Fates Warning Long Day Good Night
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Titan
November 8th 2020


23015 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Easily album of the year for me. We have a lot to talk about Omair!

OmairSh
Contributing Reviewer
November 8th 2020


17564 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

@Kcub07: Yeah agreed regarding the lyrical themes. Ray wrote most of the lyrics I think they've improved a lot. At times I thought it was Jim's lyrics because of the word flow and selection, but nope. His voice sounds really smooth as well



@titan: Glad to see you're enjoying it this much dude! I wasn't even in a prog metal mood when the album came out so I'm a bit hesitant about my feelings towards the album atm, but I've still been enjoying it

Piripichotes
November 9th 2020


606 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Willie you need to listen to this again. Not happy at all with that 3.5



Sometimes some records need revisiting after a while to really appreciate them, music being intrinsically tied with our emotions can keep you off a very good album if you're going thru some shitty times....



With that said, this for me is just a logic follower for theories of flight.

I love the heaviness, drums are amazing, riffs are tight, basslines are crisp and Ray is Ray.

Titan
November 9th 2020


23015 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

4.5



Boom!

Mythodea
November 9th 2020


6814 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I expected you to bump your rating since it's your AOTY contender. Album has me intrigued, will be listening to it tonight while on ship.

Titan
November 9th 2020


23015 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Dare I say it?



DARE I SAY IT?



This ~might~ be better than Theories

Piripichotes
November 9th 2020


606 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"This ~might~ be better than Theories"



If your rid theories of "light and shade of things" then YES

Willie
Moderator
November 9th 2020


18942 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

--Willie you need to listen to this again. Not happy at all with that 3.5--



I've had this since some time near the beginning of October. Fates Warning is one of my favorite bands. Believe me, I've listened to this probably more times than all the people posting here combined (as of this time). I like it. It's a great album and I enjoy it while it's on, but it's not hitting me the way a Fates album should.

Digging: Angels and Airwaves - Lifeforms

Pikazilla
November 10th 2020


19297 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Agreed with Space Jester, this is best Fates since A Pleasant Shade. What an awesome album.

Mythodea
November 10th 2020


6814 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

>If your rid theories of "light and shade of things" then YES



Might be my favourite on Theories, haha

dante1991
November 10th 2020


757 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is really good, but would have benefited from 2-3 songs being cut

Piripichotes
November 10th 2020


606 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Might be my favourite on Theories, haha"



That's why I said it, is my fav one too, if you take away that song from theories it becomes half of what it is.

Piripichotes
November 10th 2020


606 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"I've had this since some time near the beginning of October. Fates Warning is one of my favorite bands. Believe me, I've listened to this probably more times than all the people posting here combined (as of this time). I like it. It's a great album and I enjoy it while it's on, but it's not hitting me the way a Fates album should."



How's that new Dark Tranquillity?

Titan
November 10th 2020


23015 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The Light And Shade Of Things is my favorite Fates Warning song out of their entire catalog



And dante dude, I would've agreed with you initially, but as the album is sinking in, I can honestly say that I enjoy every song

Mythodea
November 10th 2020


6814 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Piripichotes Yeah, dude, it makes sense, for some reason my brain took it as the opposite of what you meant.. Brainfart, I guess...



I'm taking the new album slowly, and god damn, it's amazing

e210013
November 10th 2020


3637 Comments


As a huge fan of the band, I need to get some time to check this soon as I can. I'm very curious about it. Nice work Willie.

Titan
November 10th 2020


23015 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I just heard that podcast with Ray talking about The Last Song. He definitely thinks that this is it for Fates Warning, as far as new records are concerned. Perhaps that's why it has 13 songs, where they wanted to get everything released???



Another one of my favorite bands going out on top?

kalkwiese
November 10th 2020


8076 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

13th album, 13 songs 🤔

Pikazilla
November 10th 2020


19297 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ominous

kalkwiese
November 10th 2020


8076 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oroboros



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy