Ulcerate Stare Into Death and Be Still
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
zakalwe
August 14th 2020


31827 Comments


The shitter the better

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
August 14th 2020


29300 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

attaboi

Digging: Dntel - Life is Full of Possibilities

Demon of the Fall
August 14th 2020


17183 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Your dig looks weird Johnny.

Digging: Hooverphonic - The President Of The LSD Golf Club

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
August 14th 2020


29300 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Lol my dig is p weird, tons of fun, some big riffs and some beautiful gaze. Not q noise though :[

MillionDead
August 14th 2020


2436 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

You guys should check out Glenn Branca's early work like Ascension and Lesson No.1. He also has a post punk band Theoretical Girls. Noise rock, no wave, and even post-hardcore are pretty good about being dissonant. A lot of Sonic Youth's discog is insane. The album run from Bad Moon Rising through Dirty are full of disso-rock hits. Also--Lydia Lunch. This Heat. Early Swans. Big Black. Mclusky. DNA. Cherubs. The Birthday Party. Drive Like Jehu. Polvo.



There's tons of modernist classical music that's insanely dissonant: Igor Stravinsky, Bela Bartok, Alban Berg, Gyorgy Ligeti, Charles Ives, Anton Webern, Olivier Messiaen, etc. Then insane jazz, Last Exit, Peter Brotzmann, John Coltrane, Otomo Yoshide, Eric Dolphy, Andrew Hill, Sonny Sharrock. Harsh noise and power electronics are awesome genres too. I'm honestly a hound for harsh sounds. It's as beautiful as consonance to me now.



Edit: @Jacquibim: I'm literally going to listen to all of those. I love orchestral.

Demon of the Fall
August 14th 2020


17183 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Your first paragraph is of no use to me, pretty much all good stuff though. No offence, just showing you where I stand...

Regardless of that your second paragraph certainly makes up for it.

I might have to make some notes. Thanks.

MillionDead
August 14th 2020


2436 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I didn't take any offense! Happier that you already enjoy and have a relationship with the stuff as opposed to me just putting you onto it now. I forgot to mention Flipper for really dissonant, slow punk. Have you heard Pussy Galore and Harry Pussy? The first is like noisy af punk blues and the second is basically the harshest, best noise rock band I've ever heard.



And I'm so glad if I could mention anything you might find cool!



Edit: I ALMOST FORGOT. Kengo Iuichi has some very twisted shit on the "folk" side of the spectrum. Tons of harsh chords and even screams.

DDDeftoneDDD
August 14th 2020


13972 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

jeeeez...are you a walking music encyclopedia Million?

Digging: Pallbearer - Forgotten Days

MillionDead
August 14th 2020


2436 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Not yet, but I do hope I can get that way one day. lol I just try to keep listening to new stuff steadily and also retain/understand it. And, like us all, I've just been listening to my preferred weirdness for a lot of years now.

DDDeftoneDDD
August 14th 2020


13972 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

"and also retain/understand it"

^word

Maniac!
August 22nd 2020


28272 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

checking back in to say that this is perfect

prnzokoshiro
August 26th 2020


10 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Subsequent listens are rewarding for this one - I barely paid attention to this band for years; but a friend rec'd me this a couple months ago... and nigh-*insisted* that I gave this one a 'whirl'... and goddammit - if it's a reflection of where I'm at in appraising music as compared to when the last one was out, then fine... but I also ascertained that this is arguably the best one,from opinions I've gathered... either way, I'm not sure if it falls into the unofficial sub-genre "cosmic death metal", but I've been on a cosmic metal kick ever since Monstrosity's 2018 album - Blood Incantation last year further reinforced it... and Ulcerate basically cemented it into scribe-tablets adorned/amended with Hastur the Unspeakable's rules (first of which, would be "don't take my name in vain - in fact don't ever say it or Yogsothoth will kill you in 8 diff time periods simultaneously") - o_O anyway, yeah, I'm kickin myself for having slept on this band... this one is a banger cuz it's bangin, son - look forward to delving into the back-catalogue for sure

cinnamoncakeface
August 31st 2020


29 Comments


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8piO5m6LCxU

Footage of the new material played live.

Azog
September 1st 2020


362 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's decent, right? ;-)

Sniff
September 1st 2020


6736 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

eh it's alright

9Hammer
September 9th 2020


331 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Finally got around to listen to this. Pretty awesome stuff.

Digging: Deftones - Ohms

afrogorton
September 9th 2020


5 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

One hell of a review, and one hell of an album!

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
September 16th 2020


27107 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

after a very thorough listen (or 3) i am very much coming around to the idea that this is the best ulcerate album. it's almost everything i want in a death metal that is melodic but isn't melodic death metal album (i'm sucker for soaring leads and harmonized guitars, sue me).

Digging: Gorephilia - In The Eye Of Nothing

evilford
September 16th 2020


45692 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

this and shrines are probably tied for #2 for me but I throw eif on and just fucking transcend space and time

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
September 16th 2020


27107 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

that makes sense, there is definitely something otherworldly about that record



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy