely love the music. Kind of a love/hate relationship I guess lol

Sinternet
April 13th 2021


24157 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

gyro is officially banned from calling things pretentious

Digging: Marina - Ancient Dreams In A Modern Land



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy