Foals Everything Not Saved Will Be Lost - Part 1
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
March 12th 2019


18837 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4 | Sound Off

This is more fun but WWD is more ambitious and emotional imo, despite some meh tracks. Their albums are all different so it's subjective, but the way I see it WWD is underrated.

Birch Tree and London Thunder are gorgeous, Albatross and A Knife in the Ocean are both amazing longer songs like in TLF, and Lonely Hunter and Night Swimmers are two excellent atmospheric alt. rock songs.

I have no problem with this and enjoy it quite a bit, even tho it’s my least favorite. I’m apprehensive about the next album being described as heavier though. Did anyone ask for a whole album of Snake Oils?

Digging: Foals - Everything Not Saved Will Be Lost - Part 2

dmathias52
March 13th 2019


969 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is just so damn fun, for the most part. I didn't expect it to be so dance-y, for lack of a better term. I think I'm just way too easily pleased honestly

Digging: Stuck Out Here - Until We're Each Someone Else

Point1
March 13th 2019


712 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

What Went Down had some of their best songs ever ("Birch Tree" is one), but it also had some of their worst ("Give it All," "Snake Oil," "What Went Down"). Overall I think most of the album was of a very high calibre, although it was definitely music festival-core.



I think I prefer the bulk of WWD songs to their counterparts on here, but I do appreciate that outside of "On the Luna" this record doesn't have anything I don't like.

anatelier
March 13th 2019


2900 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

it occurred to me today that 'sunday' sounds an awful lot like sufjan's 'chicago' and it's very distracting

Digging: Christopher Tignor - A Light Below

Dedicated1
March 15th 2019


114 Comments


Interesting hearing all the opinions on What Went Down. It was the album that got me into them. Just had to buy the vinyl recently too.

Digging: Issues - Beautiful Oblivion

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
March 15th 2019


18837 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4 | Sound Off

I actually had to raise my rating a bit, every song is enjoyable in its own right on repeated listens. In Degrees, the opener, and closer grew on me. I think the track order or addition of more songs could’ve helped cause it’s pretty relentlessly driving and upbeat. Still weird to me that the next one is apparently going to be even more bombastic and heavier.

EoinCofa
March 15th 2019


269 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I really like Foals but this just sounds like more of the same. I don’t know what I’m missing here.

Digging: Wheel (FIN) - Moving Backwards

Point1
March 16th 2019


712 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't think you're missing anything particularly deep, this is very much an "either you like the songs or you don't" record. I really like a lot of the songs, but I can see where this would just sound average to someone.

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
March 16th 2019


18837 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4 | Sound Off

Having five busy sounding, high-energy tracks one after the other makes the album off balance and the songs seem more homogeneous than they are.

Ecnalzen
March 16th 2019


8732 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I just got my copy of this. I hope I like it as much as their others.

Rawmeeth38
March 18th 2019


1414 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

On the Luna and Exits are fantastic

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
March 18th 2019


18837 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4 | Sound Off

Moonlight, Sunday, and I'm Done With the World are my favorites I think. In Degrees, Exits, and Syrups are pretty good too.

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
March 18th 2019


8175 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I'm Done With The World is super boring to me. In Degrees is my favorite

Digging: Common Holly - When I say to you Black Lightning

Rawmeeth38
March 18th 2019


1414 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

In degrees is sweet too

Ecnalzen
March 19th 2019


8732 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is shaping up pretty nice. Listened to it a few times while driving over the last few days.

Faraudo
March 19th 2019


3197 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Already underrated.

Digging: Scalene - Respiro

Pangea
March 19th 2019


3118 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

exits is such a good song

JWT155
March 19th 2019


14440 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Count me in the minority, I really enjoy this, but I think it's their weakest album to date, simply doesn't have any super strong singles compared to their past records.

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
March 19th 2019


18837 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4 | Sound Off

Agreed, not just singles but no super strong tracks in general imo. They only have 5 albums but I don't think anything from this would make a top 30 or even top 40 best Foals songs list if I made one. Still a good record though and I don't consider anything on here bad or subpar.

JWT155
March 19th 2019


14440 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Agreed, each of their albums, all the way back to Antidote, has at the very least 3-4 standout tracks that are just flat out fantastic songs: the infectious Cassius, Spanish Sahara's build up, the funkiness of Total Life Forever, the wall of sound from Inhaler, the insanely catchy My Number, What Went Down is a great opener (something I think each of their records excels at except this new record), Moutains at my Gate, Snake Oil, London Thunder, the list goes on and on.



I agree, I very much enjoy this record, but from a song to song persepctive, I think these collections of songs doesn't hold a candle to most of their discography.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy