The Dangerous Summer Mother Nature
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Atari
Staff Reviewer
June 21st 2019


24833 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

best new music, hell yeah



“Ghosts” from their self-titled is one of my favorite tracks by them Sowing. It actually sounds like it could be on this album

Digging: Strung Out - Songs Of Armor And Devotion

outliers
June 21st 2019


900 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Ghosts is a toe tapper for sure

GhettoHmbrglr
June 21st 2019


984 Comments


Is that synth/keyboard loop from 'this is real' the same melody sampled in Have A Nice Lifes's 'Holy shit' ?

zakalwe
June 21st 2019


28279 Comments


this is amazing

SowingSeason
Moderator
June 21st 2019


31894 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8 | Sound Off

wait what

Digging: Off With Their Heads - Be Good

zakalwe
June 21st 2019


28279 Comments


taking the piss bro

Dylan620
June 21st 2019


4975 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I am 90% confident that Zak is being facetious



EDIT: make that 100%

zakalwe
June 21st 2019


28279 Comments


bless ya. Good lad.

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
June 21st 2019


42371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.4

how did you get so funny? that acid wit of yours mist be a burden day in day out, surely?

Digging: Strange Ranger - Remembering the Rockets

zakalwe
June 21st 2019


28279 Comments


Well what happend is this.

I was born
I lived and listened to amazing music
I lived and listened to infantile dross that people the world over enjoyed but where I live you’d be called a massive cunt even if you were 12yrs old.
I died.

I live through sput

Point1
June 21st 2019


659 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

just listened to "war paint" for the first time in years. "Work in Progress" really is massive eh? That chorus has got to be the closest thing to Devil and God era Brand New I've heard from another band and you wouldn't guess it based on the rest of their discography

SowingSeason
Moderator
June 21st 2019


31894 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8 | Sound Off

never change zak

re: "Ghosts" - that might be my favorite song by them ever, and it's what I was thinking of the whole time I was trying to decide if this album is on the self-titled's level. It exceeds it musically, but I never get chills from his voice or lyrics. Maybe that will change as I blast this on some summer roads trips.

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
June 21st 2019


42371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.4

I'm waiting for you to realise the lyrics on the title track are a genre high, Sowing. it'll happen sooner or later :D



@Point before this album Work in Progress had a solid eight year run as my favourite TDS song by far. massive tune

SowingSeason
Moderator
June 21st 2019


31894 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8 | Sound Off

on the s/t he was singing the pain, here it's like he's singing about stuff he doesn't feel anymore

I love the electronic direction they take esp. across the latter half

Album really picks up steam around track 4, not a fan of the first few songs

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
June 21st 2019


42371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.4

lol AJ sounded bored on every song bar Luna and Infinite, for me. nothing I'd consider singing the pain at all, and the melodies were so boring, especially compared to the straight fire choruses on this

SowingSeason
Moderator
June 21st 2019


31894 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8 | Sound Off

it's intangible, OKAY!?

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
June 22nd 2019


42371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.4

managed to get the producer of this to get the review a read which is a Rowan Accomplishment today. very cool and interesting dude



in other news, it just hit me that "now I live for the moon" is likely a reference back to RFTS and the Everyone Left chorus, which further supports my conclusion about this bringing them full circle. I'm pissed I didn't notice for the review!

SowingSeason
Moderator
June 22nd 2019


31894 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8 | Sound Off

My Profile -> Edit

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
June 22nd 2019


42371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.4

I don't think anyone's re reading the review this far out from release date lol. good thought though

nightbringer
June 22nd 2019


488 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Album really picks up steam around track 4, not a fan of the first few songs"



Yikes, hard disagree, I love the first 3 songs and then track 4 is a dip imo.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy