Floating Points, Pharoah Sanders & The LSO Promises
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
April 9th 2021


24318 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Gyro instead of looking at the track list, just consider this as a one 40 minute long track. I find it really interesting, mainly because that melody that gets repeated throughout the whole thing is really, really beautiful. Then you have Pharoah, who is 81 year old (jesus hell!) coming in and out at will and the build up to that modern classical passage...



I don't know, I think it's really well structured, I don't feel the length at all, and it's been a while an ambient album didn't bore the hell out of me.

Digging: Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell - Burn

Gyromania
April 9th 2021


32379 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Interesting, the vibe I get from you is more along the lines of: "I'm cool for listening to nothing-music and I'll tell anyone who disses on it they have ADD because only the elite can appreciate something this sophisticated"

Gyromania
April 9th 2021


32379 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

That main melody is nice but it sure would be sick if they did something with it

MiloRuggles
Staff Reviewer
April 9th 2021


1244 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

I haven't listened to this yet obv, but are you into ambient gyro?

Gyromania
April 9th 2021


32379 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Hell yes. It's my favourite subgenre of electronic tbh

GhandhiLion
April 9th 2021


11911 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"a somehow more boring version of the disintegration loops"

Incredible



Digging: Neil Ardley - Kaleidoscope of Rainbows

Sinternet
April 9th 2021


24121 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

bro there's a literal fucking orchestra on this thing, if your ears/brain are so undeveloped they can't notice the progression of the record then it seems you got bigger problems than your inferiority complex

Digging: Doss - 4 New Hit Songs

Gyromania
April 9th 2021


32379 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

A full orchestra doing nothing but jacking off

Sinternet
April 9th 2021


24121 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

more than you'll ever accomplish i'm sure

GhandhiLion
April 9th 2021


11911 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I'd like to hear a full orchestra jack off tbh

Gyromania
April 9th 2021


32379 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It's pretty nice tbh

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
April 9th 2021


24318 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I remember that time Chili Claus made a whole orchestra eat some really spicy peppers and perform after. They were in tears. Always good to see mankind pushing its limits.

porcupinetheater
Contributing Reviewer
April 9th 2021


7697 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I like the dude that goes "blblblblblblbboobblbll" in Movement 4

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
April 9th 2021


7132 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

Same he's the best dude

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
April 9th 2021


7132 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

Glad to see you came around to this gyro < 3



Edit lol nevermind

Jacquibim
Staff Reviewer
April 9th 2021


4820 Comments


"That main melody is nice but it sure would be sick if they did something with it"

Pretty much. The record's sparsity isn't a problem but the basal motif just doesn't get any worthwhile development. The little interplay between it, the orchestral bits and sanders' soloing isn't all that interesting to me because there are only so many ways you can play off a phrase that never changes.

I didn't find this "boring" because it's actually very pleasant-sounding and for that reason I enjoyed zoning out to it, but it could've been miles better.

Gyromania
April 9th 2021


32379 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yeah all of what jac said. i think this is fine background music, but i don't rly get the praise this is getting, there just isn't much to grab onto

porcupinetheater
Contributing Reviewer
April 9th 2021


7697 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Idk, feels to me like even if the phrase itself doesn't change, it gets cast in new lights by the evolving context and shifting space between its repetitions, like if you hold up a mirror while you walk, your image stays in place, but the shifting background keeps it by turns disorienting and new.

Gyromania
April 9th 2021


32379 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

those new lights are "very slight alterations" as far as i can tell.

Jacquibim
Staff Reviewer
April 9th 2021


4820 Comments


Don't think I didn't notice that rate drop Gyro 👉

"it gets cast in new lights by the evolving context and shifting space between its repetitions"

All well and good but I think this approach is sufficient for individual movements but not for nearly an entire album. The soloing that sits of top of it sounds fairly interchangeable for this very reason, except obviously the orchestral climax in movement 6. But even that seems like it could be brought forwards or moved back a couple movements and the album's progression would more or less feel the same imo.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy