Foals Everything Not Saved Will Be Lost - Part 1
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Pangea
March 12th 2019


2852 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

what went down is boring imo. this is a lot more fun

Digging: Mark Hollis - Mark Hollis

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
March 12th 2019


18117 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

This is more fun but WWD is more ambitious and emotional imo, despite some meh tracks. Their albums are all different so it's subjective, but the way I see it WWD is underrated.

Birch Tree and London Thunder are gorgeous, Albatross and A Knife in the Ocean are both amazing longer songs like in TLF, and Lonely Hunter and Night Swimmers are two excellent atmospheric alt. rock songs.

I have no problem with this and enjoy it quite a bit, even tho it’s my least favorite. I’m apprehensive about the next album being described as heavier though. Did anyone ask for a whole album of Snake Oils?

Digging: Foals - Everything Not Saved Will Be Lost - Part 1

dmathias52
March 13th 2019


130 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is just so damn fun, for the most part. I didn't expect it to be so dance-y, for lack of a better term. I think I'm just way too easily pleased honestly

Digging: The Gloaming - The Gloaming 3

Point1
March 13th 2019


414 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

What Went Down had some of their best songs ever ("Birch Tree" is one), but it also had some of their worst ("Give it All," "Snake Oil," "What Went Down"). Overall I think most of the album was of a very high calibre, although it was definitely music festival-core.



I think I prefer the bulk of WWD songs to their counterparts on here, but I do appreciate that outside of "On the Luna" this record doesn't have anything I don't like.

anatelier
March 13th 2019


2580 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

it occurred to me today that 'sunday' sounds an awful lot like sufjan's 'chicago' and it's very distracting

Digging: Haruomi Hosono - Hochono House

Dedicated1
March 15th 2019


109 Comments


Interesting hearing all the opinions on What Went Down. It was the album that got me into them. Just had to buy the vinyl recently too.

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
March 15th 2019


18117 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I actually had to raise my rating a bit, every song is enjoyable in its own right on repeated listens. In Degrees, the opener, and closer grew on me. I think the track order or addition of more songs could’ve helped cause it’s pretty relentlessly driving and upbeat. Still weird to me that the next one is apparently going to be even more bombastic and heavier.

EoinCofa
March 15th 2019


18 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I really like Foals but this just sounds like more of the same. I don’t know what I’m missing here.

Point1
March 16th 2019


414 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't think you're missing anything particularly deep, this is very much an "either you like the songs or you don't" record. I really like a lot of the songs, but I can see where this would just sound average to someone.

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
March 16th 2019


18117 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

It partially doesn't work for me because after the very nice atmospheric opener, Moonlight, the album then launches into five busy sounding, high-energy tracks one after the other. Then it finally lets up after On the Luna and it gets slower, weirder, etc. for the rest of the album.

Their previous albums didn't flow amazingly or anything, maybe Holy Fire is the best in that regard, but there's really like no balance here and makes the songs sound more homogenous than they are.

They needed to maybe stick Cafe D'Athens with Surf Pt. 1 in the first half, just that alone would improve a bit. Part 2 might help and provide more context as well.

Ecnalzen
March 16th 2019


8057 Comments


I just got my copy of this. I hope I like it as much as their others.

Rawmeeth38
March 18th 2019


1311 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

On the Luna and Exits are fantastic



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy