The Body I have fought against it, But I can’t any longer
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
May 16th 2018


32047 Comments


How no one mentioned the inSANEly good intro.

BlazinBlitzer
May 16th 2018


2026 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

The opener sounds like a revved-up truck engine accompanied by vocals and some other instruments. It's really badass, though.

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
May 16th 2018


32047 Comments


Damn right Blitz.

quetzal
May 16th 2018


995 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Doubt any album this year will be better than this one. With No One Deserves Happiness, these guys just released two perfect albums in a row. Not that any of their albums are bad. I put these guys up there right alongside Neurosis as the post metal gods.

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
May 16th 2018


32047 Comments


The 2 featured singers are AMAZING. Chip's shrieks well, I have learned to live with them and they don't bother me but I could live without them.

Overall, I would dare to say this is their best. It's really well balanced out, even the harsh noise parts. "An Urn" is classic The Body while "Can Carry No Weight" sounds so cinematic and epic. Great stuff.

Laen
May 17th 2018


874 Comments


Really like the music but the constant monotone distorted shrieks and yells do nothing for me, would much prefer it without. It seems to be there with complete disregard to any of the music, zero dynamics, feel or impactful patterns. It's made even more painful by the contrasting great singing on Can Carry No Weight. That being said I got through about half the album before I gave up.

PostMesmeric
May 17th 2018


779 Comments


I used to absolutely hate this band, but I really dig this record for some reason.

neekafat
Staff Reviewer
May 18th 2018


26219 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've only heard I Shall Die Here and what the fuck is this the same band?

neekafat
Staff Reviewer
May 18th 2018


26219 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah this would be great if it wasn't for that annoying as shit screeching in every fucking song.

TheBarber
May 18th 2018


4130 Comments


Shrieks are the tits o/ !

Hawks
May 18th 2018


88289 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Neek this band is very very inaccessible, let them grow though I didn't dig them much the first few times either.

neekafat
Staff Reviewer
May 21st 2018


26219 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I really dug I Shall Die Here tbh

I like this a lot too, just not the shrieks

SCREAM!
May 21st 2018


15755 Comments


These guys have to have the most consistent avg album ratings of any band on here

I need to revisit theie back catalogue and check this

Hawks
May 22nd 2018


88289 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I love these guys so much. Took me a min to get into them but god damn do they rule.

neekafat
Staff Reviewer
May 22nd 2018


26219 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is gonna end up being a coin toss between 3.5 and 4.0 I can feel it. It's got more going on than I Shall Die Here, but it's just not as terrifying and engrossing

magicuba
May 22nd 2018


1447 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the intro is chilling, loving it

anat
Contributing Reviewer
May 22nd 2018


5755 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

the instrumental is wonderful, the shrieks are hilarious

Jamdbz
May 22nd 2018


1525 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Vocals definitely took me a bit to get used to at first with these guys. Grew to love em. Album rules face

neekafat
Staff Reviewer
May 23rd 2018


26219 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is like is Corpo-Mente made an album with The Body

Hawks
May 23rd 2018


88289 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Vox rule yeah.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy