Polaris (AUS) The Death of Me
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
LunaticSoul
March 15th 2020


1370 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah, don't get the hype on this

DreamAgain
March 15th 2020


1312 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

@steak, @anyone Dream Awake - inanimate



Thoughts?

SteakByrnes
March 15th 2020


18758 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

That was okay, I like his voice

KenboSlice
March 16th 2020


3514 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Creatures of Habit is so damn good

NonApplicable
March 30th 2020


2806 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I wish these guys would fire their clean vocalist. He butchers nearly every section he's in. The quality of the music is quite good otherwise.

DreamAgain
March 30th 2020


1312 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I like da cleans

onionbubs
March 30th 2020


12534 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

the clean vocals themselves are fine i just wish they were actually writing better melodies

Digging: Erra - Impulse

JeetJeet
March 30th 2020


8096 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Drop the cleans completely. This band can do without em.

Digging: $ilkmoney - Attack of the Future Shocked, Flesh Covered, Meatb

notagenius
March 31st 2020


232 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the cleans are OKAY but the band could really get rid of the poppy part. It cools down the heat.

Durrzo
March 31st 2020


2124 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Jake can sing. The melodies they choose to use for the choruses are the big problem. The poppy and upbeat style they typically run with sounds totally fake and forced when paired with the angst that the rest of the songs contain. I agree that they could drop the cleans entirely if they wanted to, but I enjoy them when they work. Jamie's clean sections in particular are very enjoyable, but I like some of Jake's work too.

SteakByrnes
March 31st 2020


18758 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Yea I basically agree with that

DreamAgain
March 31st 2020


1312 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I'm not even sure if I know of a band that has absolutely no cleans. Hypermania is probably my favorite track on here but an entire album of it would probably get a little tiring.



With that said, I definitely want more of the aggressive singing style in songs like All off This is Fleeting. Also on their last album on songs like Sonder and The Slow Decay they layer the vocals on top of each other and it sounds great.

SteakByrnes
March 31st 2020


18758 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

There are countless bands with no cleans lol

DreamAgain
March 31st 2020


1312 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Rinoa maybe? I forget if they had any cleans or not. I can't think of any I listen to off the top of my head tbh, not saying they don't exist. And obviously if we start going in to doom metal or something then yea, sure.



Cleans are just too versatile to give up in most cases.

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
March 31st 2020


11216 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Even in metalcore, there are a ton of examples of cleans not being present my man.

Digging: No Note - if this is the future then I'm in the dark

JeetJeet
March 31st 2020


8096 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"Hypermania is probably my favorite track on here but an entire album of it would probably get a little tiring."

I mean the band doesn't have to replicate that song over and over, they could just make an album that's full of songs as strong as that one and still make each one sound distinctly different. Or they could implement the clean vocals in a unique way that doesn't come off sounding like some Risecore shit.

DreamAgain
March 31st 2020


1312 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Do you not like the use of cleans in say, Landmine?

JeetJeet
March 31st 2020


8096 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

The cleans in Landmine dont really bother me but I feel like they could be axed completely and the song wouldn't suffer at all.

DreamAgain
March 31st 2020


1312 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Fair enough.



I think Masochist is the token catchy single that most of these albums have at least 1 of and with that in mind it's w/e.

Vagabond is by far the weakest song on here and the chorus sucks.

Above My Head is kind of redundant with Masochist and Martyr so maybe it could be replaced.

Martyr (Waves) is very good and welcome change of pace.



But the singing on all of the other songs to me is very tastefully done, never overbearing and always flows well. The cleans in all of this is fleeting provides great contrast to probably the best breakdown on the album.

SaveBandit
April 1st 2020


1025 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I honestly don't have a lot of complaints with this album other than Vagabond. The cleans aren't my favorite, but they don't bother me nearly as much as everyone else.



All that said, I haven't spun this in a few weeks because the new IA album has really taken all my music listening time. Both albums slap pretty hard for me though.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy