Slipknot We Are Not Your Kind
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
August 9th 2019


12491 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

A 4.2 Simon review? Sheiiiiittt

DoofDoof
August 9th 2019


8189 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

if you award this a 4.2 that doesn't leave a lot of higher ratings for legitimately excellent music

Pikazilla
August 9th 2019


10982 Comments


Yeah, he's been very lenient lately, hasn't he

DarthHideous1
August 9th 2019


227 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Aggressive how? The last two albums are pretty bad, this is a return to form for those who enjoy the bands first three releases in regards to quality.

Shadowmire
August 9th 2019


5980 Comments


cool word

butt.
August 9th 2019


7408 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"I wasn’t crazy about Critical Darling and Liar’s Funeral"

critical darling is a low point here for me I suppose, but Liar's Funeral is definitely a beast.

Rowhaus
August 9th 2019


3305 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Death Because of Death is so different and catchy it's insane

Digging: The Black Queen - Fever Daydream

butt.
August 9th 2019


7408 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

probably the first time someone has mentioned it today. I like it, decent as an interlude

DePlazz
August 9th 2019


2153 Comments


Boring band

PistolPete
August 9th 2019


5135 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Even though I’m not the biggest fan of these guys I will give this a listen. This is a great review but for the uninitiated, what exactly is the “Stone Sour” approach to writing and why it is unappealing? Just thought the review skipped over that and assumed the reader knows what it means.

Digging: Mountaineer - Bloodletting

fromrows
August 9th 2019


371 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

All out life would fit perfectly on here instead of one of the filler inderludes IMO.

starboystargirl
August 9th 2019


603 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Slipknot has always been consistently inconsistent. Though they are at times, a creative and brutal force, they also suffer from poor direction and an over-reliance on quantity over quality. I’ll give them credit that they know how to write a powerful single. Spit It Out, My Plague, Duality, Psychosocial, The Devil In I and Solway Firth are examples of Slipknot at their best - favoring anger and brutality over atmosphere and melancholy.



Sadly, like prior outputs, We Are Not Your Kind falls into the same trap of having more material than necessary. 14 songs with an intro, 3 interludes, and 5 mid-tempo tracks that slog and experiment with electronics hijack the majority of the album’s run-time, leaving only 5 real bangers (2 of which were already released as singles). This leaves WANYK feeling like a collection of B-sides with some new material recorded to justify it as a major release.



Shadowmire
August 9th 2019


5980 Comments


ah

deathschool
August 9th 2019


25500 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I really fucking hate that that avi looks like cleavage on my phone.

Digging: Jeff Rosenstock - NO DREAM

butt.
August 9th 2019


7408 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

lmaooo

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
August 9th 2019


9597 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

[2]

Digging: Jeff Rosenstock - NO DREAM

hobblepot
August 9th 2019


2441 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm actually going to wet myself if this album gets a higher avg. than Tool's new album



awesome review, echoes my sentiments to a t.

Shadowmire
August 9th 2019


5980 Comments


people are very emotional and will be inevitably disappointed by Tool while they were inevitably surprised by this, so I would not be surprised at all if that happens

fromrows
August 9th 2019


371 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

"Sadly, like prior outputs, We Are Not Your Kind falls into the same trap of having more material than necessary. "14 songs with an intro, 3 interludes, and 5 mid-tempo tracks that slog and experiment with electronics hijack the majority of the album’s run-time, leaving only 5 real bangers (2 of which were already released as singles). This leaves WANYK feeling like a collection of B-sides with some new material recorded to justify it as a major release."



Agreed. The heavy songs are pretty good, all the other type of so called experimental songs were done way better on Iowa and Vol 3. A mess of a record but a more enjoyable mess than the last two mess of albums.



Crysis
Emeritus
August 9th 2019


17472 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Solway Firth" is a banger, but agreed that they could have cut out like 1 minute on each end and the song would be better off for it.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy