Crystal Lake Helix
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
outliers
September 21st 2021


4746 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yeah this sound has been played out

SteakByrnes
September 21st 2021


29470 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Album bangs very hard agreed brothers

onionbubs
September 21st 2021


19849 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

will say last time i checked this (which was like half an hour ago lol) is the first time i really woke up to the brilliance of apollo but its defo their best track goddamn thats an incredible song

SteakByrnes
September 21st 2021


29470 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Apollo is rad as hell, that into Sanctuary to close it is bonkers

onionbubs
September 21st 2021


19849 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yea this has a fuckin legendary opening/closing duo (well tracks 2 and 3 here i guess)



thinkin ima bump this one up too. just confusing is still wack as fuck which keeps this under true north from a consistency standpoint but all the other songs i wasnt as into are fiiinally growing on me. did not think the day where id fuck w hail to the fire would come but that song goes stupid hard im so with it now

SteakByrnes
September 21st 2021


29470 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hail to the Fire is so fun lmao I love that track. Only track here I don't really fuck with is Just Confusing but even that I'm not super opposed to anymore lmao

onionbubs
September 21st 2021


19849 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

maybe ill get accustomed to it one day but the circle exists and owns and fills that spot beautifully so w/e



these guys are fun as fuck tho im so glad im coming around on them finally bc ryo is ridiculously good which has always made me want to get more into them. all the stuff that i found kinda tonally jarring rules so hard now too bc the tons and tons of outside influences they have are all done really well and mixed in so nicely w all the crushingly heavy sections

SteakByrnes
September 21st 2021


29470 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yea I get how much of an assault it can be to jump from a bunch of sounds, but to me they do a great job of encapsulating it all in a sound that is very much Crystal Lake. Ryo is a champion and I will always sing his praises, and the guitarist and drummer deserve all the praise as well

onionbubs
September 21st 2021


19849 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yea the drumming on this record is so huge and powerful, and the band has so much sick riffing throughout the discog as well as the pretty strong lead work on a lot of the time. and agreed its a really natural and organic blend and emphasizes the insane scope this band has. hoping the rating will rise even more w time



also man curse and mephisto are fantastic. would sure love a record from them

SteakByrnes
September 21st 2021


29470 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I hope we get an announcement for a new album sometime soon, tho they did just do The Voyages last year

Uzumaki
September 21st 2021


4406 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

:’3



My boys…

outliers
December 30th 2021


4746 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

every time Curse pops up on my Spotify I'm instantly annoyed at how much of a blatant TGI ripoff it is lmao

SteakByrnes
December 30th 2021


29470 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Curse owns and is not a ripoff agreed

outliers
December 30th 2021


4746 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Listen to TGI - Avalanche and then Curse and tell me it's not a TGI rip off I dare you

SteakByrnes
December 31st 2021


29470 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's not :]

nash1311
December 31st 2021


7716 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I listened cause I was fully committed to knocking down Steak’s stanning of this band but yeah… not hearing the similarities Outliers lol

outliers
December 31st 2021


4746 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

the two verses of Curse beginning at 0:33 are nearly identical the avalanche verse at 0:54...that little pause and drop into the verse followed by upbeat drum tempo...same vocals style...riff...

KenboSlice
March 8th 2022


3833 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I wanna see these guys live so bad. The videos I've seen are insane.

SteakByrnes
March 8th 2022


29470 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Same dude, they're killer live from what I've seen

Storm In A Teacup
March 8th 2022


45252 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Listened to first half of Aeon didn’t like, trying Agony…better I think…



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy