Pantera Far Beyond Driven
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
KjSwantko
August 13th 2019


11344 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This and Vulgar are both hella groovey. Not sure which I'd say takes the cake though. Maybe Vulgar actually if you include Piss m/

Davil667
August 14th 2019


3814 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Vulgar is the grooviest record they've done by far I'd say. On here they got rougher, which even intesified on Trendkill. With Reinventing they took a step back towards Vulgar and became more melodious again in parts.

KjSwantko
August 14th 2019


11344 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Reinventing was just kind of a shitty record though (compared to these at least). I really never listened to it more than a few times.

Davil667
August 14th 2019


3814 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yea I'm aware that's the common opinion on the record, but I never understood the reason for it. For me it's almost on par with this one and Trendkill and I even prefer it to Vulgar and Cowboys.

KjSwantko
August 14th 2019


11344 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

To me a big part is there aren't really any classic riffs. Dime was getting lazy by that point. Same with Damage Plan. Pantera hit hard from every angle, but to me it was always Dime's riffing and soloing that was the foundation of their success. From what I remember, Reinventing didn't have that.

Davil667
August 14th 2019


3814 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Very interesting, I always felt like Dime even refined his style and got more diverse with the same accuracy and energy as ever. For me some of his best moments are to be found on Reinventing.



Damageplan on the other hand feels less inspired by far. It doesn't hold a candle to any of Pantera's great ones.

KjSwantko
August 14th 2019


11344 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Hmm. I haven't listened to Reinventing in many many years, and when I had I think I went into it with a negative attitude. I'll have to give it another spin with a more open mind.

Davil667
August 14th 2019


3814 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yes, give it a spin again! Really hope you enjoy it better than back then, there are some sweet tunes to be (re-)discovered.

Rowhaus
August 14th 2019


2570 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

RtS is hella slept on. Album riffs ahrd

Digging: Elephant Watchtower - The Church Is At Fault

Kompys2000
August 14th 2019


3053 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

It's better than this, to be sure.

Source
August 14th 2019


12808 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Maybe slightly

KjSwantko
August 14th 2019


11344 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Hater ass bitchez.

Egarran
August 14th 2019


12161 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

No doubt this has more testosterone.

Shadowmire
August 14th 2019


5118 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

it's no power metal

Source
August 14th 2019


12808 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

There's just a lot of filler on this album imo. Cowboys is the same length and doesn't really have any filler

Rowhaus
August 14th 2019


2570 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

What filler?

Source
August 14th 2019


12808 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Good Friends, 25 Years, Use My Third Arm, Throes of Rejection, Planet Caravan cover are all zzzz imo

Kompys2000
August 14th 2019


3053 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Planet Caravan is actually my favorite off this

Larkinhill
August 15th 2019


3712 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Shit, this is actually my favorite Pantera album.

Larkinhill
August 15th 2019


3712 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Planet Caravan cover is one of their best songs lol.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy