Slipknot We Are Not Your Kind
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
August 9th 2019


9907 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

A 4.2 Simon review? Sheiiiiittt

DoofDoof
August 9th 2019


4828 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

if you award this a 4.2 that doesn't leave a lot of higher ratings for legitimately excellent music

Pikazilla
August 9th 2019


2232 Comments


Yeah, he's been very lenient lately, hasn't he

DarthHideous1
August 9th 2019


222 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Aggressive how? The last two albums are pretty bad, this is a return to form for those who enjoy the bands first three releases in regards to quality.

Shadowmire
August 9th 2019


5118 Comments


cool word

ButtBoy
August 9th 2019


4265 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"I wasn’t crazy about Critical Darling and Liar’s Funeral"

critical darling is a low point here for me I suppose, but Liar's Funeral is definitely a beast.

Rowhaus
August 9th 2019


2547 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Death Because of Death is so different and catchy it's insane

ButtBoy
August 9th 2019


4265 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

probably the first time someone has mentioned it today. I like it, decent as an interlude

DePlazz
August 9th 2019


1574 Comments


Boring band

PistolPete
August 9th 2019


5022 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Even though I’m not the biggest fan of these guys I will give this a listen. This is a great review but for the uninitiated, what exactly is the “Stone Sour” approach to writing and why it is unappealing? Just thought the review skipped over that and assumed the reader knows what it means.

fromrows
August 9th 2019


275 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

All out life would fit perfectly on here instead of one of the filler inderludes IMO.

Digging: Killswitch Engage - Atonement

starboystargirl
August 9th 2019


540 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Slipknot has always been consistently inconsistent. Though they are at times, a creative and brutal force, they also suffer from poor direction and an over-reliance on quantity over quality. I’ll give them credit that they know how to write a powerful single. Spit It Out, My Plague, Duality, Psychosocial, The Devil In I and Solway Firth are examples of Slipknot at their best - favoring anger and brutality over atmosphere and melancholy.



Sadly, like prior outputs, We Are Not Your Kind falls into the same trap of having more material than necessary. 14 songs with an intro, 3 interludes, and 5 mid-tempo tracks that slog and experiment with electronics hijack the majority of the album’s run-time, leaving only 5 real bangers (2 of which were already released as singles). This leaves WANYK feeling like a collection of B-sides with some new material recorded to justify it as a major release.



Shadowmire
August 9th 2019


5118 Comments


ah

Son of Mr. Pain
August 9th 2019


24808 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I really fucking hate that that avi looks like cleavage on my phone.

ButtBoy
August 9th 2019


4265 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

lmaooo

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
August 9th 2019


7863 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

[2]

Digging: We Are Only Human Once - The Prettiest Boys in Town

SweeneyTodd
August 9th 2019


2279 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm actually going to wet myself if this album gets a higher avg. than Tool's new album



awesome review, echoes my sentiments to a t.

Digging: Blanck Mass - Animated Violence Mild

Shadowmire
August 9th 2019


5118 Comments


people are very emotional and will be inevitably disappointed by Tool while they were inevitably surprised by this, so I would not be surprised at all if that happens

fromrows
August 9th 2019


275 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

"Sadly, like prior outputs, We Are Not Your Kind falls into the same trap of having more material than necessary. "14 songs with an intro, 3 interludes, and 5 mid-tempo tracks that slog and experiment with electronics hijack the majority of the album’s run-time, leaving only 5 real bangers (2 of which were already released as singles). This leaves WANYK feeling like a collection of B-sides with some new material recorded to justify it as a major release."



Agreed. The heavy songs are pretty good, all the other type of so called experimental songs were done way better on Iowa and Vol 3. A mess of a record but a more enjoyable mess than the last two mess of albums.



Crysis
Emeritus
August 9th 2019


17390 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Solway Firth" is a banger, but agreed that they could have cut out like 1 minute on each end and the song would be better off for it.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy