Nine Inch Nails Ghosts VI: Locusts
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
March 28th 2020


5124 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

'Turn This Off Please' is my favorite so far off this record. Love how it progresses

Digging: Boris - NO

Faraudo
March 28th 2020


3495 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Loved both records, essential music for these times.

Digging: Phoebe Bridgers - Punisher

Pikazilla
March 28th 2020


11348 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I dunno, I think With Teeth is my least favourite.

Sharenge
March 28th 2020


379 Comments


eager to hear these new Ghosts, just worried about possibly coming away from it feeling like it's an uninspired rehash of the tried but true formula that Trent and Atticus have kind of done to death at this point

heyadam
March 28th 2020


3254 Comments


Year Zero is his most underrated to me. I genuinely love that record

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
March 28th 2020


26621 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Cool collab, nice work dudes! Generally not a fan of NIN but gonna check this out if I find time (still un-locked down for the time being...)

Digging: Boris - NO

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
March 28th 2020


43829 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

Year Zero is good shit, if a bit too long/flatly mixed for a lot of the runtime (god I can't wait to see what they do to that album with the Definitive Edition - some more dynamics to help it breathe would be so nice). also had the single greatest album rollout of our times, bar none

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
March 28th 2020


5124 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

I got into them with Year Zero, I spent that summer discovering all those websites and reading fake diaries and forum entries lol. It was so much fun and that album was on repeat constantly. I love it, can't wait to hear the definitive edition of it as well.

SowingSeason
Moderator
March 28th 2020


34979 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I got into them with Downward Spiral and Fragile, and everything after that was varying degrees of disappointing. I didn't really start to get back into them until Bad Witch (which was excellent), but now that I find myself enjoying these two ambient pieces sooo much, it is certainly worth me revisiting and rethinking Ghosts I-IV because I had no appreciation for that kind of music when it came out (it's still not my favorite style, but I love this and Together...)

Digging: Nana Grizol - South Somewhere Else

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
March 28th 2020


26621 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Two tracks in and this is already curing my hangover. Downward Spiral is a so-so 3 for me, so this is in with a good chance of topping it

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
March 28th 2020


43829 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

some wild takes in here. also if we want to talk underrated, The Slip is almost wall-to-wall bangers. no idea why that album didn't get the acclaim it deserved

SowingSeason
Moderator
March 28th 2020


34979 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I enjoyed The Slip actually. But I got into NIN via a college friend and got into Spiral and Fragile in the same weekend. Trying to follow that with The Slip a few months later just didn't do it. Context is always huge.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
March 28th 2020


5124 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

The Slip is the closest Nine Inch Nails got to being a band per se. It was created in a short time span (from what I saw, a month or so) with Finck, Cortini and Freese contributing to songwriting. It's hard to put it next to Spiral and Fragile

ArsMoriendi
March 28th 2020


30071 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The Fragile's good, but also overrated



Like many double albums, it's too long for its own good... for every two great songs, there's at least one meh one

Digging: Coil - Stolen And Contaminated Songs

ArsMoriendi
March 28th 2020


30071 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Year Zero's my fave of theirs and The Downward Spiral is really amazing too



Easily top 2

GhostB1rd
March 28th 2020


6275 Comments


"The Slip is almost wall-to-wall bangers"

Haven't listened to that in years but there's no way this is true.

ArsMoriendi
March 28th 2020


30071 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The Slip's a fun one, but flows awfully





AMBIENT

ROCKER

ROCKER

ROCKER

MELLOW

ROCKER

MELLOW

AMBIENT

AMBIENT

ROCKER



Like the tracklist should've been re-ordered

heyadam
March 28th 2020


3254 Comments


yeah the rollout for Year Zero was fuckin insane. Fifteen year old me was a living It’s Always Sunny gif for months

Zig
March 28th 2020


2128 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

a nice pair

Digging: Koenji Hyakkei - Dhorimviskha

StickFeit
March 28th 2020


1097 Comments


Really surprised by this one



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy