Testament Titans of Creation
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Atari
Staff Reviewer
April 2nd 2020


26856 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

nice one, Trey!



I'm looking forward to this more than any other release this week

Digging: Patterson Hood - Heat Lightning Rumbles in the Distance

Pikazilla
April 2nd 2020


19124 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Tits of creation

Morningrise767
April 3rd 2020


3154 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

had no idea these guys were releasing a new album lol

currently listening to the first track, so far its pretty good!

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
April 3rd 2020


15230 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Titans of Creation, though, it's that it feels less like Testament by the numbers than the previous two releases.




Firm disagree, this is a consecutively inoffensive, by the numbers album.

Willie
Moderator
April 3rd 2020


18938 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

--That said, the main riff in "Children of the Next Level" is identical to that in "More Than Meets the Eye" from The Formation of Damnation.--

I haven't noticed that. I just listened to them both today and I still don't hear it. What times are you referring to on each song?



--Firm disagree, this is a consecutively inoffensive, by the numbers album.--

Ha ha. I didn't say it wasn't a by-the-numbers album. I said it felt, "less like Testament by the numbers than the previous two releases," and I stand by that. I also said in the review, "It should go without saying that a majority of Titans of Creation is full of the modern sound that has dominated the last three Testament albums, but it's also as solid, yet predictable, as you might expect."

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
April 3rd 2020


15230 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Sorry. Should've clarified; the "less" is the crux of my issue there.

Willie
Moderator
April 3rd 2020


18938 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

That makes sense. I'll quote this part... "This is due in large part to stronger songwriting and better guitar melodies, as well as a slightly more diverse sound that pulls more from their classics. Whether that’s enough to make Titans of Creation sound like anything other than more of the same (and whether that will even matter) will be up to the individual listener."

To me there's enough to make it sound less by-the-numbers, even if it's not super noticable, but for others it might not be enough, for sure.

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
April 3rd 2020


16767 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

DiGiorgio has tested positive for COVID-19 :[

Digging: Cradle of Filth - Existence Is Futile

Willie
Moderator
April 3rd 2020


18938 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Yeah, the Thrash of the Virus tour with Testament, Death Angel and Exodus turned out to be the most dangerous tour of the year. Fucking Metal.

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
April 3rd 2020


16767 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I've been able to listen to the album and the first thing that drew my attention was its diversity, I was able to find contact points with several past albums. The first impression was quite positive, great jam.

Willie
Moderator
April 3rd 2020


18938 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

--I've been able to listen to the album and the first thing that drew my attention was its diversity, I was able to find contact points with several past albums. The first impression was quite positive, great jam.--

So, very similar to my first listen, then. It gets better with repetition. Anyone listened to "Curse of Osiris"? It's my personal favorite, and I'm curious if I'm alone in this.

dante1991
April 3rd 2020


754 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Catacombs is cool, but I really don't see the point of it where it is. Would've made a much better intro before Children.



On first listen, album is very solid, not groundbreaking though. Right now it's about on par with Brotherhood, bit more diverse though.

Thalassic
April 3rd 2020


5285 Comments


"Curse of Osiris" rules yeah; or that main riff in "Symptoms"...oomph

These guys always deliver

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
April 3rd 2020


16767 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

It's also one of my favorites. I like when they step into extreme metal.

ChaoticVortex
April 3rd 2020


1223 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Excellent album. Very much feels like how Dark Roots of Earth was like after Formation: A more melodic, varied album following up a highly agressive and technical album. Children Of The Next Level and Night Of The Witch are the only songs that have a "leftovers" feeling (but Children has an absolute bonkers, almost Megadeth-esque solo section), the rest of the songs all have their own unique charather. We have classic-era Testament headbangers (WW III, Dream Deceiver), Isthar's Gate with its Eastern touches, City Of Angels with its clever switches between harsh and cleaner stuff (very much like Trail of Tears on Low) and even the extreme metal stuff they toyed on Brotherhood. Production is fully on point, top notch musicianship, only a couple of more forgetable songs keep this from a higher rating.

ChaoticVortex
April 3rd 2020


1223 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Also, this probably the most Alex Skolnick has shined on a Testament record since his return. His leads are all inspired, tasteful and impressive.

ChaoticVortex
April 3rd 2020


1223 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

PS: Just read about DiGiorgio, hope he recovers soon. His basslines in Code Of Hammurabi are wicked.

teamster
April 3rd 2020


5699 Comments


In honor of Willie's review I will now blast The New Order. Best Testament.

Willie
Moderator
April 3rd 2020


18938 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

The New Order is not even close to best Testament for me (see my initial comment). It's definitely a good album, though.

KjSwantko
April 3rd 2020


12060 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Damn I forgot this dropped today! Gonna go rip now m/



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy