Westelaken Westelaken
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Sowing
Moderator
August 15th 2020


43745 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

What's wrong with Lonesome? The fiddle on it is so rustic and elegant, and his voice cracks with sincerity at every turn. Feels like something that would play as a slow dance at the end of some kind of rural western hoedown. It aches with a desperate sense of longing.

Lucman
August 15th 2020


5537 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

All that is present, definitely, but must it sound so shrill?

Sowing
Moderator
August 15th 2020


43745 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

YES IT IS THE ONLY WAY



;-)

Sowing
Moderator
August 15th 2020


43745 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

So these guys are no fluke. Listening to an advance of their new one and some of the complaints in the comments about this one have been rectified. Not going to give any more spoilers other than it's different but just as amazing.

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
August 15th 2020


9752 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

sweet. hype.

Slex
August 15th 2020


16233 Comments


Fucking hyyyyped

WatchItExplode
August 15th 2020


10416 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Lonesome is still painful but everything else has settled nicely.

Sowing
Moderator
August 15th 2020


43745 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I'm ok with that rating. It's the minimum acceptable one ;-) all jokes aside though I'm glad you liked it and I think you'll also dig the upcoming one.

SuperMatt
August 16th 2020


23 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I had high expectations after reading the review but the album actually surpassed them, I'm in love with Pink Lights

dmathias52
Staff Reviewer
August 16th 2020


1799 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well this is exciting

Sowing
Moderator
August 16th 2020


43745 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

You dig this dmathias? I was curious what you'd think of this specially given the country tag, although I think that's its tertiary genre at best. Definitely more indie-rock/folk-punk.

dmathias52
Staff Reviewer
August 16th 2020


1799 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I haven't listened yet lol, but the review and tags get me very excited. Planning on listening this evening!

Sowing
Moderator
August 16th 2020


43745 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The tags might be slightly misleading think more of a raw indie punk/folk outfit but they're so difficult to pigeonhole because they employ so many different styles lol

dmathias52
Staff Reviewer
August 17th 2020


1799 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hmmm I like this quite a bit! Definitely a fan of the slower tracks, I think they're a bit more cohesive. With that said, Jackie Chan might be my favorite.

I think sometimes it jumps around a bit too much. Just as I'm getting invested into a style, they switch it up on me. I think some of the more abrasive tracks are a little underdeveloped, but gotta put more time into it. Easy 4 though, at least

Sowing
Moderator
August 19th 2020


43745 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Pink Lights is my favorite for those gang vocals and trumpets. I hear what you're saying about it jumping around so much. That's probably one of my favorite things about it - that it can incorporate elements of country/folk/piano rock/indie-rock/punk and still not feel all that disjointed. To me the songs feel unique but they all feel like they belong under the umbrella of the album's "scratchy, raw independent artist" atmospheric vibe. Glad you're digging this so much; these guys are very energetic, creative, and different. They're also tremendous folks to boot, in the chats I've had with them they've been nothing but humble and gracious.

Beardog
August 19th 2020


4849 Comments


need to check?

ChoccyPhilly
September 1st 2020


13615 Comments


Sadly not my kinda thing but the more recent ones sounds a little more promising

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
September 11th 2020


9752 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

just realised that a) I never rated this (oops) and b) this has a Ramshackle Glory sort of vibe to it that I never quite clocked. Not quite the same anti-folk sort of vibes, but similarly messy and off-kilter.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy