Floating Points, Pharoah Sanders & The LSO Promises
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Veldin
April 8th 2021


4338 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review! Really enjoyed this piece. Definitely gonna check out Pharoah Sanders work

Kompys2000
Contributing Reviewer
April 8th 2021


5645 Comments


Checked this out the other day and it was neat! Gonna have to properly sit down with it before rating tho

Digging: Witxes - A Fabric of Beliefs

BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
April 8th 2021


3627 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Very nice Ben. Didn't expect this to have been reviewed you, but I am very glad for it. I like but don't love this, will have to give it some more listens.

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
April 8th 2021


7104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

"also the energy in that “probably” is weeeeak"



probably



Also cheers frens hope you dig the good muzak

Asdfp277
April 8th 2021


23304 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

does god have a plan on this ?

dedex
Contributing Reviewer
April 8th 2021


7531 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

On first listen, it's stunning.

Digging: Andy Stott - Never the Right Time

OSEL
April 8th 2021


426 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice write up, will listen. saw lp in the shop the other day

dmathias52
Contributing Reviewer
April 8th 2021


1553 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is quite good. Been listening to it while reading and tried to take your recommendation and yeet away all distractions last night while listening. I fell asleep by Movement 3, which I'll blame on a long day at work lol

Project
April 8th 2021


4742 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

idk how to talk about jazz-influenced stuff and it's wild how much mileage this collab gets out of a seven-note refrain but also it is absolutely stunning

Digging: half/cut - Salt an Atlas

Gyromania
April 9th 2021


32259 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Holy fuck this is boring

Asdfp277
April 9th 2021


23304 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

it's jazz sis

Sinternet
April 9th 2021


24057 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Holy fuck this is boring"



5.0 classic

The Caretaker An Empty Bliss Beyond This World

Digging: Lost Girls - Menneskekollektivet

Gyromania
April 9th 2021


32259 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah, that album has actual songs. This just sounds like the same exact thing on repeat for like 40 minutes. I'm on track 7 and I feel like I'm listening to a somehow more boring version of the disintegration loops

Gyromania
April 9th 2021


32259 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The last couple movements at least had some variety so I guess that's an unfair comparison, but on the whole this sounds like a big nothing sandwich

Gyromania
April 9th 2021


32259 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I guess the way to make a guaranteed 92/100 metacritic masterpiece is to use tons of negative space and throw in some saxophone and a few keys and repeat them over and over again. Oh, and name your tracks "movement 1", "movement 2", "movement 3", etc. This is pretentious nonsense.

Sinternet
April 9th 2021


24057 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"This just sounds like the same exact thing on repeat for like 40 minutes. "



how to tell you didn't actually listen to this

MiloRuggles
Staff Reviewer
April 9th 2021


1192 Comments


This sounds like my shit, stunning review xx

Sinternet
April 9th 2021


24057 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Oh, and name your tracks "movement 1", "movement 2", "movement 3", etc. This is pretentious nonsense."



if you find common musical terminology pretentious that one's on you

Gyromania
April 9th 2021


32259 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Those first 5 songs are practically indistinguishable lmfao. I checked out some of floating points' other tracks on spotify and it seems like these guys used to make actual music, not just negative-space-dominated pretentious drivel

Sinternet
April 9th 2021


24057 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

you're saying a lot of words but i'm just getting "I have the attention span of a 10 year old who ate too many blue smarties"



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy